Just for interests sake

I had Graham Dean in the gym yesterday. Graham is a strength and conditioning coach from Cape Town in South Africa. I was telling him how funny I thought it was that in all my time in Ireland the only coaches that have visited me in the gym wherever it has been that I worked have been from overseas. I’ve had coaches from the US, UK, France, Germany, Sweden, SA, Australia and probably a few others I can’t remember off the top of my head all come to my work to talk coaching and training.

Not a SINGLE Irish coach has ever came to the gym. I suppose there could be a number of reasons for this:

Everyone in Ireland thinks I’m rubbish…OR…they already know everything there is to know? I can only assume it is for one of these two reasons.

I on the other hand go to lots of gym to have a lo0k and see what they are doing. I do this mainly because I think I’m rubbish and I know that I definitely don’t know everything there is to know. Yesterday as it happened I was in a new gym in town that has opened up recently and I think I can pretty confidently say that not a single gym has opened in Dublin that I know of that I haven’t been to. I either get myself invited…or just go and pay and train and check the place out. I do this because I do actually love what I do. I want to be good at it. I want to be exposed to new ideas.

I also try to make it a weekly thing to talk to someone I don’t know in the industry about training. When people find this out they usually think its funny or that it would be awkward for me or the person that I ‘cold call’. I can honestly say not a single person that I’ve ever called hasn’t been at least pretended to be happy to take it. From this I have had invites to training sessions and centres all over Ireland and the UK. These coaches and trainers have on the whole always been as excited to talk about training and what and how they do it as I am. I think it is really important to see other coaches work…if for no other reason than to collect funny anecdotes about what idiots they are so you can tell others and ingratiate yourself in the coaching community by tearing down others.

To this end…this weekend I am going to be doing a field testing session on Saturday afternoon at 4pm. This test is referred to as a ‘150 Test’ or a ‘Spider Test’. I like this test for a lot of reasons:

1. It’s really easy…
2. It is really quick…I can get through an entire squad in 20 minutes.
3. It tells me a huge amount about athletes…who’s the fastest, who’s the fittest, who’s got the best agility, who runs with all the coordination of a new born foal and so much more.

I know I am probably smashing my head against a brick wall…but as anyone that knows me well knows well…I am unlikely to stop…what I’ve decided to do instead is from now on is to just bang my head even harder and see if that works.

So..I know that the rugby is on at 2.30pm but I thought I’d put it out there anyway…if you’re interested in coming to watch or even better interested in coming and helping me do this testing and seeing what it’s all about then drop me an email and I’ll give you all the details.

…in other news

I just want to make sure I can say I broke the news first…so here it is…Lyle McDonald will be in Ireland presenting on the weekend of the 4th&5th of April…now he’ll deny it if ask but I assure you it is absolutely true. So start making the necessary plans for this weekend as it will be a truly life changing experience. You’ll get to meet and learn from the most plagiarised author in the field nutrition. I am going to make a proper announcement later…I just wanted to sneak this in here where no one will read it but so I can point to it later to prove that I was the first to break the news.

20 thoughts on “Just for interests sake

  1. Damn, cat’s out of the bag.

    I’ll only warn you: if you think Will can ramble for 4 hours about absolutely nothing, you haven’t seen anything until you’ve heard me talk.

  2. Someone should have kept track of how many times Will cursed during his seminar, and then compare it to mine. That’s the only useful metric here.

  3. hey will i would like to come over and see how the session is run cause if we went through it on the sunday i may not have totally understood or rather been confident to go out and run such a test, so yeah i shall try to make it over, i have a rowing race (my first) on saturday, dunno what time exactly, so if that’s over i’d love to make the session

  4. Why either/or?

    I’m sure there’s plenty of Irish coaches that think that you’re rubbish AND know everything there is to know!

  5. Fucking fuck bollocks why does this always happen to me bollocks.

    No that’s not a snippet of Lyle’s presentation notes…but my wife has just reminded me that we fly 3000 miles in the opposite direction…April 4th to be exact…so we’ll be able to wave out the window of the plane as we pass over Dublin.

    I already had my list of questions…is it ok to eat fat and carbs at the same time?…I wanna bulk but not put on much fat so how many refeeds am I allowed?…I heard that interval training was the shiznitz for fat loss so would it be ok some on weekdays that have a vowel in the name?

  6. Lyle- Will’s cursing at one point peaked at 260 swears a minute which was nothing compared to the rugby players trained on the Sunday morning- so I think you will have you work cut out to actually do anything but swear if you really want to compete!

    Will- Nice one at the weekend mate, can’t make the weekend of the 4th as I am on a mates stag do but for anyone reading the blog I have a couple of Lyle’s books on fat loss and think they are good so it would be definetly worth checking out- if only to find that he is an obese pie eating American with 70% bodyfat (I don’t think that would work as a Testimonial like on all other information products from North America but there you go).

    One question as a follow up to the weekend Will- I was thinking about the notes and how you categorize some exercises, are there some exercises that don’t exist in the tool box e.g. upright rows or is there anything stupid that you don’t like to use?

  7. Lyle said
    Damn, cat’s out of the bag.
    The monkey’s out of the cage you mean.

    I’ll only warn you: if you think Will can ramble for 4 hours about absolutely nothing, you haven’t seen anything until you’ve heard me talk.
    I’m really looking forward to it…and for once I say that in all seriousness.

    Michael Sullivan said
    I sense a cage match. Epic battle.
    Maybe if Lyle could find himself a ‘Blaster’ to ride around on.

    Lyle said
    Someone should have kept track of how many times Will cursed during his seminar, and then compare it to mine. That’s the only useful metric here.
    I don’t see you getting close to me…and I mean me trying to be good and not swear is still worse than anyone else I have ever seen.

    Eric said
    hey will i would like to come over and see how the session is run cause if we went through it on the sunday i may not have totally understood or rather been confident to go out and run such a test, so yeah i shall try to make it over, i have a rowing race (my first) on saturday, dunno what time exactly, so if that’s over i’d love to make the session.
    No problem. I’ll send you an email with the details because it is actually ‘off site’ out on this clubs synthetic pitch. No problems if you can’t make it but if you are able I think you’ll get a bit out of it.

    Kiraclarke said
    Why either/or?

    I’m sure there’s plenty of Irish coaches that think that you’re rubbish AND know everything there is to know!
    Point well made.

    Ian said
    Fucking fuck bollocks why does this always happen to me bollocks.

    No that’s not a snippet of Lyle’s presentation notes…but my wife has just reminded me that we fly 3000 miles in the opposite direction…April 4th to be exact…so we’ll be able to wave out the window of the plane as we pass over Dublin.

    I already had my list of questions…is it ok to eat fat and carbs at the same time?…I wanna bulk but not put on much fat so how many refeeds am I allowed?…I heard that interval training was the shiznitz for fat loss so would it be ok some on weekdays that have a vowel in the name?
    I’m sure there will be plenty of people asking those exact same questions.

    Ian Mellis said
    Lyle- Will’s cursing at one point peaked at 260 swears a minute which was nothing compared to the rugby players trained on the Sunday morning- so I think you will have you work cut out to actually do anything but swear if you really want to compete!
    I’m quite posh and sophisticated in comparison to those lads. I think everyone realises that it wouldn’t even be a competition.

    Will- Nice one at the weekend mate, can’t make the weekend of the 4th as I am on a mates stag do but for anyone reading the blog I have a couple of Lyle’s books on fat loss and think they are good so it would be definetly worth checking out- if only to find that he is an obese pie eating American with 70% bodyfat (I don’t think that would work as a Testimonial like on all other information products from North America but there you go).
    He’s a total endurance weenie…and looks every bit the type.

    One question as a follow up to the weekend Will- I was thinking about the notes and how you categorize some exercises, are there some exercises that don’t exist in the tool box e.g. upright rows or is there anything stupid that you don’t like to use?
    I just made a video for you rather than typing it all out.

  8. Lyle said
    February 11, 2009 at 3:38 PM

    Damn, cat’s out of the bag.

    I’ll only warn you: if you think Will can ramble for 4 hours about absolutely nothing, you haven’t seen anything until you’ve heard me talk.

    I know I’ve read your book and you sure can ramble /

  9. I don’t like to give out secrets or teasers but I may finally reveal my ‘Protein powder and donut’ bulking plan at this seminar. It’s been a long time in development but I think the rugby guys will get behind it 100%.

    I will also explain, as I did on Skype with Will last night, that ice cream is a diet food. Between the dairy calcium and protein content and the fact that the body has to expend mad calories to heat it up, it just gets you ripped.

    Will is living proof.

  10. Is this going to be a combined seminar? What’s the price going to be? It would be good to know since I might as well rebook my flight tickets (im scheduled to come later in april)

  11. I think the plan in terms of a combination is that I’m going to ramble about sports nutrition and Will will demonstrate the principles by eating for 4 straight hours.

  12. Denise said
    Lyle said
    Damn, cat’s out of the bag.

    I’ll only warn you: if you think Will can ramble for 4 hours about absolutely nothing, you haven’t seen anything until you’ve heard me talk.

    I know I’ve read your book and you sure can ramble
    You are probably the first person to make it all the way through one of Lyle’s books.

    Michael said
    Might I ask for a description of the spider test?
    Thank you
    I will film the test for you on Saturday and you can see it in it’s entirety. It’s a shuttle test that measures distance covered in 30 seconds. There is 6 efforts in total with 30 seconds between efforts.

    Lyle said
    I don’t like to give out secrets or teasers but I may finally reveal my ‘Protein powder and donut’ bulking plan at this seminar. It’s been a long time in development but I think the rugby guys will get behind it 100%.
    I am going to eat through the entire seminar.

    I will also explain, as I did on Skype with Will last night, that ice cream is a diet food. Between the dairy calcium and protein content and the fact that the body has to expend mad calories to heat it up, it just gets you ripped.

    Will is living proof.
    I’m leaner already.

    Joel said
    Is this going to be a combined seminar?
    Yes, format still to be decided. There’ll be something on Friday night, Saturday will be a half day and then mainly Lyle on Sunday. I have an idea of what I want to do. I am going to send it to Lyle and see what he thinks. Then I will make a proper announcement and let everyone know exactly what is going on and what they can expect.

    What’s the price going to be?
    You tell me? How much do you think it should be?

    It would be good to know since I might as well rebook my flight tickets (im scheduled to come later in april).
    You should do that. I think it’ll be a great weekend.

    Lyle said
    I think the plan in terms of a combination is that I’m going to ramble about sports nutrition and Will will demonstrate the principles by eating for 4 straight hours.
    My thoughts exactly. I am actually going to send you a mail today if I get it finished or this evening on what I actually want. I know you think I am taking the piss when I say this but I am seriously looking forward to it. What I want to get you to do is to do a really practical presentation. I don’t give a crap about the science. I don’t want you to waste your breath telling me ‘why’…I just want to know what to do. I want to know what are the best nutritional strategies for getting leaner if you are just doing conditioning type work…are the strategies different if you are doing just strength type work. What is the best strategy when when performance is the issue. What about ‘making weight’…long term versus short term. Like I said…I’ve a lot of questions and I just want the answers not the explanations.

  13. I was thinking about this yesterday. While I will do my best to keep it purely applied, the odds are that I will ramble off into a bunch of theoretical bullshit that nobody but me really cares about.

    If you can, please get a supply of tennis balls. I’d like to hand them out to members of the audience and, when I start going off into irrelevant details, they can throw one at me to get me back on track.

    I’m not kidding either.

    Lyle

  14. Krispy Kreme is anabolic, all other dounuts are catabolic. Dunkin Donuts will make your muscles fall right off and Horton’s in Canada? It will give you the gay.

  15. We don’t have Krispy Kreme over here. We had Dunkin for a while until people’s muscles fell off on an all too regular basis, now Horton’s are creeping in like The Fog.

    I will be at your seminar really, really annoying you on the optimum way to get fighters to drop weight without the use of a whip and a treadmill.

  16. What Barry is really looking for is how to make ephedrine from household ingredients. He probably has a home made whiskey and/or explosives recipe he could trade you .

Leave a Reply

