So funny…I really can’t win

Jonny’s coming along well…back from knee surgery and 2 three week strength cycles under his belt.

He tested today.

Squatted 220kg

Awesome because when he tested 4 weeks ago he got 180kg’s…and I think the fact that he doesn’t even hang onto the bar is just super cool…relaxed squatting at it’s best. I think at the end of his next cycle he will hit 235-245kg and will do it at a body weight of 120-122kg.

Benched 175kg

This looked pretty easy…I think he will get 180kg when he tests next.

Deadlifted 250kg

This was just ridiculous…basically a 250kg stiff legged deadlift. I don’t even want to take a guess at what he’ll hit on this next time. He has a shit load of supplementary work do do during his next cycle and we are going to be doing a lot of work on his mobility and technique.

Now I don’t know…obviously…as I get told that all the time by expert internet coaches…but a 645kg total at 125kg with no straps, no wraps, no bench shirt, no squat suit and no deadlift suit isn’t too bad?

Flaps also tested this morning…having got his cast off on Friday after gimping around pathetically for the last couple of months. So no squatting or deadlifting but at under 80kgs his 137.5kg bench was also pretty impressive.

12 thoughts on “So funny…I really can’t win

    • If he could bring his hands in closer it would keep his upper back tighter would allowing him to stay more upright. Just wanking a bit. Well done.

  1. Good stuff Johnny. Bring those numbers to the single lifts in (probably) February and I’d say there’ll be a serious bit of competition going on. Hope you guys do decide to compete next year. The deadlift was… unorthodox… when you popped it off the ground it looked like you were going to start doing barbell rows with it! If you guys do end up looking for belts I can wholeheartedly recommend these http://tinyurl.com/lg57jm . Maybe you have a supplier already but there are tonnes of shoddy or overpriced belts out there that I’ve seen go “ping!” mid lift but this one’s a goodin and price and delivery are good too.

    • Kevpants said

      Good stuff Johnny. Bring those numbers to the single lifts in (probably) February and I’d say there’ll be a serious bit of competition going on.

      Send me the link…is this unequipped and drug tested?

      Hope you guys do decide to compete next year.

      I really want to and I know a few of the lads want to as well…if only because it would be good to have something to focus on during the rugby season with regards to keeping our numbers up.

      The deadlift was…unorthodox…when you popped it off the ground it looked like you were going to start doing barbell rows with it!

      If by unorthodox you mean ridiculous then yes it was…his technique will look better than that the next time you see a video of him testing.

      If you guys do end up looking for belts I can wholeheartedly recommend these http://tinyurl.com/lg57jm . Maybe you have a supplier already but there are tonnes of shoddy or overpriced belts out there that I’ve seen go “ping!” mid lift but this one’s a goodin and price and delivery are good too.

      1. Jonny only lifts RAW…he’s only wearing clothes in these videos because of the public decency laws.
      2. We don’t need belts…we have our layer of fat around the mid sections…all the protection we need.

      • The D and the F would indicate they’re drug tested Will, what did you think it stood for? Dirty Feckers? There will be equipped and unequipped categories for all weight classes. Unequipped allows belts and wrist wraps, no knee wraps.

        I’ll send you on the details when it gets confirmed, probably won’t be for a few months yet. There is an IDFPA Facebook page that will keep you updated if you join it or you can have a look on http://www.idfpa.plus.com.

  2. Kevpants said
    The D and the F would indicate they’re drug tested Will, what did you think it stood for? Dirty Feckers?
    I just know there are about 50 people powerlifting in the country and that there’s about 43 federations….so when you mentioned the comp I didn’t make any assumption about which federation would be running such a competition.

    There will be equipped and unequipped categories for all weight classes. Unequipped allows belts and wrist wraps, no knee wraps.
    I am not ‘anti equipment’ either…it just plays absolutely no part in my work so asides from my own interest in powerlifting it’s an irrelevance.

    I’ll send you on the details when it gets confirmed, probably won’t be for a few months yet. There is an IDFPA Facebook page that will keep you updated if you join it or you can have a look on http://www.idfpa.plus.com.
    Cool. Do send me the details when you have them. I’m pretty sure that anything in February is going to conflict with a fixture but we’ll see when we see. I think the dates that the nationals are usually on suit us better. Long way away though and I think all the lads would need to do some sort of competition to get used to the judging, rules and regulations.

  3. hi will some solid lifts have lead to some question and a comment or 2
    firstly the squat was nice but i know a guy at about 80kgs who does that 220 for a double
    still the guy isn’t recovering from knee sugery so it probably evens out

    just some qs on the bench and dead form
    when benching to achieve a high 1rm would you advise longer limbed athletes to keep the elbows under the bar and hence touch below the sternum or would you rather see them touch higher on the chest but let the bar be closer to the head than the elbows (this elbows reference is from a side on view)

    2nd with johnnys deadlift what causes him to lift like that. Is it his natural form or a muscle weakness or both or neither (just trying to cover my bases here)

    also could you give some general pointers that you will look at applying to johnny over the next few weeks to help bring this dead up

    thanks as always for your time

    • Good questions as always…so I will deal with them last…or at least later. I’ve been put off blogging about Jonny as I’ve had a few…’He’s the only decent athlete you have’ and ‘ he’s good but not that good comments’. People don’t really comprehend that some of the athletes I have don’t actually want to be splashed all over the blog. Also Jonny tends to train at about 3pm when it is a little quieter so tends to get a bit more attention. He certainly isn’t the only ‘decent’ athlete I have.

      As I said though…good questions so I will deal with all of them and give you proper answers when I write his new program and I’ll explain why he’s going to be doing what he’s doing.

    • I train shirtless a lot actually…it’s mainly to remind me of how much more work I have to do. In the new gym I am going to actively encourage it because if you don’t want people to see what is underneath or don’t like seeing it yourself or are embarrassed by what you see then I think you will be all the more motivated to work even harder to fix yourself up.

Leave a Reply

