I can’t believe it’s not butter…

…but even more than that I believe that it’s not Wednesday rather than Friday.

Barry’s Morning Session

Today was a tough session. The intervals were shorter and harder than last week but the strength conditioning was easier and yet harder at the same time. I know that sounds stupid but its true. Hopefully Barry will chime in and give you his impressions of the session.

The session was as follows:

10minute warm up on the bike.

Mobility and Stability Circuit – Hurdle Steps, Leg Swings, Over’s & Under’s and Hip Pop Ups for 2 rounds.

Bike Intervals – 2 minutes easy riding then 30 seconds at over 100rpm followed by 30seconds easy spinning for 10 bouts. The thing that makes this hard is that I control the resistance on the bike and make it ‘as hard as it needs to be’…early on that meant Barry pushing at as high as level 16…and that’s hard…most of the bike work we do is at level 5. 

Mobility and Stability Work – 3 sets of horizontal band pull-a-parts and scap push ups.

Conditioning Round 1 – Dumbbell Floor Press, T-Push Ups and then a jab, punch, body shot and hook to the head combination. He had 45 seconds of work time and 15 seconds transition between each exercise. What we were looking for today was quality. I wanted the floor presses to be hard but for him to take plenty of time between reps and try to be as explosive as possible off the ground. The t-push ups were just intended to be nice and smooth and controlled and then to have him focus on throwing nice crisp shots on the pads.

This was followed by another set of bike intervals that were the same as the ones above and then onto round 2.

Conditioning Round 2 – Trap Bar Deadlifts, High Step Ups and then body kicks. The intention here was the same as round 1. Making sure the deadlifts were of high quality, the step ups were as controlled as possible and the body kicks were of a high quality.

 

This session will make your heart do this!

This session will make your heart do this!

Online and or Distance Personal Training

A lot of the athletes that I coach don’t train in the gym with me all the time. I have athletes that I work with that are located all over Ireland and some of them are in the UK and still others are constantly on the move. I received an email the other day asking about how I manage to do this sort of work and if it is the same as training people face to face. Well naturally online or distance coaching whatever you want to call it isn’t the same as coaching in person but that doesn’t mean that I can’t do as good a job as I can manage. If you go to my YouTube account you probably see about 200 videos or so. There are actually a LOT more videos up there that you can’t see. Videos like this one….

This is a video for James that normally would be ‘Private’ in that James can see it and I can see it but no one else can. Same with all the videos from the seminar. The attendees can see them and if you aren’t one of them then you can’t. It is the same with all the other guys and the couple of gals…they can see all the public videos along with the private ones that are just for them. They send me videos of their training….the stuff that they want me to see because they have questions about or the stuff that I want to see and then I send them videos like this one back. 

So in answer to the question… know online or distance coaching isn’t the best….but that doesn’t mean that it has to be bad.

6 thoughts on “I can’t believe it’s not butter…

  1. Here I am chiming in.

    This session was harder than last weeks similar session for a few reasons. Firstly, I was more fatigued during the quality work. The additional 15 seconds made a massive difference in that way and probably equated to 3 more boxing combos and about 2 more kicks each side. Also, the technical work was more technical, although tot he uninitiated it probably looked the same. Last week it was a simple, bread and butter 1-2 combo for boxing and a low kick for kicking. This week the 4 punch combo was much more technical, the mechanics of how your feet and hips move are hugely different to the 1-2. That added to the fatigue and I could feel the quality of the strikes deteriorating as the 45 seconds went on. The body kicks require you to generate much more power at an earlier phase of the technique, after all your leg is going higher. So once again, much more fatigue than last week and if you watch closely in the second video you’ll see my left leg doesn’t really ever drive through as it should. If you’re not familiar with kicking, think of a golf swing it’s probably the easiest. My right leg os driving 300 yards off the teebox, the left leg is chipping from the rough!

    The first strength block was easier. Last week it was a 50kg bench followed by push ups, this week it was a 40kg floor press followed by a T push up. The Ts were more challenging than the regular push ups from last week, but they had the benefit of being less numerous. The floor press sucked because I could have handled more weight. Will put the 30kg bells in my hands initially and I got an enourmous shooting pain in my elbow (old dislocation that has never quite healed). I was glad to see the lighter bells when they came out but if I could do it again I’d ask for the 25s or 30s.

    Will I’m glad you didn’t bring the camera to yesterday’s train wreck of a session!

  2. Loved this post 🙂

    Been really enjoying doing this sort of stuff … I think it’s more fun than ‘normal’ round work.

    I’ve been seeing these trap bar dead-lifts all over the place lately … doesn’t matter if I just do normal deadlifts, does it? Or is there something special about trap-bar lifts?

    On an unrelated issue … been helping a lady get ready for a muay thai fight … She’s made gains in all her strength work except chin ups / pullups … She can’t do one! Initially it was because of her weight … she’s lost 20 kg over the last 10 months. She’s still not ‘lean’ but I would’ve thought she would be able to lift her body weight by now. I’ve tried breaking down the movement and doing partials and I’ve also been doing assisted lifts … Are there any other things I could be doing? I want her to hit those ‘balanced athlete’ numbers you’ve mentioned a few times.

    Thanks.

    Cheers

  3. Barry said
    Here I am chiming in.

    This session was harder than last weeks similar session for a few reasons. Firstly, I was more fatigued during the quality work. The additional 15 seconds made a massive difference in that way and probably equated to 3 more boxing combos and about 2 more kicks each side. Also, the technical work was more technical, although to the uninitiated it probably looked the same. Last week it was a simple, bread and butter 1-2 combo for boxing and a low kick for kicking. This week the 4 punch combo was much more technical, the mechanics of how your feet and hips move are hugely different to the 1-2. That added to the fatigue and I could feel the quality of the strikes deteriorating as the 45 seconds went on. The body kicks require you to generate much more power at an earlier phase of the technique, after all your leg is going higher. So once again, much more fatigue than last week and if you watch closely in the second video you’ll see my left leg doesn’t really ever drive through as it should. If you’re not familiar with kicking, think of a golf swing it’s probably the easiest. My right leg os driving 300 yards off the teebox, the left leg is chipping from the rough!

    The first strength block was easier. Last week it was a 50kg bench followed by push ups, this week it was a 40kg floor press followed by a T push up. The Ts were more challenging than the regular push ups from last week, but they had the benefit of being less numerous. The floor press sucked because I could have handled more weight. Will put the 30kg bells in my hands initially and I got an enourmous shooting pain in my elbow (old dislocation that has never quite healed). I was glad to see the lighter bells when they came out but if I could do it again I’d ask for the 25s or 30s.

    Will I’m glad you didn’t bring the camera to yesterday’s train wreck of a session!
    Excellent chiming Barry. The less said about yesterdays session the better.

    Michael Sullivan said

    I could see and hear the difference in the speed/power of the leg kicks. The right leg kicks looked ferocious.
    I shit you not…my forearm is actually a little bruised and swollen.

    Barry said
    They’re all I’ve got.
    You still have your good looks and charm?

    Thefightgeek said
    Loved this post
    You are easily pleased.

    Been really enjoying doing this sort of stuff…I think it’s more fun than ‘normal’ round work.
    Good…Barry does a lot of other strength and conditioning work…next week we’ll be doing last weeks session again. We’ll see how that goes.

    I’ve been seeing these trap bar dead-lifts all over the place lately…doesn’t matter if I just do normal deadlifts, does it?
    No, that’ll be fine.

    Or is there something special about trap-bar lifts?
    A trap bar deadlift is more like a non spinal loaded squat if that makes sense…it is in the middle of the continuum between deadlifts and squats.

    On an unrelated issue…been helping a lady get ready for a muay thai fight…She’s made gains in all her strength work except chin ups / pullups…She can’t do one! Initially it was because of her weight…she’s lost 20 kg over the last 10 months. She’s still not ‘lean’ but I would’ve thought she would be able to lift her body weight by now. I’ve tried breaking down the movement and doing partials and I’ve also been doing assisted lifts.
    That sounds pretty comprehensive.

    Are there any other things I could be doing? I want her to hit those ‘balanced athlete’ numbers you’ve mentioned a few times.
    All the shoulder mobility and stability work previously mentioned here would certainly help.

Leave a Reply

