Winter wonderland

It is so strange to see Dublin covered in snow and by strange I mean I hate seeing Dublin covered in snow because it means it is even colder and more miserable. If anyone reading this blog has a gym anywhere sunny and needs a trainer/coach who is willing to work for minimum wage as long as he can do so in the sunshine please drop me an email and I’ll send you my CV…I’m willing to move immediately…or as soon as the snow clears and flights resume.

Some people really don’t want anyone to know that I’m coaching them…to the point that they are happy to assault me to stop the evidence getting out!

Barry and Damian 

This is the lads session from this morning:

Bike – 5mins
Y,T,W – 3×5,5,5
3x4minute row with 1 minute recovery
Work Block 1 – 10 mins
1A Box Jumps – 5 reps
1B Pull Ups – 3 reps
1C Elevated Push Ups – 10 reps
3x4minute row with 1 minute recovery
Work Block 2 – 10 mins
2A Split Jumps – 10 reps
2B Inverted Rows – 5 reps
2C KB Shoulder Press – 5 reps each side
3x4minute row with 1 minute recovery
3A III Way Bridging – 2 sets (30second each bridge variation)
3B Natural Reverse Hypers – 2 sets of 15 reps

Here’s Barry’s Heart Rate Profile

Barry's Heart Rate Profile

Barry's Heart Rate Profile

 

 

What caused this was as follows:

Row 1 – 4 minute efforts with 1 minute recovery between efforts
1003m
1032m
1065m

Work Block 1 – 7 circuits in 10 minutes

Row 2 – 4 minute efforts with 1 minute recovery between efforts
1017m
1030m
959m

Work Block 2 – 7 circuits in 10 minutes

Row 3 – 4 minute efforts with 1 minute recovery between efforts
1007m
995m
1003m

6 thoughts on “Winter wonderland

  1. A question on work blocks Will.

    You use work blocks a lot and I wondered if you had any general guidelines on when you would use work blocks for an athlete….as opposed to drawing up a program that uses straight sets and supersets etc.

    I remember thinking that Barry’s strength test results were not too dissimilar to mine yet you went for work blocks for him and a more “traditional” program for me. I know Barry is training for MMA and I train to basically get my ass of the office chair…so our goals are very different.

    I’m thinking work capacity fits in there somewhere and maybe the ability to repeat strength uduring fatiguing conditions…but that’s my best guess.

  2. Silly Milly said
    That video is so funny.
    I’m glad you find the site of that fat crazy bitch attacking me so amusing.

    Ian said
    A question on work blocks Will.

    You use work blocks a lot and I wondered if you had any general guidelines on when you would use work blocks for an athlete…as opposed to drawing up a program that uses straight sets and supersets etc.
    Barry does both…he has some sessions that have more of a pure strength orientation…that look like traditional training programs…if that makes sense and he has sessions like this that have more of a fitness/conditioning/muscular endurance basis. It horses for courses.

    I remember thinking that Barry’s strength test results were not too dissimilar to mine yet you went for work blocks for him and a more “traditional” program for me. I know Barry is training for MMA and I train to basically get my ass of the office chair…so our goals are very different.
    Precisely.

    I’m thinking work capacity fits in there somewhere and maybe the ability to repeat strength uduring fatiguing condition…but that’s my best guess.
    Different destinations so different routes is all.

    Barry said
    Box Jumps- is Damian doing them right or am I doing them right? Big difference in technique.
    Yes, yours is crap and his is crapper.

Leave a Reply

