A mixed bag of an update…

Firstly, I got totally pwned on the internet…my post about the Fitness forum on boards got posted over there…and I got slated. The funny thing is that just about everything I said in my post was essentially backed up by what happened there. A small minority of posters stuck it to me repeatedly, thousands viewed the thread and remained silent and the only emails I got were people offering me ‘back story’ on the people involved and those laughing at my attempts at trying to be reasonable and to defend myself.

Barry chimed in on the same thread and was slated as well. Thankfully it wasn’t all negative and we did get a lot of support…which was great. See the thing is…I don’t mind being slated, I don’t mind people criticising and or bagging me….the thing is I just want it to be correct.

You need to go check it out for yourselves if you are board. Be waned…only go and have a look at this if you are really bored.

To those of you who sent me emails…of support…abuse about wasting my time…or humorous ‘back story’ thank you all and keep up the good work.

Saturday Night was a Fantastic night for Informed Performance MMA
If you want more back story go and check out the post Barry’s blog.

I’ll post the fights here because I thought they were all brilliant for different reasons.

That guys leg has got to be hanging off him this morning.

So glad I don’t have to spar with Amanda

Oh my God…I can’t believe that little ginger freak walked out that song…so brave.

Now…that was some of the worst camera work I’ve ever seen…but that’s what happens when the cameraman is too busy watching the fights to film them…I’m sure you get the idea though.

My Training
A few people have been emailing me about my training…mainly regarding the fact that they don’t really believe I’m doing any. I am…. truly I am.
The template is still the same as I outlined in my previous update.

Today went as follows:
Warmed up on the rower…did a couple of kilometres.
Then did some hip mobility work.
Front Squatted – As I said before…I haven’t squatted at all for a couple of years…so the last few weeks have been interesting to say the least. I’ve been struggling to find the bottom of my squats…it hasn’t been a strength thing…my mobility has really been letting me down. I did 60kg for 5 reps, 70kg for 5 reps, 80kg for 5 reps, 90kg for 5 reps, 100kg for 3 reps, 110kg for 1 rep, 120kg for 1 rep, 130kg for 1 rep and 140kg for 1 rep then 5 sets of 5 reps at 70kg.
Here are the 120kg, 130kg and 140kg squats.



Dumbbell RDL’s – 3 sets of 12 reps with 50kg
Bridging – 5 sets of 45 seconds with 20kg’s on my arse.
Pull Ups – 5 sets of 8 reps…was really happy with this…nice, smooth and really controlled reps.
Push Ups – 3 sets of 60 seconds max push ups…went 40, 37 and 33…I was completely spent.

Torque Holds – 3 sets of 30second with 80lbs on each side.
Single Arm Tricep Extensions – 5 sets of 8 reps

One of the criticisms on that thread on boards…was that my videos were crap and my athletes form was poor. The thing is…this is true…the point being though that they get better. That’s the idea…I put these up because they are not great…but like my athletes…they’ll get better. We’ll see in a couple of months.

So that was it… tomorrow…deadlifting and benching then conditioning work the day after. Will be repeating this right up until I test on the 1st of July to see how it’s all working out for me.

Informed Performance – The Gym and The Blog
Firstly, I am REALLY happy with the new gym…every time I stand inside it I can see exactly what it will be and that is all kinds of awesome. The BOM, Barry and myself are going to write and post to give people a better idea of what Informed Performance is going to be all about. So if you have any questions feel free to drop me an email and we’ll address them specifically. Also, we have a Facebook page for the gym for those of you that are interested…you’ll find it here if you are into that sort of thing.
Secondly, the blog…I just want to prepare you…there is lots of work going on behind the scenes…thankfully very little of which has anything to do with me. This blog will remain….but it will just be more of a place for me to piss and moan, make fun of people and make new enemies. The Informed Performance blog/website will be a cumulative effort of all the staff at IP rather than just me and will have a clearer focus on training and instruction specially regarding the way the we go about our work.

A Little Garrett Update
If you bothered reading that stupid thread on boards you’ll see that I was also ridiculed for using Garrett as an ‘example’ on my blog…the inference was that I was being ‘dishonest’ because Garrett has another coach. The thing that people just don’t get is that ALL the athletes that train with me have ANOTHER coach. I am a strength and conditioning coach…I am not an Olympic lifting coach, I am not a rugby coach, I am not a Gaelic Football coach, I am not a Hurling coach, I am not a sprints, middle distance or distance running coach, I am not a tennis coach, not a basketball or hockey coach, I am not a soccer or handball coach…I AM A STRENGTH AND CONDITIONING coach….what bit of this are people too thick to understand? As I said in the thread…do people really think that all these athletes come to me because of my winning personality? Any way…Garrett has an excellent coach…but he comes and practices with me. I’m not sure what the problem with that is?

Here are a series of lifts from this evening:


15 thoughts on “A mixed bag of an update…

  1. Just read the forum …

    Most of it didn’t make sense cos the ‘source material’ wasn’t there.

    But I think it’s fair to say you’ve made a few ‘enemies’ over there 😦

    In my entire time on the internets I’ve only ever made two ‘enemies’ … not enjoyable 😦

    Still, I understand why you’re responding. But I don’t think they really ‘get’ your dry sense of humor! I thought the Irish were supposed to have a similar sense of humor to us?

    Anyway, I hope things get better for you on that forum.

    Cheers!

    • Thefightgeek said
      Just read the forum …

      It’s a small forum…the main posters there are used to being the boss of being the font of all knowledge. They don’t like that being messed with. As I said…I’m happy to leave them to it. I was asked to post there by several people and was kicked off as fast as I arrived.

      Most of it didn’t make sense cos the ’source material’ wasn’t there.

      The source material isn’t even worth looking at…more of the same. Me saying that the sky is blue and a bunch of guys saying that it’s actually green.

      But I think it’s fair to say you’ve made a few ‘enemies’ over there.

      Nothing new about that…I’ve been told that the average age of the bunch of them is 22. So many are at the age where they think they pretty much have the world sorted out…they’ve read supertraining and a few other books and think they have it all sorted.

      In my entire time on the internets I’ve only ever made two ‘enemies’ … not enjoyable

      I really don’t mind it. Like I said…I got a tonne of mails in regards to that retardation and only one of them was negative and we picked up a few new members who are sick of the ‘smug little clique’ over there…and that’s someone else’s words not mine. So far from making enemies of all…I think a lot of people…I hope most people…see it for what it is.

      Still, I understand why you’re responding. But I don’t think they really ‘get’ your dry sense of humor! I thought the Irish were supposed to have a similar sense of humor to us?
      I don’t think they get it either. I responded because it is hard to sick back and have people making snide and underhanded remarks and insinuations about me and my business and do nothing about it. I’ve been told by lots of ‘industry’ friends before that I shouldn’t ‘engage’ these particular morons but I just can’t help myself.

      For example….all those moderators and administrators basically all but calling me a liar….saying that I was never banned etc…which as I said…I knew they would say that…well things went eerily quiet when I started sending them all screenshots showing that I was banned…no apology…no explanation…just close the thread and silence from the lot of them from then on. I stand by my assertions that it’s pretty pathetic behaviour and there is a bitter and hateful little minority over on that forum.

      Anyway, I hope things get better for you on that forum.

      I got this email from a gym owner here in Ireland that I think sums up my chances….i.e. zero.

      What is the story with boards.ie, I just looked at the site on the new gym. I noticed something. Look at the biggest bashers. Look at how many times they have posted. There is a strong correlation between how much they post and how much they bash. For so called busy trainers they seem to have loads of time to post and bash. What does that tell you about them and the advice they give?

  2. You can stay up till half one in the morning whitering on! You can really be training any proper clients/athletes because they all train before breakfast don’t they? Makes me think this whole thing is a hoax- and all those admins and moderators are in on it with you!

  3. Hey Will

    That was a great effort defending yourself, but you were pissing up a pipe there, you didn’t stand a chance with that lot. It was entertaining though it got me through a boring day at work. I also heard “Testosterone fuelled willy waving” is a good core exercise especially if can do it while standing on a swiss ball. 🙂

    Keep up the good work, I’m looking forward to seeing IP Gym.

  4. I think you’re wrong about boards…

    Where else could you find a mod who tells the world she is LEARNING to olympic lift, and shortly afterwards is advertising a workshop where she CHARGES to teach others the same lifts?

    Where else could you post a question which will be largely ignored until one of the ‘experts’ passes judgement when you will be nearly crushed in the stampede of people who will chime in along the party line?

    Where else will you find a forum where ‘Starting Strength’ is the answer, now what was the question?

    Where else will you find a forum where people post sycophantic posts to which they already know the answer seeking approval and hopefully getting patted on the head for their trouble?

    Where else will you find a forum where ‘powerlifting’ is synomynous with ‘fitness’?
    I hope someone posts another video of some westside guy who can’t see his own toes.

    Where else will you find a forum where a small band of people promote themselves and their business incessantly, and shriek hysterically when someone outside their clique posts something business related.
    Get out of here you shill, you knocked my thread about me being on telly onto page 2.

    It actually makes sense when you read the off topic thread and see that the place is full of leaving cert students who post when they’re not updating their bebo page.

    With any luck it will go the way of the MMA forum, another insular, self congratulatory circle jerk where only some got to have an opinion, and some got to advertise, but some didn’t because that makes you a shill.

    Having said all that, you really really suck at interweb arguments.
    I hope you’re a better coach.
    Good luck with the gym, about time we had something like that,
    You should take the sniping as a compliment, you must be doing something right…
    it’s the Irish way!

    • Brilliant post…please drop me an email Anonymous and let me know who you are because that was some pretty funny shit…just like something I would say…only funnier, more insightful and far better written.

      They really don’t do irony on boards though…I’m glad I wasn’t the only one that noticed.

  5. I have to stop reading this blog now that you’ve used “pwned”. I’ll just come by for the pictures.

    [/sarcasm]

Leave a Reply

