I love running

All I am going to talk about from now on is running.

This is Nasher's Heart Rate Profile

This is Nasher's Heart Rate Profile

The lads did a modification of the session that was done the other day that I posted about. The difference being today they did the following:

 

The first part of the graph that you see is the warm up work that they did and then they did 3 blocks of
40 seconds hard run 20 seconds walking recovery
30 seconds hard run 30 seconds walking recovery
20 seconds hard run 40 seconds walking recovery

Just so it’s as clear is mud…that’s 9 minutes a block…they got 3 minutes 40 seconds recovery and did 3 sets of these in the session.

If you look at this work for example you’d see that Nasher’s average heart rate for the entire session of work was 169bpm…and that includes the 2 breaks of complete rest of 3 minutes 40 seconds. The quality of work was excellent…it wasn’t a 35 jog…it was short bursts of flat out running or recovery. The total actual running time in this entire session is only 13 minutes and 30 seconds. If you take the entire session of 50 minutes his average heart rate was still 158bpm. I think that is a whole lot of effect for very little running time.

As I’ve said elsewhere and we’ve been over many times. I don’t have a problem with athletes doing ‘traditional’ long slow distance work or going out for a ‘jog’ or whatever way you want to look at that type of work. The thing is that I would think that most people reading this blog are coaching regular athletes. That most of you have very little time as is with them. I need to get the most, to get the greatest effect I can out of whatever time I have with them. I want the sessions to be of the greatest quality I can get.

10 thoughts on “I love running

  1. Can you make it so we can see the whole heart-rate-screen-thingy rather than just the start of it?

    Also, looking at it, I think we messed up the second cycle of block 2. Looks like only 2 runs. I would put this down to Nasher’s inability to count to ten while under the duress of running. (Sorry Nasher)

  2. Hugh,
    That must be your browser. I didn’t realise that had been happening to people viewing the heart rate data. I see that image in it’s entirety on my screen. You definitely did all 9 runs in the second block and in the third. I will actually send you Nasher’s data so you can see the whole thing. The session was exactly what I wanted it to be. Have a look at it and you can comment on what you thought of it having actually done the session as well. Eventually what I would like to do is to buy a ‘team set’ of heart rate monitors so during those non contact type sessions that you lads do we can see the individual effects of those group sessions.

  3. Can you describe how beneficial the use of the heart rate monitor is for a session like this? I think you were reasonably happy with our efforts on the day. Was this backed up by the data collected? If one of the other guys had worn the monitor during that session, and perhaps not reaches as high a heart rate, would you still have been as happy?

    I guess what I’m asking is how much faith do you place in the readings and what specifically are you looking for them to tell you?

  4. Matt said
    I dunno, have you seen The Hulk pound the pavement? that looks pretty cool!
    Yes but do you think it is better than when The Thing pounds the pavement?

    Hugh Hogan said
    Can you describe how beneficial the use of the heart rate monitor is for a session like this?
    As I said…I’d prefer to have everyone strapped up with one but having an individual strapped up is better than none. It is mainly useful as an indicator.

    I think you were reasonably happy with our efforts on the day.
    How could you tell. I was mainly in a good mode at the end because I think I witnessed what may have been the slowest warm down in the history of training

    Was this backed up by the data collected?
    Yes, it was exactly what I would have predicted. Including the escalation of average heart rate within each set and the decrease in recovery between sets.

    If one of the other guys had worn the monitor during that session, and perhaps not reaches as high a heart rate, would you still have been as happy?
    Most definitely. It would have been the same graph…or should I say the same shape of graph just set at different levels. The reason that I prefer using time rather than distance is that everyone gets essentially the same effect out of it. If I asked Brophy and Rhonda to run 400m for example…Brophy might do it strongly in 60 seconds whereas that might take Rhonda 90 seconds (if he actually survived). Now if I am saying lets say we are doing a group session of 400’s with 2 minute recoveries you can see the problem…Brophy and a bunch of the lads are working 1 minute on 2 minutes off while Rhonda and Chops are doing 90 seconds on and 90 seconds off. That’s a completely different session. If I say 1 minute on and 2 minutes off then Brophy, Chops, Rhonda and everyone else all do what they can do in a minute and all get the same session done.

    I guess what I’m asking is how much faith do you place in the readings and what specifically are you looking for them to tell you?
    I place a lot of faith in the readings… after all when has technology ever failed anyone. I’m looking to see that the intensity that I’m after is there and that what I am seeing with my eyes is being replicated in the data.

Leave a Reply

