Sarah is coming tomorrow…I’m so excited I don’t think I’ll be able to sleep…

…that’s OK though. I’ll do what I always do…crack open Lyle’s book on Bromocriptine and I’ll be out like a light before I get to end of the first page.

Lyle’s Seminar
I am really looking forward to this weekend. Lyle and Sarah are coming to Dublin tomorrow. I’m going to be the ‘hostess with the mostest’ and whip out to the airport to pick them up during my lunch break….don’t worry though I’ll be able to fit some time in for some food. Then I am going to take them out to the gym so they can get their ‘pump on’ while I watch, talk, eat muffins and drink coffee…you know…the usual. I know Lyle will want to get a workout in before the seminar on Sunday so his ‘gunz’ will be at there awesome best.

The seminar will kick off on Sunday at 10am at St Mary’s College Rugby Club on Tempelville Rd, Tempelogue. If you are looking for directions I will save you the trouble…we’ll be here.

Lyle sent me the seminar today and it looks great…I am going to study it and look up all the big words so on Sunday I can look like I understand everything he’s talking about. This is basically what he’s going to cover:

Module 1: Overview of Basic Nutrition
Just a quick look at the basic components of human nutrition. Just to make sure everyone is on the same basic ‘background’ page.

Module 2: Overall Daily Nutrient Requirements
An examination of day-in, day-out nutrient reuquirements (energy, protein, carbs, fat) for different types of athletes.

Module 3: Around Workout Nutrition
Optimizing intake before, during and after training to enhance performance, decrease fatigue and improve overall adaptation to training.

Module 4: Modifications for Different Goals
A look at how to modify all of the information that has come before for goals such as mass gains, fat loss, maintenance of bodyweight (with improved performance over time), and recomposition.

Module 5: The Wrap Up
This goes over supplements and all the other odds and ends.

The presentation runs about 83 slides long…I was going to send out handouts by email but what I am going to do instead is just put handouts together and give them out on the day as I don’t want attendees getting over excited and passing out…I don’t want to be responsible for that.

If you need any more information just let me know otherwise I’ll see you guys on Sunday morning.

If anyone wants to get a workout in bring your gear…I’ll watch, eat muffins and drink coffee.

In other news
Paul had a light day today training wise. He’s a senior footballer. His training schedule goes as follows:
Monday: This is his heaviest day weights wise…it’s his strength day and we’ll do some easy conditioning as well.
Tuesday: An easy prehab day…tidying up work basically and a lot of trunk work. This is because on Tuesday’s and Thursday’s he has club training in the evening.
Wednesday: This is the most intense day…this is the day we do all our dynamic/power work.
Thursday: The same type of training as Tuesday’s just a different focus.
Friday: What we do on Friday’s depends on whether he has a Saturday or Sunday game. If it’s a Saturday game then it’s a rest day or light conditioning and some mobility and flexibility work. If it’s a Sunday game then we’ll do some high intensity conditioning work and some circuits.
Saturday and Sunday: Are either match days or rest days…I’m sure you get the idea.

So any way…today being Thursday was a relatively easy day. It went something like this:
Warm Up on the bike for 10 mins to get his sweat on.
Vertical Band Pull-A-Parts, Chest Supported Scap Shrug and Inverted DB Shrugs for 3 sets of 8 reps
1A Pull Ups – 10 sets of 3 reps
1B Elevated Push Ups – 10 sets of 10 reps
2A Ab Roll Outs – 5 sets of 12 reps
2B Natural Reverse Hypers – 5 sets of 12 reps
Single Leg Knee Drops – 5 sets of 5 reps on each side
Swiss Ball Hamstring Curls – 5 sets of 12 reps
High-Low Woodchopers – 3 sets of 8 reps on each side
Standing Ab Pulldowns – 3 sets of 15 reps

I am sure you’ve noticed by now that I video a lot of stuff in the gym…I don’t do this for this blog…I do it because I use it as a coaching tool. A tiny fraction of what gets videoed goes up on the blog in fact. One of the ways that I use video is to go back and look at athletes doing really simple tasks as you saw recently with Barry’s Band Pull-A-Parts. The single leg knee drops are another that I look at. You can take a look at this and maybe tell me what you see?

9 thoughts on “Sarah is coming tomorrow…I’m so excited I don’t think I’ll be able to sleep…

  1. Will you be video taping and posting any of Lyle’s seminar? Do you know if Lyle will have any seminars in the US?

  2. Will
    very wobbly on both pins, but cant say one was worse than the other. Knee’s drawing in a lot needs work on adductors + glutes ?

  3. I have no problem with the link.
    What i see is big inconsistencies rep to rep, which is odd as i would think most people would lean in or out not both. I would think usual ideas of lack of glute strength.
    A couple of questions if i may. How deep do you want the knee drop to be (ie knee touching floor or something higher) for your purposes. How long does a session like this take and if Sunday is the game day do you take a rest day on monday or does paul just get short changed
    Thanks as normal

Leave a Reply

