This blog really stinks

I can’t wait till the BOM (Business and Operations Manager) for the new and improved Informed Performance gets here to Ireland because the reason that I wanted a BOM is because I hate all the business and operations stuff…I mean I really hate it…I’m a coach…the reason that I got into coaching was to avoid ever having to get a real job or ever having to do any real work. Yet all I seem to be doing currently when I’m not coaching is doing business and operations type ‘stuff’ for the new business…and the only thing that stinks worse than this blog…is all the other crap that is going on in the background to facilitate me being able to continue on in to the future without ever having to do an honest days work.

I’m going to cover a few things in this post…all of which will be less interesting and informative than the one before…but I’m sure you’ll read it anyway.

Sports Technology Demonstration
If you are coaching and training and are interested in what is the latest in sports technology come along to the gym tomorrow at 11am. All the information is here.

Moronic things I have read this week
Charles Poliquin is a Canadian strength and conditioning coach who gets brought to my attention at least once every month….as a strength and conditioning coach the guy is absolutely moronic….as a marketer…he’s pure genius. I am going to put a collection here of all of Charles Poliquin’s greatest lines of bullshit and I welcome anyone who wants to send me some to either email me directly or just post them in the comments section and I will transfer them here.

Charles has a near cult like following here in Ireland which is actually surprising because the Irish are usually quite sharp and sceptical….some people here are actually paying thousands to this guy and are completely sucked in.

Here’s a gem that I read this week:
“I can take a 200-pound guy with 20% body fat down to 6% in 8 weeks, with no change in body weight.”
That equates to this 200lb (90kg) guy losing 12.7kg of fat and putting on 12.7kg of muscle in 8 weeks….does that make sense to anyone? I know a lot of athletes and coaches read this blog…has anyone seen a 90kg guy lose 12.7kg of fat in 8 weeks? What about any 90kg guys putting on 12.7kg in 8 weeks. Has anyone ever seen those 2 things happen simultaneously? I’m not saying that I doubt this is possible….I’m saying that it is impossible. This guy is an outright liar.

One of my older favourites:
“I tell people who get certified by me that if they can’t get a female to do 12 chin-ups in 12 weeks, then they don’t know how to train. That’s how you can evaluate a good trainer. If he can get a female to do 12 chins, he’s a good trainer. If he doesn’t know how to do it, then he doesn’t know training. Period.”

This again is moronic…I’ve had 3 female athletes in my lifetime that could do 12 plus chin ups ever….and have probably seen with my own eyes less that 17 female athletes ever do 12 or more chin ups and all those were gymnasts at the AIS.

I know that there are a few Poliquin trainers here in Ireland that read the blog…I’d be happy for any of those that consider themselves ‘good trainers’ to contact me because I will pay for a female athlete…not just any girl off the street…but a current national level athlete…to train with them for 12 weeks and we’ll see how many chins they can do before and after. I’ll do this on the proviso that if they don’t do 12 chin ups that not only repay my money but that you come and clean my gym for free once a month for a year. For the rest of you….don’t hold your breath waiting for this to happen because even these trainers know Poliquin is full of shit.

So instead of emailing me with you ‘Poliquin Program’ asking me what I think of it…I suggest you email Joe DeFranco or Alwyn Cosgrove and ask them….they are both Poliquin certified so they should know….while you are at it…ask them why they would never mention the fact that they are Polquin certified? I’ll take a guess for you…it’s because any strength and conditioning coach worth his himalyan sea salt will tell you that Poliquin is an absolute joke in the industry as far as strength and conditioning goes….but as a marketer…he’s a role model….because very few people in the industry have pushed the envelope regarding getting people to swallow such gigantic mounds of bullshit as Charles has.

23 thoughts on “This blog really stinks

  1. I think I’ve got a pdf of Poliquin a friend gave me … Now you’ve got me intrigued. I might give it a read 🙂

    I love how I don’t have to ‘read between the lines’ with your posts 🙂

    • While you are reading…go fire up the google machine and type ‘Charles Poliquin + bullshit’ and Charles Poliquin + shit loads of steroids + boat loads of human growth hormone’ and or ‘Charles Poliquin + seemingly fit young man unusually carrying 40 extra pounds of muscle mass they did not have a few years previously + heart attack’ and me if you find anything.

  2. Good to see we frequent T-Nation 😛

    I must say Iv never actually found any of the things he writes very helpful and generally just skip his articles/opinions altogether.

    • Actually I don’t frequent e-nation…but some idiot will send me something from that god awful site at least once or twice a month. That site is a joke….it is a strength and conditioning comic book…unfortunately some people take it seriously.

      • I’ll agree with you on Poliquin but not all of T-Nation is worthless. In particular, Mike Robertson, Eric Cressey, and Tony Gentilcore offer valuable insights and information.

  3. His older stuff is solid. He just seems to have lost his mind (and earned a shitload of money) along the way, with his voodoo bullshit.

    Maybe Lyle can post the “bellybutton piercing” crap that CP pulled from his ass a while ago. I don’t remember it exactly, but it was something like: You can’t lose weight because of the belly button piercing.

    Pure gold

    • I can’t quote it exactly but the gist was that females should take out their bellybutton piercings because it would negatively affect the electrical signals in their body and cause them to carry more bodyfat.

      Lyle

  4. I spoke at a T-Nation roundtable event in Washington D.C. in 2006. Coach Heffernan was there, with a notebook, taking notes whenever Joel Marion or T.C. spoke. Don’t let him fool you.

  5. “Charles also had a shotputter add 240 lbs to his bench press in a few weeks simply by adding rotator cuff exercises.”

    Chek went the same way with his whole “holistic” thing.

    • I seriously recommend “how to eat,move and be healthy” by Paul Chek, if you want to see how fucked up a once very smart guy can become

  6. “the Irish are usually quite sharp and sceptical”

    Skeptical. You just said we’re all infected. So in a way you were right. I for one love the Poloquin articles and read them almost religiously, I can’t wait until one of my girls does 12 pull ups, then I’ll be able to be in his gang.

  7. Hi Will, just wondering if you saw my post in the labcoating section (post #40), the posts there are listed chronologically for some reason so I suspect you might have missed it, thought I’d post it here in case you did, sorry if you’d already seen it:

    Hi Will,

    Would be interested to hear your opinion on this article:

    “Using full acceleration and velocity-dependant exercises to
    enhance power training” by Dan Baker, it’s linked from his website at http://www.danbakerstrength.com/?p=32

    http://www.chost6.com/~danbaker/wp-content/uploads/2008/05/using_full_acceleration_and_velocity.pdf

    Basic points I got out of it:

    – Low level athletes should build strength/stability basis, though he defines this as “have attained a reasonable strength base, a training age of >
    1 year and who are > 15-16 years of age.”

    This is probably earlier than most would advocate, though he later states “After adequate or base levels of body/limb/joint control and stability and then general strength have been established in an athlete, they may seek to embrace power-training methods (Baker and Newton, 2005).” This I’d probably agree more with (its more specific and qualitative) not sure if this is likely to be attained within a year or so with a 15-16 year old in a team field sport though.

    – Power is developed through “full acceleration” which involves accelerating through full range of motion generally with release/take off, examples given were “such as a bench throw or jump squat in a Smith machine, see Photos 1-2, medicine ball throws, power pushups, power cleans and all the olympic lift variations etc.” I’m not sure I follow with power cleans, as the preparation for the catch somewhat prevents acceleration through full ROM, compared to releasing barbell/medicine ball or jumping. That’s not to say it doesn’t contribute to power, just more as a low-velocity strength-speed means than “full acceleration”.

    – Progression suggested seemed to be from (Full detail on page 6):

    Jumps/Med Ball Throws to loaded bench throws/squat jumps and simple olympic lifts to complex olympic lifts.

    – Resistance doesn’t really matter so much as peak/high power (assumedly given this is above threshold level for improvements) can be achieved at many loads, example given was similar power output for cleans at 30% vs 50-70%. He summarised this as “power cleans result in high power outputs across a wide spectrum of resistances, if technique and velocity are maintained. Technique and velocity before resistance should be the motto.”

    – Similarly for ballistic exercises (throws/jumps) technical and velocity decrements are monitored, and load is defined by these parameters.

    – For bench throws/jump squats, load was set at 50% of load of strength exercises that week, “if the athlete was using 70% 1RM for full squats for their strengthtraining
    portion of their program, then the power-training portion would use 35%
    1RM for jump squats.” This is suggested to ensure the athlete can always handle the load for the power exercises, as it will always be relatively small compared to the CURRENT load for the strength exercises, i.e. using 60% for jump squats when using 70% for normal squats would be difficult to accomplish.

    – Sets limited to 5-6 reps, often kept at 2-3 reps for higher load exercises (jump squats/cleans/bench throws at 45-55% or more in the case of cleans). Again velocity/technique the concern not volume. Ballistic exercises with lighter loads could go out to 8-10 reps, I guess you could more easily pause between throws/jumps than jump squats or bench throws so this certainly seemed logical.

    – Rest period comments were interesting, especially since the author has a very strong background in scientific measurement and application of power training. He suggested:

    “I have found that a 1.5 minute turnaround between sets is adequate, if the above
    repetition recommendations are adhered to. For example, an athlete doing 3
    reps on a bench throw with 50% 1RM can start a new set every 1.5 minutes, with
    no decrement in power output. Three reps on power training exercises takes
    less than 5 seconds, meaning a work: rest ratio of about 1:15 ~ cercertainly a long
    recovery ratio.”

    Obviously the usual recommendation is 5+ minutes so 90 seconds is a fair departure from the standard. He pointed out that for reasonable volume these rests would give 9-12 sets/hour which would result in very long workouts at times.

    All in all I thought this was a very logical and practical article, would be interested to hear your thoughts.

  8. Steve said
    I’ll agree with you on Poliquin but not all of T-Nation is worthless. In particular, Mike Robertson, Eric Cressey, and Tony Gentilcore offer valuable insights and information.
    OK…I see your point…it’s not entirely worthless…the problem is that it is the majority of stuff on there is absolute fitness fluff. It has absolutely no value and it does more harm than good unfortunately.

  9. Another bullshit claim from Poliquin is that he trained the first woman to bench press 400LBs but if you check Cathys records she never benched 400LBs but 396LBS, Big Diference.

  10. Will

    Just found your site after searching for Charles Poliquin and Bullshit.

    Glad to hear that not everybody is taken in by all this CP bullshit. I am a S&C coach and a couple of my athletes have been training with a couple of CP certified trainers. One has dropped off in strength and power but depite all his 1RMs being down he believes he is stronger and more powerfull. The other is out for 4 months with a disc prolapse from all the long lever lower back exercises he has been given.

    Its typical of such courses that the trainers concerned know more about marketing than they do physiology. I find many of his statements unreal and so exagerated they are very unhelpfull. Add to that the fact that his followers blindly suck up anything he says unquestioningly and woe betide the person who ever questions him.

    Ive been trying to have a look at his claims and check out which athletes he has trained. Does anybody know exactly how much success he has really had. I mean which athletes has he built from the ground up? I once trained a European champion triathlete for a summer in the gym but that doesnt mean I was responsible for her performance.

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

