Apparently I am a crap coach…all the haters were right.

Barry Lost
I can’t believe that I got on my bike and did a 450km round trip from one side of this island to the other in the freezing cold.

450km round trip...for less than 2 minutes of action

450km round trip...for less than 2 minutes of action

Some would say it was a wasted trip…I’d tend to agree with them. Here’s the video…you guys can judge for yourself. I hope Barry will give us a blow by blow…not that there were too many blows. I’m actually hoping he takes a few days off then just hooks straight back in because I want to see him have a ‘proper’ fight. I don’t think the fight really showcased either guys talent with this.

One of the things that I love about MMA is that you can be winning easily…right up to the second you get finished and vice versa…you can be taking a hammering and your opponent makes one mistake or gets slack and you can capitalise and come out the winner. So no win for Barry but I can’t wait to see him fight again.

7 thoughts on “Apparently I am a crap coach…all the haters were right.

  1. A few things …

    That looked like a ‘proper’ fight to me! Scrappy, but definitely proper!

    One of the things I’ve noticed on your blog is that sometimes you equate good strength and conditioning coaching with winning. I can see the relationship with sports like powerlifting—you get a guy stronger, he goes and lifts the heaviest weight and wins … that probably makes the S&C coach a good coach … but when it comes to sports that actually involve decisions and strategy, particularly on the fly, I think S&C coaches need to gauge their ‘responsibility’ for winning or losing VERY carefully.

    I’d like to hear why Barry thought he lost. It may very well be because he lacked the strength or conditioning to do what he wanted, conversely it could quite easily be a host of other factors that have bugger all to do with his strength and conditioning.

    Cheers

    • Thefightgeek said
      A few things …

      That looked like a ‘proper’ fight to me! Scrappy, but definitely proper!
      It was a good fight…I just wished it was longer…and that it was either in a proper cage or a ring because the one it was in was poor. The whole night guy were getting tripped up on the apron and I was saying to Barry that the netting/cage was so loose that it looked like he was levitating outside the cage. Barry will definitely tell you more. I actually want to get him to ‘voice over’ the fight so when people view it they can watch it from his perspective.

      One of the things I’ve noticed on your blog is that sometimes you equate good strength and conditioning coaching with winning.
      In truth I am not really like that…just my sense of humour…or lack of it depending on how you view me. That same day James was winning his tennis match and the rugby lads were beating Galwegians to win well and do it with a bonus point. So you win some and you lose some…that’s just the way it is. I don’t ever take the credit and I don’t think I ever deserve the blame either.

      I can see the relationship with sports like powerlifting—you get a guy stronger, he goes and lifts the heaviest weight and wins … that probably makes the S&C coach a good coach … but when it comes to sports that actually involve decisions and strategy, particularly on the fly, I think S&C coaches need to gauge their ‘responsibility’ for winning or losing VERY carefully.
      Me too.

      I’d like to hear why Barry thought he lost. It may very well be because he lacked the strength or conditioning to do what he wanted, conversely it could quite easily be a host of other factors that have bugger all to do with his strength and conditioning.
      He was too impatient…went for glory…too much of a showman. I am just pissed…I wanted it to go to the last and for him to win with style then. He will be fighting again and I’ll be pushing him to do it as soon as possible.

      Cheers

  2. It was a proper but very brief fight. I’d been working on defending the takedown on the cage wall for the last few weeks as I thought his goal would be gnp. My heart sank when I saw the cage I’ve fought in it before and used to train in it and the walls are saggy and there’s at least a half foot of padding around the bottom that makes it really hard to stay on your feet and even worse to stand up again from. The plan was to stay out of the clinch and strike then look to shoot and take down in the middle of the round and finish strong for the judges second half. Don’t kno why I threw a kick I’d been working on keeping outside his right foot as I knew he was a southpaw. These things happen. Once he clinched up and I hit the deck though I just went balls out for a submission and rolled for the kneebar, he slipped out so I switched to the ankle lock, he landed two heavy shots but I wasn’t to bothered but he stood up then and defended the lock and we scrambled, I ended up on my knees, I slipped (he told me later he was going to take my back but he slipped too) and he sunk in the calf crusher. I was halfway to tapping from it but toughed it out, then went for it myself (when you do that sub you give your opponent the same thing) and couldn’t get leverage, so I went to sit up to get a better hold of his foot and my knee went POP POP so I tapped. Ouch. I’m limping today but I think it’s okay.

    I’m dissappointed of course but actually not as bad as you might think. In August I wasn’t ever going to train consistently again because of all the back problems and I came within about an inch of walking away from it altogether. It was never an option though so I’m glad I’m cleaned up and in action again. The plan now is to take a couple of days off until Wednesday, then get back into training and see if I can get on another show in the next few weeks. I’m actually pretty confident I could get to 73kgs.

    Some people would be gutted by that fight but I am what I am. I like to finish or be finished. Last fight I took I took at 84kgs when I was walking around at 81kg. I’m not insane or anything and I do like to win but I’d sooner lose that fight in two having tried to finish all the time than go 3 and not go for any opportunities that came my way. Maybe I’ll change my mind and try to eek out a decision next time but I doubt it.

  3. Hi Barry,
    bad luck on the fight. It must be close to immpossible to defend a take down up against that netting with the foam barrel under your feet. that knee pop sounds pretty painful. Leg locks are pure evil…..

    Fair play

  4. Like Will said: You win some, you lose some…

    Barry has already come a long way, I enjoy reading about his progress, great improvements on his conditioning and issues and we all already knew that that didn’t mean he had a get-free-as a winner- out of the cage- card.

    But since what doesn’t kill you is supposed to make you stronger… I’m putting my money on the next show!

Leave a Reply

