Practical Principles of Sports Nutrition and Fat Loss – Sunday April 5th

I have to say that I’m really looking forward to this seminar and I already have a small list of questions for Lyle of my own. I think it will make for an excellent weekend. The presentation will take part at St Mary’s College Rugby Club on Tempelville Road in Tempelogue in Dublin Ireland which you’ll find here.

The seminar will cover the basics of sports nutrition including macronutrients (carbohydrates, fats and protein), baseline diets, meal frequency, nutrient timing and most importantly the stuff that everyone really wants to hear about…that being how to optimise strength and hypertrophy gains, maximising fat loss and optimising body recomposition.

Lyle is going to cover all the ‘real’ issues in regard to sports nutrition. That is not to say that the science isn’t important because it is but as a coach what I really want to know is what the best practice is.

I am going to come back and edit and add to this post as needs be and I’m sure Lyle will have stuff to add when he sees it as well. The seminar will cost €55 and places will be limited by the size of the venue. So if you want to make sure you have your place guaranteed drop me an email and arrange payment earlier rather than later.

The Lyle McDonald Bio:

Lyle obtained a degree in exercise physiology from the University of California in Los Angeles, graduating in 1993. He has dedicated nearly 20 years of his life to studying human physiology and the art, science, and practice of human performance, muscle gain, fat loss, and body recomposition. He applies a combination of cutting edge research, canny tinkering, and sometimes, a little bit of intuition to develop my hypotheses which I then test in the real world on various guinea pigs (often including himself). Lyle has worked with athletes from numerous sports including bodybuilding, powerlifting, cycling, Olympic lifting and many others, developing training, nutrition, and supplement programs to help athletes maximize their potential. He has published seven books on various aspects of exercise, diet and sports nutrition, and writes a weekly blog on his website at www.bodyrecomposition.com. Lyle has also written for numerous print magazines including Flex and the now defunct Peak Training Journal. He has a regular column in the new magazine, Muscle News. Additionally, he’s written for numerous online publications including Cyberpump, Mesomorphosis, Mind and Muscle, Read the Core, Intelligent Design, Bodybuilding.com, Ironmagazine, Wannabebig, etc.

21 thoughts on “Practical Principles of Sports Nutrition and Fat Loss – Sunday April 5th

    • No. Just the Sunday. Saturday will be informal…as in we’ll train in the gym in the morning, there is a game on at St Mary’s in the afternoon and I am going to take Lyle out Saturday night and show him how we get our drink on in Ireland.

  1. Will I was wondering if you could please give a few more rough details about timing. I am thinking of coming over from the UK (Ranair makes it so damn cheap) so I wanted to know what time you think it would start and end as I want to see if it would be possible to go and come back on the same day.

    Thanks

    • I think you could come and go on the Sunday if you wanted to. I think we’ll probably end up going from 10am till 4pm officially…I want to leave plenty of time at the end for questions as I know there will be plenty of them. I will formalise the format of the seminar with Lyle this week and will be updating this post as we go. I’m thinking of adding a little mini seminar on Saturday morning featuring myself…for those that will be interested (all 3 people most likely). I know it is just me saying it but I think it will be a great weekend for those who are so inclined…get a training session in on Saturday morning and maybe even learn a bit. Then lunch and some tasty beverages while watching some AIL Rugby and then I’ll organise somewhere for dinner Saturday evening for those in town that are interested…followed by more tasty beverages and then the seminar on Sunday.

      By the way mate if you are involved with any sites/forums in the UK please feel free to post a link to this thread as I think the chance to see Lyle in person and to see first hand just how unimpressive speed skaters are in person is just too good an opportunity to miss…I guarantee just about anyone who attends who isn’t a complete endurance weenie is going to feel like a mass monster compared to Lyle.

      • Great thanks for the info. I’ve got to say that the only forum that I have the time for at the moment is the Bodyrecomp forum (the proper one – not the wimpy, soft glove one). I’ve never really gotten into any of the UK forums – lack of decent UK gurus tbh.

  2. This seminar would be a great time for Will to do the 100 push ups in 60 seconds that he said he could do or just pay me the $100 he bet me.

    Lyle could be the judge.

    Most likely scenario will be Will paying Lyle the $100 just to say he did them and to screw me out of the money.

  3. Will any updates on this? I assume it’s confirmed with Lyle? What’s your email address so I can send you an email to book a place etc?

Leave a Reply

