Andy’s Program

I’ve decided not to write Andy off…actually…I was never going to write him off but I know that being famous on the interweb is about creating drama. Andy has ligament damage…maybe more…suffice to say there will be no moon walking for at least 4 weeks.

It gets uglier every day...Andy and his ankle that is

It gets uglier every day...Andy and his ankle that is

So what we’re going to do is at a bare minimum 4 weeks of bulking. We’ll do 4 main sessions a week…we might slip in some extra submaximal sessions as well. 

Watch this carefully because it is incredibly complicated

Week 1
Session 1
Warm Up – 10mins
Mobility & Stability Work
DB Rows – 2w/ux12, 5×8
Blast Strap Push Ups – 5×12
1A Standing Ab Pulldowns – 4×10
1B Side Bridging – 4x30sec
Arm Work
Natural Reverse Hypers – 5×12

Session 2
Warm Up – 10mins
Mobility & Stability Work
Seated DB Press – 2w/ux8, 5×5
Pulldowns – 5×8
1A Hanging Leg Raises – 4×10
1B Front Bridge – 4x60sec
Arm Work
Back Extensions – 5×12

Session 3
Warm Up – 10mins
Mobility & Stability Work
DB Floor Press – 2w/ux12, 5×8
Inverted Rows – 5×12
1A DB Sit Ups – 4×10
1B Seated Woodchoppers – 4×10
Arm Work
Natural Reverse Hypers – 5×12

Session 4
Warm Up – 10mins
Mobility & Stability Work
Pull Ups (weighted) – 2w/ux8, 5×5
Arnold Press – 5×8
1A Lower Ab Curls – 4×10
1B Kneeling Oblique Pulldowns – 4×10
Arm Work
Back Extensions – 5×12

Ian had a question about rest periods

8 thoughts on “Andy’s Program

  1. Great vid Will…just how I’d have set it up…how uncanny!

    A lifetime ago you mentioned not to get caught up in timing rest periods between sets…just go with how you feel (that was the gist I think).

    The length of these sessions you figure would be around an hour…give or take…but looking through them that would seem a bit of a push….for me anyways.

    I suppose what I am asking/confirming is that while length of rest periods can be left to the athlete I guess you don’t want them sauntering through it.

    What say you?

  2. Ian said
    Great vid Will…just how I’d have set it up…how uncanny!

    A lifetime ago you mentioned not to get caught up in timing rest periods between sets…just go with how you feel (that was the gist I think).

    The length of these sessions you figure would be around an hour…give or take…but looking through them that would seem a bit of a push….for me anyways.

    I suppose what I am asking/confirming is that while length of rest periods can be left to the athlete I guess you don’t want them sauntering through it.

    What say you?
    Here’s my response…thought it would be easier than typing it all out. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AdHmam2XDlg

  3. Hi from Germany,

    since lateral ankle sprains are common, I would be interested in the ongoing rehab…besides the usual rest + elevation (+ compression) of course…and if it’s not top-secret 😉

    I know there is quite a lot that could be said and many publications written on this topic, so if you’re too busy just ignore me.

    Jens,
    physio student

    • Hello Germany or Jens or whatever your name is,
      When Andy’s ankle settles down and we work out just how much damage has been done I will be only too happy to post all the details of his rehab and treatment. As always if you ask a question I’ll answer it…the answer won’t always be good or useful but you will always get and answer. The more specific the question…like this question is then the more specific the answer as this answer will be.

  4. If you’re following this up with further updates on Andy it’ll be interesting to see what warmups you prescribe. With the gammy ankle I figure the bike and rower would be a problem.

Leave a Reply

