I’m really not sure what to title this post…any suggestions?

A few days back I got this question in the ‘Lab Coating’ section:

VV said

Coach, given adequate strength levels, how possible is it to develop RFD and reactive ability while also working on conditioning and performing endurance-oriented activities (cardio, soccer, MMA, etc)?

Is there anything that can be done to keep those fast-twitch fiber from ’suffering’? I understand achieving maximum explosiveness while doing lots of endurance activities are two things at complete opposite sides of the spectrum.

As you are all well aware by now…I hate talking about training theory…I can do it with the best of them…I just find it tedious and incredibly boring. Training practice on the other hand I love talking about and I find those discussions incredibly interesting and exciting. I actually get over excited…to the point where as anyone who has ever spoken to me about training knows…it gets to a stage where my mouth can’t keep up with my brain. I’ve tried and will continue to try to make this blog reflect me and my attitudes. That is to show the stuff that find exciting…the actual training rather than to be like a lot of other blogs on training that seem to be more about showing the reader how well the blog author has mastered PubMed and as a way of showing how many big words they know. I don’t have a problem with that…I read those blogs as well…my point being I think there are plenty of those and too few that actually cover the practical side of strength and conditioning.

SO…let me try and answer the question that was posed not by giving a theoretical answer but by showing you something and giving you something to think about and consider.

This was the session that Barry and Damian did today:

 

Barry and Damians Session Today

Barry and Damians Session Today

Firstly, let me explain. Barry is a fighter and is training for a fight at the end of March. Damian is in the Army and is training to be ready for anything…and yet he isn’t training at Crossfit…go figure. Damian’s main sport of choice was Basketball…unfortunately I’ve turned him into a rower…so much of a rower in fact that for a few weeks he had the best verified legitimate ergo time in the world for 500m. This style of session could be used for just about any sport though. Barry’s session was entirely fight orientated. Damian’s version of the same session was similar but less technically demanding. I think when you see it you’ll get the idea though.

This was the last set in the lads 1st block

I’ll deal with Barry’s session first. As you can see in the program he had an easy warm up. Did some mobility work to loosen up then had 10x150m with 30 seconds recovery to do on the rower. The idea in these intervals today was to go really hard…but leave a little in the tank…that is…don’t blow up. Barry did all of his just under 30 seconds…consistently strong for all 10. His first strength block was 5 sets of the following: 30 seconds of 60kg benching…what I’m looking for here is around 3-6 reps at the end…it is easier enough to start with but believe me…at the end it is plenty.  They get a 10 second transition. Then push ups for 30 seconds…I’m looking for 12-15 reps here…then he gets the gloves on and I’m looking for 30 seconds of high quality punching. They get 30 seconds recovery and then go again. They completed 5 sets of this. I made a mess of the first block because one of the ways that I progress this type of session is to get rid of the recovery between rounds…I did that in this block today because I had another group doing this style of session the other day and forgot to include the recovery for the lads…so in this first block the quality was less than I was looking for. They still did well though. That 30 seconds between rounds makes an enormous difference though obviously. Then back onto the rower for another 10x150m with 30 seconds recovery…again he was around that 30 second mark on each row. The next block was in the same style as the first…only this time he leg pressed 120kg, then body weight squatted then leg kicked…only this time I remembered to give them 30 seconds between rounds. Followed by another row…which he didn’t do…because we spent too much time messing about earlier on. I’ll make sure that we make up for it tomorrow though.

This was during the 2nd block of training…it didn’t take long for the power of the stopwatch to go to Denise’s head…the same thing happened to the Nazi’s

Damian’s session was same same but different. He had the same row as Barry…he just did his faster. Then leg pressed 180kg or something like that, body-weight squatted and box jumped. Then rowed again. On the second block he did the same as Barry but what I’ll do next time is bench, then push ups then a med ball toss…on his back into the air..something explosive…maybe a med ball throw down. The punching wore him out and was probably a bit technical for what I was trying to get out of the session. Then he rowed again…he only did 7 in the last…which I only discovered looking at his heart rate data and enquire as to why 3 readings were missing. Here is his heart rate data for the session.

 

Damian's Heart Rate Data from today's session

Damian's Heart Rate Data from today's session

So without going into too much detail…what I am looking to do is something hard and heavy…something neurally taxing but not to failure in the first exercise. Then something that taxes the energy systems in the second and the third is something that forces you to have to suck it up and do something technically demanding. The way this will progress for Barry is that eventually the technical elements will become more technical…I’ll put the pads on and stick my mouth guard in and give him a living, moving and punching target in the first block…it won’t be sparring and I won’t be looking to get a shot at him…I just won’t be making it easy.  Same with the second block…I’ll pad up and let kicks fly. I’ll make sure that I put those videos up as well…I might make those pay per view as I’m sure there will be more than a few people out there happy to see me to get the crap punch and kicked out of me.

Seminar Notes

I’m really just putting this up as a bit of a teaser and to give people either an idea of what they missed out on or what they may be able to look forward to in the future. What I’ve decided to do is to basically redo the entire seminar…only this time make it good. What I am going to do is to take all my seminar notes and present and video them all over again. Only this time without all the troublesome attendees and coffee breaks. It will in the end be the condensed version of the seminar and all the practical material covered…all videoed and itemised. The good thing about it is that people that attended the seminar will be able to ask questions and if necessary and when required I can just go back and rerecord the relevant piece or item. I’ve put an example up below. I’m not going to make them all publicly available because I want to make sure that the people that attend these seminars get the value that they deserve for handing over their cash and making the effort to come to the seminars.

This is one of a series of videos on screening that will be in the seminar notes.

27 thoughts on “I’m really not sure what to title this post…any suggestions?

  1. the athlete buster 3000? the heffernan herniator?

    looking forwards to the videos you do make available, although more unscrupilous strength coaches would produce a DVD set and flog them for €60

  2. Will Wayland said
    the athlete buster 3000? the heffernan herniator?
    Was hoping for something a little more positive.

    looking forwards to the videos you do make available, although more unscrupilous strength coaches would produce a DVD set and flog them for €60.
    Poor simple Will…you really didn’t read that post properly now did you? I am absolutely NOT going to make them all available. I am going to make them all and allow ONLY the people who paid for the seminar access to them. That is one video of what will be 20 on functional movement screening. Where there will be a video like this one which will be an ‘introduction’ to each of the movement screens…I’m also going to do a REAL movement screen of a REAL athlete and post that as an accompaniment. In the screening I am going to go through and point out what the problems are, point out the restrictions and what I’d do about them. This will be the first of what I am guessing having sketched out my plan today will be about 5-6 hours of videos in total covering functional movement screening, strength, muscular endurance, speed, agility and fitness testing along with all the exercise technique and training instruction…so they’ll get 5-6 hours…you get 5-6 minutes.

  3. Steve Shafley said
    So, will, are you going to fight in the States or not?
    I’ve never been adverse to fighting anywhere…so fighting in the US sounds excellent to me…the lads seem to have gone underground…I’m sure they are training as hard as I am and are going to resurface any moment to name a date. I love fighting…the fact that those two lads were stupid enough to make me really want to kick the hell out of them is just a bonus.

  4. Will Heffernan said
    February 12, 2009 at 9:38 PM

    Denise said
    Maybe Strength Circuit

    Or mixed circuit not really sure am a bit clustured.
    Nope, both those stink.

    Em how about The Muffin Circuit

  5. Denise calling Damian “muffin top” is kind of like the pot calling the kettle fat.

    Will, nice death glare you gave Fatty at the end of the second training video.

  6. Michael Sullivan said
    Denise calling Damian “muffin top” is kind of like the pot calling the kettle fat.
    She’s very sensitive about her weight at the moment…all 58kg’s of it.

    Will, nice death glare you gave Fatty at the end of the second training video.
    I’ve no idea what you are talking about. I was in a reasonably good mood today…for me that is.

  7. Michael Sullivan said
    February 12, 2009 at 11:49 PM

    Denise calling Damian “muffin top” is kind of like the pot calling the kettle fat.

    Will, nice death glare you gave Fatty at the end of the second training video.

    When you grow another few inches come back and slag

  8. That gives me an idea, I think I got it. I can keep my 3x/week low-volume lower body workouts, while adding non-traditional metabolic work for cardio, especially involving the upper body.

    I’m 1.85m, 112kg and almost ‘unnecessarily’ strong and big in the upper body for sports like tennis or soccer (I’m a former college football player). So losing UB size and strength are no big deal for me. The plan is to drop to around 100kg while improving RFD, power, speed, like I mentioned in my original question.

    It would really piss me off if I’m 10-15kg lighter and yet my vertical jump (and explosiveness) drops because I went too heavy on the ‘endurance’ work.

  9. Denise said

    Michael Sullivan said

    Denise calling Damian “muffin top” is kind of like the pot calling the kettle fat.

    When you grow another few inches come back and slag
    She makes a good point there Sully…because you are a borderline midget in fairness.

    VV said
    That gives me an idea, I think I got it. I can keep my 3x/week low-volume lower body workouts, while adding non-traditional metabolic work for cardio, especially involving the upper body.
    There’s lots of ways to skin every cat. I’m not exactly sure how you are going to go about this but I’d like to see it when you do work it out.

    I’m 1.85m, 112kg and almost ‘unnecessarily’ strong and big in the upper body for sports like tennis or soccer (I’m a former college football player). So losing UB size and strength are no big deal for me. The plan is to drop to around 100kg while improving RFD, power, speed, like I mentioned in my original question.

    It would really piss me off if I’m 10-15kg lighter and yet my vertical jump (and explosiveness) drops because I went too heavy on the ‘endurance’ work.
    Losing 15kg and also having a worse vertical would be difficult to do even if you tried.

  10. Denise said

    When you grow another few inches come back and slag

    If you could make it grow another few inches my wife may never let me leave the house.

  11. What an awesome post …

    It’s a beautiful thing to finally see a dude spank some pads on your blog 🙂

    HOw about some more?

    Chops is funny, but we definitely need more Barry Goodness 🙂

  12. Kiraclarke said
    What an awesome post …

    It’s a beautiful thing to finally see a dude spank some pads on your blog

    HOw about some more?

    Chops is funny, but we definitely need more Barry Goodness
    Glad you liked it.

  13. I’ve just pissed off Lyle again regarding low intensity cardio and fighters 😦

    Hey, how much long slow running have you got Barry doing?

    And what other low-intensity cardio work have you got him doing?

    Cheers

  14. Pissed me off, no.

    But it was an OFF-HAND remark that I made in an article that wasn’t about MMA and you were fucking intent on starting up the same irrelevant argument. The article was simply discussing predictors of endurance performance, it wasn’t even a fucking training article in the first place. That’s coming later and THEN you can bring up more irrelevant shit.

    Now, had it been an article about, fuck me I dunno, MMA, that would have been one thing.

    And that ‘you don’t know’ fighters doing nothing but intervals is 100% irrelevant, Kira. You don’t know all trainees in the world and I assure you that there are idjit Americans athlete being misled by bigger idjit internet coaches that are training that way. Because the internets (which is globally retarded) says so.

    Your perspective isn’t any more complete than mine but only one of us seems to realize that.

  15. Hey Will,

    sorry that our argument spilled over onto your site …

    I won’t drag you into it …

    Lyle, I never suggested my perspective was more complete than yours (that’s ridiculous! You’re a world renowned fitness expert and I’m an unqualified hack in hicks-ville), in fact I’ve gone out of my way, on a number of times, on your blog to make it clear my lack of knowledge and NON expert status. Not quite sure why you’re trying to make out that I think I’m some kind of know it all?

    If you want to talk rationally then email me …

    kirarobertclarke@gmail.com

    No need to go ballistic over here!

    Once again Will, I’m so sorry!

    If there’s any issues with both Lyle and me commenting on your blog in the future … I’ll withdraw … I don’t want to cause you any problems on your blog …

    Kira.

  16. Nah dude,

    I think cross-blog arguing is pretty bad form …

    I’ll be a HOMO with this one!

    Lyle knows where to find me if he wants to unload some more.

    K

  17. Incidentally, Kira, your reading comprhension sucks as badly as will’s writing.

    What I said was this

    “Tangentially, you might keep that in mind the next time you read an article about how a mixed martial arts guy (who may be doing repeat rounds of 4-5 minutes with a short rest) should be doing nothing but interval work for conditioning. ”

    I said NOTHING about what MMA guys are doing there did I? I was talking about the dumbshitted ARTICLES on the net. Serously, words mean shit, try reading them insetad of just seeing “MMA” and getting your panties in a fucking twist.

    So your comment WAS irrelevant. Which is why I asked you to let it go. Which is why I deleted your second and third comments when you didn’t. And if you don’t like it, stop reading my site.

    I also added a short qualifier to that paragraph. Hopefully you can quit seething at your monitor about me. I added

    “Which isn’t to say that fighters of any sort should be doing nothing but or enormous amounts of aerobic work mind you; both extremes are going to results in poor performance.”

    Posted here in case my emails don’t go through
    Lyle

  18. That gives me an idea, I think I got it. I can keep my 3x/week low-volume lower body workouts, while adding non-traditional metabolic work for cardio, especially involving the upper body.
    There’s lots of ways to skin every cat. I’m not exactly sure how you are going to go about this but I’d like to see it when you do work it out.

    Will, are you familiar with Kelly Baggett’s Vertical Jump Bible? That’s where I’m getting the bulk of my 3x/week LB program from. At the moment, kind of goes like this, jump/squat on M, sprint/deadlift W and different/unilateral jump/squat on F, lowish volume, high intensity, in and out remaining fresh. Like I said, I’m still trying to add “circuits” on tuesday and thursday, just like what you put up on the post, preferably minus the lower body movements but I’m having trouble getting creative as I don’t have access to medicine balls, punching bags, sledgehammer/tire or rower. I may just go ahead and do a lifting circuit throwing some push up variations in there.

    I have found over the last couple years that deloading substantially after 3 hard weeks works great for me, I drop the jumping and heavy work on wed & fri of that 4th week. Probably the reason I haven’t burned out/gotten injured after 5 weeks.

  19. VV said
    Will, are you familiar with Kelly Baggett’s Vertical Jump Bible?
    No…isn’t Kelly Baggett one of the about 50 online trainers that trained that little Asian jumping guy?

    That’s where I’m getting the bulk of my 3x/week LB program from. At the moment, kind of goes like this, jump/squat on M, sprint/deadlift W and different/unilateral jump/squat on F, lowish volume, high intensity, in and out remaining fresh.
    Sounds good to me.

    Like I said, I’m still trying to add “circuits” on tuesday and thursday, just like what you put up on the post, preferably minus the lower body movements but I’m having trouble getting creative as I don’t have access to medicine balls, punching bags, sledgehammer/tire or rower. I may just go ahead and do a lifting circuit throwing some push up variations in there.
    That shouldn’t be too difficult…push ups, inverted rows and sit ups or DB shoulder presses, bent over rows and hanging leg raises…that sort of thing…a couple of opposing upper body exercises and some ab/trunk/core work.

    I have found over the last couple years that deloading substantially after 3 hard weeks works great for me, I drop the jumping and heavy work on wed & fri of that 4th week. Probably the reason I haven’t burned out/gotten injured after 5 weeks.
    I like that as well. Always been a big fan of it myself.

Leave a Reply

