Talking through the Program that Eric wrote

So Eric sent me the following email…or should I say…he left the following comment on another post

Eric said
So the programme is a 4 day one as he has a lot of free time and doesn’t do any sports, just works out in the gym…so…

Day A1 Squats, Slow down to Box , real slow and controlled then explosive up, do 4 warm up sets and then 3 work sets of 5 reps.

Pull Ups, pronated grip, 3 sets of maximum, body weight only

Vertical Push, in this case an arnie dumbell press, 2 warm up sets then 3 work sets of 7

Day B1 Bench (Heavy) but technical so heavy weight without sacrificing form, a few warm up sets then 3 work sets of 5 reps, I tried to teach him the “heffernan” bench, i should have taped it I will next time

Power Clean, learned according to rippetoe book, not too heavy but not biro work

Inverted Row, Max reps then 15reps(however long it takes), then 10 reps(however long it takes)

Day A2 Box Jumps 8 sets of 3reps, height to be determined.

Vertical Push of some sort, filler,

Pull Ups 3 sets of 5 with extra weight

Day B2 Deadlift Heavy 5 warm up sets, 1 work set of 5

Bent Over Row 2 warm up sets 3 work sets of 6 reps

Horizontal Push so either push ups, decline or blast strap, or dumbell bench 3/4 sets of 7 reps Volume stuff

Then every day do some mobility stuff and core work and if he likes he can do arm work or calf or forearm work. So the programme goes A1 B1 A2 B2 A1 B1 etc etc

any comments are most welcome

I thought I would talk it through then re write it how I would do it…because I think he did a pretty good job for someone who came to a weekend seminar…especially considering it was a seminar I gave.

So if I was going to do it…knowing what I know from what you’ve said I’ve moved some stuff around…I’m not going to write it exactly as I’d do it…why don’t you have another crack it…or not…but if it was me I’d do it something like this:

Day 1
Squats
Pull Ups
Dumbbell Bench Press

Day 2
Power Clean
Bench (Heavy)
Inverted Rows

Day 3
Pull Ups 
Box Jumps
Push Presses

Day 4
Deadlift
Then everything else…shoulders, arms, calves…and all the really important stuff.

12 thoughts on “Talking through the Program that Eric wrote

  1. I may be wrong but by looking at Erics programme he needs to add more supplymentary exercies on each session…I wouldnt just add these on session 4. Also for the deadlift I dont get why you said 5 warm up sets and 1 set…maybe 2 w/u sets and 5 sets of 5 or 8 sets of 3, if I were to go real heavy. There a few other stuff I would change but Im no expert just givng my opinion.

  2. Denise said
    I may be wrong but
    Don’t ever show any fear or weakness on the internets…they can smell it off you and they’ll rip you apart.

    by looking at Eric’s programme he needs to add more supplymentary exercies on each session.
    I agree…plenty of room for filler.

    I wouldnt just add these on session 4.
    Very good…I would never have thought you ever actually listened.

    Also for the deadlift I dont get why you said 5 warm up sets and 1 set…maybe 2 w/u sets and 5 sets of 5 or 8 sets of 3, if I were to go real heavy.
    Oh my God…you should have your own blog. I think you are spot on. You and Eric should get together…between you both you’d have beauty and brains…only unfortunately for Eric you’d actually have both attributes.

    There a few other stuff I would change but Im no expert just givng my opinion.
    Leave something for Eric to do.

  3. Denise said
    I do listen I just play dumb
    Well I must say…you do an excellent job of it because you had me totally convinced you were as dumb as a bag of hammers.

    Lyle said
    I don’t see an arm day in that routine.
    That’s because you didn’t read properly…check out Day 4.

  4. OK OK OK

    1st thank you very much will for such a comprehensive reply, i didn’t expect my own video, so the programme

    well… the “friend” wants to increase his strength and he says he’s going to get back into rowing this summer so i thought a mixture of power and strength would be what he should aim for, he also spends too much time on the “filler” exercises at the moment, that’s why i included so many compound exercises. The way i started the programme was to set out the four days as follows

    day 1, heavy quad dominant, squats
    day 2, heavy chest dominant, Bench
    day 3, heavy back dominant, weighted pull ups
    day 4, heavy hip dominant, deadlifts

    everything else on each day was a mix of power exercises, so box jumps and power cleans, then volume in the b/w pull ups and fillers with the vertical push, I tried to cover all the 6 main movements we mentioned. The sets/reps outline was a mixture of experimentation and plagiarism from the rippetoe starting strength programme (squats & deadlift formats). I was plannning on doing this programme with him and then we could comapare the effect on both of us. The dealifts and bent over rows, you’re right there i should have noticed that, so that’s all i can think of right now but i will come back if i remember stuff, but THANK YOU will and denise for the comments and help, i appreciate it! I will re write the programme later and hopefully we can chat on saturday, as i said the race is at 1 so i should make it over.

  5. PS i didn’t say to anyone it was a “WILL” programme, i wouldn’t want to tarnish any reputations 🙂 but yeah i just tried to model it on what i remembered from the weekend,

  6. Will Heffernan said
    February 12, 2009 at 8:45 AM

    Denise said
    I do listen I just play dumb
    Well I must say…you do an excellent job of it because you had me totally convinced you were as dumb as a bag of hammers.

    Well when you train around people that are as dumb as a bag of hammers you get use to acting like a tool

  7. Eric said

    February 12, 2009 at 12:37 PM e
    OK OK OK

    1st thank you very much will for such a comprehensive reply, i didn’t expect my own video,
    It’s actually easier than writing a reply.

    so the programme

    well…the “friend” wants to increase his strength and he says he’s going to get back into rowing this summer so i thought a mixture of power and strength would be what he should aim for,
    That sounds about right…strength first though…power after. He’s basically to weak at the moment. I’m surprised looking at his results that he even has the strength to pull the door to the gym open.

    he also spends too much time on the “filler” exercises at the moment,
    Everyone does…and that isn’t necessarily a problem in itself as long as he’s getting the important stuff done.

    that’s why i included so many compound exercises. The way i started the programme was to set out the four days as follows

    day 1, heavy quad dominant, squats
    day 2, heavy chest dominant, Bench
    day 3, heavy back dominant, weighted pull ups
    day 4, heavy hip dominant, deadlifts
    That looks better than a lot of programs that I see.

    everything else on each day was a mix of power exercises, so box jumps and power cleans, then volume in the b/w pull ups and fillers with the vertical push, I tried to cover all the 6 main movements we mentioned. The sets/reps outline was a mixture of experimentation and plagiarism from the rippetoe starting strength programme (squats & deadlift formats). I was plannning on doing this programme with him and then we could comapare the effect on both of us. The dealifts and bent over rows, you’re right there i should have noticed that, so that’s all i can think of right now but i will come back if i remember stuff, but THANK YOU will and denise for the comments and help, i appreciate it! I will re write the programme later and hopefully we can chat on saturday, as i said the race is at 1 so i should make it over.
    You’re on the right track mate. Give it 6 to 8 weeks…then test again and see if it is working or not…see what is improving the most and what is not…keep us informed of how you get on…and how he gets on.

    Eric said
    PS i didn’t say to anyone it was a “WILL” programme, i wouldn’t want to tarnish any reputations but yeah i just tried to model it on what i remembered from the weekend,
    It is all yours mate. I’m not doing anything special. So feel free to take all the credit if it works and you can fall back on blaming me if it all goes wrong.

  8. I have just wrote my own programme to from what I have learned from training with Will and his seminar and basically just robbing all his stuff from my other programmes and when he trains other people and mixing it up

Leave a Reply

