Neck Strengthening – Part 1 (Swiss Ball and Band Work)

I thought I better put this here rather than do what I was going to do and stick it back where I initially mentioned neck strengthening. I was just going to leave it there undiscovered by the masses. If you haven’t noticed…and I’m sure you haven’t…all the posts bar 3 have been categorised to make it easier to find everything that you’re not looking for. There were some photos, videos and maybe more than a few posts that went MIA in the move from blogger over to here at wordpress. Next week after the seminar is done and dusted and I’ve put up the notes I’m going to go back to the start of the blog. I’m going to make sure everything that should be there is where it should be and I’m also going to engage in a fair bit of rewriting of history. Making sure that I appear much brighter now than I appeared in reality at the time…which shouldn’t be too difficult. Eventually at some stage months from now I might even make my way all the way back to this post where upon reflection I’ll be able to delete the entire thing and start again. Until then you’ll have to make do with this….

Part 1 – Some Swiss Ball and Band Neck Strengthening

8 thoughts on “Neck Strengthening – Part 1 (Swiss Ball and Band Work)

  1. Thanks for this!

    How would you fit this kind of work within an overall program (ie. no. of times per week? which session do I add it too etc.)

    Cheers!

  2. Kiraclarke said
    Thanks for this!
    No worries. Can you tell how much effort and work went in beforehand to make it such a seamless presentation?

    How would you fit this kind of work within an overall program (ie. no. of times per week? which session do I add it too etc.)
    I usually just integrate it into the lads normal training programs…in that they do it when they are resting i.e. crapping on between sets.

    Dave said
    How would you rate this in comparison to a neck harness?
    The ball work or the band work do you mean? Part II will include harness work if that helps?

  3. Just wondering what sports you use neck work as a prevention method when the athletes have not suffered a neck injury.
    Eg rugby and mma is a yes but do you use it for sports where they are none contact but do involve explosive neck movements or where contact might occur (such as cricket bball and soccer)

    Also do you feel it necessary to include upper trap movements (such as shrugs or highpulls) or do you find that it is unneccesary due to the neck work and the use of deadlifts and the fact that most people have tight necks and overactive upper traps .

  4. Adrienl said
    Just wondering what sports you use neck work as a prevention method when the athletes have not suffered a neck injury.
    Rugby mainly.

    Eg rugby and mma is a yes but do you use it for sports where they are none contact but do involve explosive neck movements or where contact might occur (such as cricket bball and soccer)
    Haven’t really seen it as an issue in sports where participants aren’t trying to tear each other necks off.

    Also do you feel it necessary to include upper trap movements (such as shrugs or highpulls) or do you find that it is unneccesary due to the neck work and the use of deadlifts and the fact that most people have tight necks and overactive upper traps.
    Like everything…it’s about balance…some people need to do more direct upper back and trap work…for others it’s not needed.

  5. I used to do bridging (I think that’s what it’s called), supporting my weight on my forehead and legs, rolling around in various directions.

    But then some fighter dude told me that it won’t help because my chin is jutted out doing the exercise, but it’s tucked in when you fight.

    I didn’t know whether he was full of it or not, but I wasn’t getting good results doing it anyway, so I stopped.

  6. Kiraclarke said
    I used to do bridging (I think that’s what it’s called), supporting my weight on my forehead and legs, rolling around in various directions.
    The only thing I don’t like about it is that for me I think there is too much axial compression.

    But then some fighter dude told me that it won’t help because my chin is jutted out doing the exercise, but it’s tucked in when you fight.
    That’s pretty lame…but it stopped you doing it so that is good enough for me.

    I didn’t know whether he was full of it or not, but I wasn’t getting good results doing it anyway, so I stopped.
    Good for you. Try these and when you get nothing out of them either I’ll find something else to keep you amused.

Leave a Reply

