On a more positive note…training is going well…even mine

I just basically wanted an excuse to post this video of Jonny military pressing while drunk…if you think he’s staggering a lot under this you should of seen him getting around the gym before and after.

His training is going along well besides his drunkeness. He’s testing in 3 weeks time and expect him to post some big numbers.

Just thinking now I will post vids of his squats and ‘straightbar deadlifts’ this week along with some benching from last week…not to flog a dead horse…but it does make me laugh…and I know it will make you laugh…and since it is all about boards.ie tonight….and because I know that they love it when I talk about them…apparently…none of the lads I train would stand a chance in a powerlifting competition…including Jonny. There has been some great comments come out of boards.ie…along the lines of…lifting in rugby is nothing but high squats and heavily spotted benches…I don’t see too much heavy spotting in this video do you?

There has been some other fantastic lines…like the one that stated that apparently Jonny’s trapbar deadlift was nothing of significance as there’s little or no carry over to ‘real’ deadlifting.

Now that trapbar deadlift is very old but I think in Jonny’s defence…it went up pretty easy and more importantantly…it was only 310kgs because that was all we could strap onto it at the time. I suppose we’ll have to wait and see how much carry over he gets in competition.

Bench Arch
I was asked about arching the other day on the bench. For me it is really simple…I want to get as tight as possible to limit to as great an extent as possible any movement through out the rest of my body. I want to decrease the distance travelled by the bar as much as possible so I can maximise the loading. I want to turn every flat bench press into a decline bench press…as you can see I do this quite effectively.

If you have particular questions about benching…then be specific. The way this blog works is that you ask questions and I give you ‘my’ answers…I don’t know what you don’t know.

My training progress
I am happy at the moment…the fat is still coming off and my weight is actually climbing a little. I am banging in a lot of volume at the moment…for example today I did Day 1 in the morning and Day 2 in the evening. I was asked about how I was progressing so quickly…the main reason is because I am training my arse off. Training 3 to 4 hours a day works…especially when you eat well to support it. I will do a proper update at the end of the month but if people have particular questions then ask away.

Continuing here rather than starting a new post
I want to clear a few things up…I don’t hate powerlifting. I enjoy it like I enjoy all sports….except golf…I hate golf. I know that a lot of powerlifters and those that are involved with powerlifting read this blog…I know this because a huge number of the few friends that I have are or have been involved in powerlifting.

Anyway…I would like to have a crack at competing at some stage…not because I think I will set the world alight but because I love competing and I am very goal orientated. I want to encourage the lads that I train to compete because I think it will be good for them on lots of levels…it will give them something different to focus on other than whatever sport they happen to be competing in and because it will require them to really hone their technique.

Anyway…Sully was talking about my bench. As I said in my last update on my training…the targets I had were as follows:

Bench – 150kg
Pull Ups -12 reps
Push Ups – 50 reps
Inverted Rows – 30 reps
Trap Bar Deadlift – 200kg

Well today I had a weird sort of session…I was planning on doing some light squats and some stretching then a heap of core and prehab work because today was supposed to be a down day and I was still sore from yesterday….that didn’t actually happen….instead it went like this:

Warm Ups
Hip Mobility Work
Squats – 5 sets of 5 @ 60kg…this is where it goes off script…I felt good so I thought I’d try 5 reps @ 80kg…keep in mind I basically haven’t squatted for 2 years and have only been back squatting this last 6 weeks…the heaviest I’ve gone is 100kgs…so 80kg felt good…then I did 90kg for 5 reps. I decided to put my belt on and did 100kg for 10 reps…still good…so did another 2 sets of 10 reps @ 100kg. Then 5 reps @ 120kg, 5 reps @ 130kg, 5 reps @ 140kg, 5 reps @ 150kg, 5 reps @ 160kg…at which time thankfully a fully paid boards.ie member stepped in and said you should only do singles from here…so this is my single @ 180kg.

Basically I chickened out…I was actually searching for the bottom…but like I said this is the first time I have squatted over 100kg in over 2 years…so not too unhappy…I went back to 150kg and did another 5 reps just for the craic.

Then I decided that since I wasn’t going to be able to train tomorrow as I had tomorrows DOMS already…I might as well bench as well and see how that was going.

Bench Press – 10 reps @ 60kg, 10 reps @ 70kg, 10 reps @ 80kg, 5 reps @ 90kg, 5 reps @ 100kg, 3 reps @ 120kg, 1 rep @ 130kg, 1 rep @ 140kg, 1 rep @ 150kg….which was shit…

Then had another crack at it…

This was better but still crap…still a little arse lift….didn’t get as much air as the first attempt. The thing I am happy about is that when I last tested I missed @ 145kg and am confident I will hit 150kg ‘properly’ on the 1st of July.

Finished the session with 5 sets of 8 reps on pull ups. So a completely off the wall session but felt good and it was fun… definitely progressing.

Already recieved an email…

Calling bulshit on all those squats. That didn’t take long did it. All I can say is that the gym was pretty full and there were actually quite a few witnesses and have a good few of the sets on video so I will post some more.

These are not instructional videos by the way….and the form is not great…but in my defence I’ve been back training for less than 2 months and this is the first time I’ve squatted anything over body weight…I will keep posting though and we’ll see if the load and form improves.

If you want to see what the new gym looks like!
You have to go and check this out Barry’s blog…he has video of the gym up.

52 thoughts on “On a more positive note…training is going well…even mine

  1. Not sure why this is happening but it seems that the width of the video is being cut off a bit. Must be Denise’s fault.

  2. Denise I hope that was your Ipod playing on that bench arch vid, but I know for a fact it was that closet handbag dancer Will’s.

    There will be none of that at Informed Performance, and if there is I’m getting a wall built around the MMA area made entirely of egg boxes so I can listen to ACDC and Lizzy in relative peace.

  3. Yep you are right there it was Will’s …….so Barry havn’t seen you in a while..try hold out you will see me soon :)…oh and congratulations on your baby boy, you will have to start pumping him up so he doesn’t end up on a trocaire box like his Daddy

  4. Thanks Denise it’s been a while so you will hardly recognise me. I’m unlikely to be a trocaire poster boy any time soon. Based on the way the new boy is eating I reckon he’ll be about your size in a few months.

  5. Baahaha. The trap bar comment was mine Will ya big drongo/gallah! Dunno where the “no carryover to real deadlifting” bit came from. Must have been your Aussie rage gland firing when you were reading the post. I’ve never been a boards.ie anti-Will subscriber, I just left that comment in there in the hope it would appear here, you don’t miss much. You’re like a flip-flop wearing Columbo!

    I also felt a little rebuttal to your slagging off of Irish powerlifting was in order. I know you’re planning on coming in next year and embarrassing us all and you’re more than welcome, just so you know the only person embarrassed might be your good ute-driving self when you see all they get is support and congratulations if they lift well.

    The only one slapping their meat on the table for the old measuring contest here is you Will. Some of your guys are brute strong and it’d be great if you could bring more lifters into powerlifting, some of them might catch the bug, but lay off the throwing down of the gauntlet. No one’s interested.

    Oh, and anyone who hopes your gym fails is an idiot. If it works out how yourself and Barry are laying it out it’ll be a training diamond in a rough filled with cheap smooth Oly bars and pec-decs.

    PS. What’s with all the “In Ireland everyones so…” and “I’m Australian so..”. I tried to reinforce as many stereotypes in this comment as I could but I still fall well short of your average.

    • kevpants said
      Baahaha. The trap bar comment was mine Will ya big drongo/gallah!
      Didn’t even know that you’d said it actually. I’ve a half dozen emails along those lines…so you are not alone there. It is typical though do you not think? A 19 year old kid pulls 310kg on a trap bar and the only comments that it gets are negative? What is up with that…obviously there is a lot going on out there in gyms that I dion’t see…because I don’t see that many kids doing that?

      Dunno where the “no carryover to real deadlifting” bit came from.
      Like I said….heard that a few times…as I’ve heard the retarded…rugby coaches are crap and lifting in rugby is all ‘high squats and heavily spotted benches’ type comments from kids lifting equipped and assisted who lifts are barely better than my own…and I’m a pathetic broken down former runner of all things. Like I said in my post…it’s just sad.

      Must have been your Aussie rage gland firing when you were reading the post.
      This is also what I find funny…you guys seem to think that I am always upset and or angry…as with most things it is just ignorance that gets in the way of some of you guys having a clue.

      I’ve never been a boards.ie anti-Will subscriber, I just left that comment in there in the hope it would appear here, you don’t miss much. You’re like a flip-flop wearing Columbo!
      I don’t go looking…they get sent to me about 11 seconds after they are posted over there. There are a lot of lurkers over there that think some of the shit that is posted there is just as retarded as I do…and they think it is just as funny as I do so they send it on.

      I also felt a little rebuttal to your slagging off of Irish powerlifting was in order.
      See this is what I’m talking about…this is a completely bullshit comment. Feel free to post any examples of me slagging Irish powerlifting?

      I know you’re planning on coming in next year and embarrassing us all and you’re more than welcome, just so you know the only person embarrassed might be your good ute-driving self when you see all they get is support and congratulations if they lift well.
      All you guys ‘project’ to much…you read what I write but I don’t think you understand it. I never slagged Irish powerlifting and I never said I was coming to embarrass you guys…I said that I don’t like ‘equipped’ powerlifting…I hardly think I am alone there? I said that I wanted to get some guys together to compete in some competitions and I wanted to see how we’d get on because I think we’d do well. What exactly am I supposed to say….’I wish we could all lift equipped and that we will go to do a competition and get our arses handed to us and be totally schooled by the big bad Irish powerlifting community’? I think I am supposed to be a ‘false’ as a lot of other posters…I am supposed to tip my cap and know my place and only speak when spoken to until I get my ‘bro points’ over 100…what a pile of shit.

      The only one slapping their meat on the table for the old measuring contest here is you Will.
      Again…what the fuck is that supposed to mean? What…am I supposed to be scared or worried? I put it all out there….I tell people what I do, how I do it and I put my money where my mouth is. As simple as that…it wouldn’t be much of a blog if I didn’t say anything interesting or post anything of relevance…in fact it would end up just like the boards.ie Fitness forum and no one wants that.

      Some of your guys are brute strong and it’d be great if you could bring more lifters into powerlifting, some of them might catch the bug, but lay off the throwing down of the gauntlet. No one’s interested.
      What a pile of shit. God, you poor bastards are so insecure…I’m slagging off Irish powerlifting? I am planning on embarrassing Irish powerlifters? I am throwing down the gauntlet? You are one sad bunch. Like I said….feel free to post all these comments and show people what you are talking about and where I have said all these things!

      Oh, and anyone who hopes your gym fails is an idiot.
      Well…you know a lot of them.

      If it works out how yourself and Barry are laying it out it’ll be a training diamond in a rough filled with cheap smooth Oly bars and pec-decs.
      I’m not sure how else it could work out…as all the gear is paid for so it’d be a little late to change things now.

      PS. What’s with all the “In Ireland everyones so…”
      Look…take my comments and feel free to point out which ones are wrong or misplaced.

      and “I’m Australian so..”.
      Same as above. Not sure I mentioned anything like that…I am Australian so it’s a bit hard to avoid?

      I tried to reinforce as many stereotypes in this comment as I could but I still fall well short of your average.
      Don’t worry…I have very low expectations

      • So the comments about wiping names off the record tables and people thinking they’re the shit because they only beat 6 other lifters were meant with your best wishes? Sorry I really must be another one of those people who keep misinterpreting you. Funny that group seems to be expanding to include everyone who doesn’t work with you,train with you or have their nose up your ass.

        Come off it Will, your parading of your boy and his lifts weren’t a direct response to any powerlifters out there you seem to have taken a dislike to? If you’re gonna use your lifters to show your superiority you have to be prepared to be called on it. Your guy is strong, he’s also 120kg+ and his 300kg+ deadlift is on a trap bar on the high handles. I’m not disrespecting the guy, you’re the one who has cherrypicked him as the example of how you make the best powerlifters. I’ve no issue with it other than I can’t understand the problem you seem to have with Irish powerlifting.

        Anyway, why the big sook about the comments on the rugby guys and high squats? Is one of your main themes not that most S&C coaches here suck balls? I dunno how you can be so critical of so many coaches and then get so defensive when they are criticised by….well anyone bar you? I read the comments in question and they were simply examples of rugby guys the poster had seen. You don’t think there are tonnes of rugby and gaa guys out there being coached by idiots?

        By the way I only brought up the nationality thing because I’m Australian myself and I have to say I don’t find it comes up nearly as often for me. Don’t see what you nationality has to do with anything discussed here, boards, anywhere bar passport control really.

      • Why does he sound like an asshole? You know two people can make points and counterpoints without taking offense, dont you? It called debate ffs.

        The anti boards thing is a little childish and getting old at this point. Where is this anti Will agenda that im hearing about? But then again this is Wills blog and he can write whatever the fck he likes.

      • Thanks Tom. One of the first things I said was I wasn’t part of any click that was against Will. I’d love if he was still active on boards, I think he has an awful lot to offer and would be sure to start a few debates.

        I’m just challenging him on a few things as I see them. I’m not here to call names. The aussie stereotypes were just a joke, pulling the piss out of his pulling the piss out of the Irish.

        I was gonna play real polite, but I think he’d appreciate that even less.

  6. Hey on dem links down the end of the back story to this post there’s a Barry posting who isn’t me. I’m the only Barry round here whoever you are.

  7. Willow(Bridget’s term for the new leaner you),

    Do you use the competition style on all of your bench press sets or just the heavy working sets?

    • I like Bridget.

      I train inside the rings 80% of the time…tend to do my lighter technical work in my competition style. Then take the odd heavy single in my competition style as well. Good question…I will post about it tonight.

  8. Kevpants said
    So the comments about wiping names off the record tables and people thinking they’re the shit because they only beat 6 other lifters were meant with your best wishes?
    OK…so this season maybe I should encourage the rugby lads to finish 5th in the AIL rather than 1st. I will set my GAA guys targets as losing in a semi final in the Dublin Championships? Have the inter county guys target losing in the final of the All Ireland? Seriously what the fuck am I supposed to say…’Lads lets go and compete in some powerlifting events and try not to get our arses kicked too badly’…or maybe ‘Come on guys…lets give it 73% and hope we don’t disgrace ourselves’? If we are going to do something…and we will…we will seriously get after it. We won’t turn up to make up the numbers…we’ll turn up and try and win…I mean…isn’t that what everyone else is doing? Apparently me ‘putting it out there’ makes me some sort of arsehole…I am suppose to have reverence for lads just because they happen to have been around for longer than I have? Really…I’m serious….what am I supposed to say?

    Sorry I really must be another one of those people who keep misinterpreting you.
    That’s OK…you probably can’t help it.

    Funny that group seems to be expanding to include everyone who doesn’t work with you, train with you or have their nose up your ass.
    This is the other thing…it just cracks me up…any one who disagrees with this group is supposed to be some sort of ‘suck up’ or have their ‘nose up my arse’. The lucky thing is there are still far more people who do work with me and train with me. Look…make a post a post on boards and try and find an athlete who wasn’t better for working with me? Find a coach who has actually worked with me…in REAL life that hasn’t got along with me? I still have more people wanting to work and train with me than I have time and space for….hence the new facility….so I don’t think I am really doing too much wrong.

    Come off it Will, your parading of your boy and his lifts weren’t a direct response to any powerlifters out there you seem to have taken a dislike to?
    Ahhh projecting again just a little maybe? As far as power to weight ratio goes I think I might have a few more cards up my sleeve. Jonny is just an athlete…I’ve plenty of others…the only reason he’s being mentioned is because he’s the one being commented on….feel free to rubbish and run down other athletes and I’ll be happy to fight there corner.

    If you’re gonna use your lifters to show your superiority you have to be prepared to be called on it.
    That’s cool…you do realise that Jonny isn’t the only athlete that I work with don’t you?

    Your guy is strong, he’s also 120kg+
    You can just say that he’s fat…it won’t hurt his feelings.

    and his 300kg+ deadlift is on a trap bar on the high handles.
    I’m pretty sure that I labelled it as a trap bar deadlift didn’t I?

    I’m not disrespecting the guy, you’re the one who has cherry picked him as the example of how you make the best powerlifters.
    What a load of rubbish. I don’t coach powerlifters…I’ve said numerous times that we will have to try and find a few competitions to make sure we have the rules down and are lifting legit competition lifts so we can practice them. I’ve said to numerous people who post on boards that I expect that we’ll see nothing but red lights in our first few comps till we work out what is what.

    I’ve no issue with it other than I can’t understand the problem you seem to have with Irish powerlifting.
    You guys keep going on about this…I’VE NO PROBLEM with Irish powerlifting. You guys seem to have a much bigger problem with me. I am the one saying that WE want to come and compete in Irish powerlifting. I assume that you’d all be happier if I was shitting myself and we all completely in awe of you guys is that it? Should I be looking for more sage like advice on boards?

    Anyway, why the big sook about the comments on the rugby guys and high squats?
    See here we go again. I’m am not sooking. Merely expressing an opinion that saying that coaching and S& C in rugby in Ireland is nothing but high squats and heavily spotted benches and that the standard of strength training in rugby in Ireland is bad in the same year that Ireland wins a 6 nations Grand Slam, wins the Heineken Cup and the Magners League is just plain retarded. Do you not think so? Do you think it is just a fluke? That it has nothing to do with coaching?

    Is one of your main themes not that most S&C coaches here suck balls?
    Not at all. I work with a lot of fantastic coaches…very few of them happen to frequent boards is all.

    I dunno how you can be so critical of so many coaches and then get so defensive when they are criticised by….well anyone bar you?
    Do you see me censoring anyone here? Do you see me banning any one? That’s a no and a no. People can say what they want. I suppose once again you expect me to curl up, go foetal and cry myself to sleep? See the way discussion amongst grown up coaches work is that I say my bit…the other coach says that I am wrong…I tell him why I think I’m right…they tell me why they think I am wrong…we agree to disagree…I do what I think is right…they do what they think is right and then we race our athletes, have them play each other or belt the piss out of each other and the one who’s athletes end up on top gets to take the piss (wrongly or rightly) out of the loser till they meet again. I don’t know whether you’ve figured this out yet but I actually LIKE criticism…that I go out of my way to attract it…that I love it because it makes me think and work harder to ‘back up’ what I think is the best way I can get my job done.

    I read the comments in question and they were simply examples of rugby guys the poster had seen. You don’t think there are tonnes of rugby and gaa guys out there being coached by idiots?
    Well you have an advantage…I just get emails…with highlights or low lights whichever way you want to look at it.

    By the way I only brought up the nationality thing because I’m Australian myself and I have to say I don’t find it comes up nearly as often for me. Don’t see what you nationality has to do with anything discussed here, boards, anywhere bar passport control really.
    Again…I don’t care about that…once again…I was just expressing my opinion….after all…this is my blog…that is basically how things work here.

  9. Tom D said
    Why does he sound like an asshole?
    Is that a trick question.

    You know two people can make points and counterpoints without taking offense, dont you? It called debate ffs.
    That was what I was thinking…apparently I am only supposed to speak when spoken to.

    The anti boards thing is a little childish and getting old at this point.
    Old just like me.

    Where is this anti Will agenda that im hearing about?
    It is deep down in that dark place inside them.

    But then again this is Wills blog and he can write whatever the fck he likes.
    This is true…I better get on with it before I ban myself.

  10. Kevpants said
    Thanks Tom. One of the first things I said was I wasn’t part of any click that was against Will.
    I think their is evidence to the contrary…Sorry I really must be another one of those people who keep misinterpreting you. Funny that group seems to be expanding to include everyone who doesn’t work with you, train with you or have their nose up your ass. Wasn’t it you that said that? It sounds like you may be a card carrying member.

    I’d love if he was still active on boards, I think he has an awful lot to offer and would be sure to start a few debates.
    Again….see evidence to the contrary above…doesn’t sound like you are at all interested in anything that I have to say.

    I’m just challenging him on a few things as I see them. I’m not here to call names. The aussie stereotypes were just a joke, pulling the piss out of his pulling the piss out of the Irish.
    Mate you can say whatever the fuck you want about me. I really think that you guys really do not get me…I have not said anything here that I wouldn’t say straight to your face….believe me if we met and I thought you were and idiot…I’d tell you….if you said something and I thought that it was bullshit…I would say so and everyone here that knows me knows that. I am not hiding here…heaps of people who have seen the shit that has been said about me on boards have come to the gym to see for themselves….at least once a week I have a coach or personal trainer from somewhere in the country come and visit me in the gym…I bet you that you can’t find a single one of them that has something bad to say about my work…or the way they were received. This is the bit that I think is most hysterical. None of you even know who the fuck I am. If you want to come to the gym and tell me that I’m idiot feel free…it won’t be the first or last time and you can see how upset and traumatised the experience leaves me. So feel free to fire away and say whatever you want whenever and however you want…and by the way…I’m Irish…i’ve the passport to prove it.

    I was gonna play real polite, but I think he’d appreciate that even less.
    The penny starts to drop.

  11. Kevin, Kev, Pants,

    I’m not going to wade in on this Will vs. Boards agro, mainly because I have my own vs. boards agro. Let me try to put it to you from an outsider’s point of view, and by outsider I mean out of the clique which people would say doesn’t exist.

    Basically boards is unnofficially structured like this- a few actual posters who contribute positively, and they usually though not always have veiled commercial interests of some nature, a few aggressive or passive aggressive individuals who try to force their opinions down others throats, and a whole host of possibly pubescent nuthuggers who salivate whenever one of their heroes posts something cool. After that there’s the occassional lurker who posts a question from time to time but can’t contrubute anything for fear of being told to GTFO, or WTF, or LMAO or whatever you young people are abbreviating these days. It has always been this way The cast changes from time to time, it used to be a different bunch of usernames, but the essential components are there.

    Now I’ve been on that board a good while and I’ve tried in the past to contribute positively but as long as you’re calling people out on their arrogance, or disagreeing with the consensus view, then you are basically ridiculed by force of numbers. The main reason I’m still there is because of Informed Performance and the need to publicise it on what is the most viewed fitness board in Ireland. The only difference between me and certain others on that board is that I’ll admit I’m plugging.

    Actually, believe it or not, you’re one of the few people whose posts I’d read or reply to on that board. Mainly because you don’t seem like an idiot. In spite of the fact that we’ve disagreed, I don’t think we’ve had any harsh words to say about each other which is the way to debate. In most other debates, when I don’t fall to my knees worshipping the bodybuilding/powerlifting set’s Godheads and their training methods, I usually get insulted or told to LMAO (am I using that right?). I usually respond with some witticism and then I get banned because the moderator doesn’t like sarcasm or irony, or arseholes.

    But you know it’s a free country, and nowhere is more free than the interweb so everyone has their opinion.

  12. Oh and also, I believe it was only one name that Will wanted to wipe off the record board. I believe he’s a mate of yours who also attempted to disparage the Informed Performance name in a thread on the gym before those posts were deleted which pissed me off no end. I’m sure he’s reading this now.

    • Cheers Barry, I actually enjoy the craic I have with you there and as you know I’ve stood up for you in the past. I don’t get how you seem to be under a permanent ban threat but I’m not going to slag boards or how it’s run. It’s just an arena I like to use to chat about what I like doing. I really hope I don’t come across as some kind of untouchable, I mean FFS a year ago I was struggling to squat my own bodyweight.

      Will I think you’re reading my comments from the perspective that I’m in some way criticising you as a coach and have a problem with what you said on boards, I don’t in either case. I’m just a mediocre powerlifter and any advice I dispense is just based on my experience and what I know, I’m not going to criticise how you train a rugby guy and I don’t even get involved in any weight loss/cardio debates, fat bastard that I am. I read your blog because it’s interesting, not because I’m looking for shit to stir. I think I’ve only mentioned you twice on boards, one post I was quite excitedly trying to tease out of Barry what the deal with Dave Tate was (you commented on his facebook about him working with you) and the other I said I reckoned you were probably not as bad as you’re made out (undoubtedly the biggst compliment you’ve been paid on that site!).

      I know there’s a rift between one of my buddys and you Will but this isn’t the schoolyard, he didn’t send me here to have a go. I have no involvement in any rift with anyone. I can’t be arsed with them. I sincerely doubt he hopes you fail, there are a fair few people taken aback by the grand size of the set up but that doesn’t mean they want to see you lose your livelihood.

      I was just seeking clarification on what I thought was disrespect for powerlifting, I interpreted your comments as you making light of the setup, it sounded like you were saying you just needed to turn up and accidentally be better than everyone else. You’ve said now you are just being competitive and that’s fine. I’m not trying to imply you should be intimidated by me or that you need to seek my approval. I just thought you were belittling my/our efforts.

      I still don’t get the boards rift, it’s a forum, I must be missing something because I don’t see the animosity towards you over there. I didn’t get a chance to read any deleted posts in the thread on your gym but the critical ones that were left in seemed to be from new posters who had some personal gripe. As far as I know you got some custom from boards? Anyway I only brought that up because you mentioned something I said as an example of the ignorance of boards but as you said you just get emailed highlights. What’s that about though seriously? That’s where the “nose up your ass” comment came from, it sounds like you don’t ask for the reports back but jesus.

  13. Kevpants said
    Cheers Barry, I actually enjoy the craic I have with you there and as you know I’ve stood up for you in the past.
    Get you nose out of his arse.

    I don’t get how you seem to be under a permanent ban threat but I’m not going to slag boards or how it’s run.
    Yeah…you better not do that…they’ll probably ban you.

    It’s just an arena I like to use to chat about what I like doing. I really hope I don’t come across as some kind of untouchable, I mean FFS a year ago I was struggling to squat my own bodyweight.
    Don’t worry….everyone has to start somewhere.

    Will I think you’re reading my comments from the perspective that I’m in some way criticising you as a coach and have a problem with what you said on boards, I don’t in either case.
    You can say what you like…feel free to criticise whatever you like…I think people just expect me to wilt under the glaring spotlight that is their critique of me. Trust me when I say…I can handle it.

    I’m just a mediocre powerlifter and any advice I dispense is just based on my experience and what I know, I’m not going to criticise how you train a rugby guy and I don’t even get involved in any weight loss/cardio debates, fat bastard that I am.
    I’m just a washed up broken down former runner and the advice I dispense is based on the 20 years that I have been a professional coach and the fact that the advice I dispense has paid for everything I own in all the countries I own it. I criticise everything because I think that everyone just nodding along is retarded…there is always another way…that’s always worth thinking about. Oh yeah…and you’re not fat…just well insulated.

    I read your blog because it’s interesting, not because I’m looking for shit to stir.
    I write my blog mainly to shit stir…I just don’t have as much time as I like.

    I think I’ve only mentioned you twice on boards, one post I was quite excitedly trying to tease out of Barry what the deal with Dave Tate was (you commented on his facebook about him working with you) and the other I said I reckoned you were probably not as bad as you’re made out (undoubtedly the biggst compliment you’ve been paid on that site!).
    Imagine what is going to happen when Jim and Dave are over and I decide to act like I spoilt little child and ban people from coming and meeting them? Everyone who knows me knows…that wouldn’t happen though…and I am not a dick….well I am…but not like that. I think I might end up doing more for powerlifting here in Ireland than people realise. I mean I laughed my arse off when I got sent a link to Hanley’s training log and saw that he’s is doing a program written by a mate of mine. Like I said…people can say what they like…I’d just prefer it was true and based on fact…that doesn’t seem to be important at all over there.

    I know there’s a rift between one of my buddys and you Will but this isn’t the schoolyard, he didn’t send me here to have a go.
    Do you seriously think I care. I mean really…this isn’t boards…this is the real world. He can say and do what he likes. I’m not worried about him one way or the other…honestly. I am going to put a bit of effort into removing him from the record book…but only because it would be a bit of a stretch for someone to say that I couldn’t coach shit off a stick if I just decide to coach him right out of his records. I’m going to have a crack at all his lifts and PR’s as well. I had a look at his training log and I’m going to see how fast I can catch up with him myself…this is my 6th week back training so we’ll see how long it takes a crap rugby coach like me to catch up with him.

    I have no involvement in any rift with anyone. I can’t be arsed with them. I sincerely doubt he hopes you fail, there are a fair few people taken aback by the grand size of the set up but that doesn’t mean they want to see you lose your livelihood.
    Well…as Barry said and the emails I have that were sent to me from people who saw what he wrote in the thread about the gym…I get the feeling you might be wrong. Either way I don’t mind…I think it says plenty about him as a person though.

    I was just seeking clarification on what I thought was disrespect for powerlifting, I interpreted your comments as you making light of the setup, it sounded like you were saying you just needed to turn up and accidentally be better than everyone else.
    Like I said…I think you guys project a little too much…you read into what I write and make assumptions based on what you think I mean…rather than what I actually said.

    You’ve said now you are just being competitive and that’s fine. I’m not trying to imply you should be intimidated by me or that you need to seek my approval. I just thought you were belittling my/our efforts.
    Not at all. I’ve no idea who the hell you are, what you’ve done or when you’ve done it.

    I still don’t get the boards rift, it’s a forum, I must be missing something because I don’t see the animosity towards you over there.
    I think it’s funny…in a ‘oh my god…that’s pathetic’ kind of funny. I mean I am still banned there. I think it just doesn’t suit the Algonquin table of posters over there. That is fine though…it’s their site and they can chose who they want to play with. I don’t mind being banned because I wouldn’t be bothered posting there anyway…I still go have a look when people send me links though…it’s nice to feel part of the community there.

    I didn’t get a chance to read any deleted posts in the thread on your gym but the critical ones that were left in seemed to be from new posters who had some personal gripe.
    That should of answered this question/statement…I still don’t get the boards rift, it’s a forum, I must be missing something because I don’t see the animosity towards you over there.…so you don’t see the animosity except for the critical posts by people who have a personal gripe.

    As far as I know you got some custom from boards?
    No…I have a number of clients who are active posters on boards.

    Anyway I only brought that up because you mentioned something I said as an example of the ignorance of boards but as you said you just get emailed highlights. What’s that about though seriously? That’s where the “nose up your ass” comment came from, it sounds like you don’t ask for the reports back but jesus.
    People know I am easily baited…so they send me stuff hoping that I’ll go ‘off on one’ like I used to…I just don’t have enough time these days.

  14. Christ this is tedious.

    Will one of you just challenge the other to a MMA match or something?

    That’s how internet squabbles are traditionally settled.

    Lyle

    • Lyle said
      Christ this is tedious.
      I know…it’s like reading one of your books. You of all people should know that everything to do with me is tedious in some way.

      Will one of you just challenge the other to a MMA match or something?

      That’s how internet squabbles are traditionally settled.
      As you know…that is the way that I like to settle all my arguments.

    • Ah c’mon let’s settle it like real internet men, inappropriately insulting Youtube comments, pictures of cats and gratuitous use of the word “fail”.

  15. Shouldn’t they have some sort of online Warcraft duel with some fake athletes? Maybe this is all fake so they can have a fake MMA fight that Will can win- because it is his blog?

      • Sorry where was the negativity that would make you wanna “whoop my ass”? Did you react badly to my repeated assertion that you’re brute strong? See this is my point. You guys seem to be hell bent on taking offense. I really hope you come lift next season, not because I want some Daniel LaRusso vs Cobra Kai style showdown (though Will I think you’d make a good John Kreese http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n193/epanderson25/JOhnKReese.jpg), but because we need more strong lifters. I mean I won the 110kg weight class in April, that ain’t right.

        I’ll stop cluttering up your blog now. Looking forward to seeing the new place.

      • cheers will you really know how to encourage me ha

        kevpants nah you took what i said wrong i mean whoop ass in the gym

  16. Lyle said
    It’s a shame too, we could have gotten some serious pay per view cash off of that one.
    It had the potential to be absolutely brilliant. It would have been a milestone in internet history.

    • Yes, a bullshit challenge that actually happened. To my knowledge it’s only happened once in the history of the internet and I was lucky enough to be involved in it.

      Lyle

Leave a Reply

