Run Forrest Run

Two running groups tonight…one group doing primarily fitness and the other doing speed work (which was actually fitness…but don’t tell them that). Here are the two sessions.

3 minutes easy run…the 2 minutes of mobililty and flexibility work

40 seconds hard run 20 seconds recovery run

30 seconds hard run 30 seconds recovery run

20 seconds hard run 40 seconds recovery run

They did 3 of these sets back to back for a complete block then they took a 1 minute water break.

They did 3 of these blocks in total….so that’s 35 minutes in the session in total.

Logi's response to his pitch conditioning session

Logi's response to his pitch conditioning session

The other session looked like this:

This session took about 30 minutes as well.

This is what I think conditioning work should look like…if I sent these guys out to run for 35minutes they’d be bored to death. The intensity would be rubbish. I’ve also never seen a sport played at a single velocity…these sessions had constant changes in velocity…acceleration, deceleration and changes in direction. I bet if I took a 100 athletes that I’ve coached that have done these conditioning sessions and who’ve just ran laps…I bet every single one of them would actually rather do my sessions any day…I bet if any of you did them as well you’d rather do mine…the other thing I bet is that doing my sessions you’ve no idea how much time has passed and how long you have to go…you are just counting intervals down and doing a 35min run you’d feel every second passing. As I think we’ve established…each to his own. Maybe you’d prefer to just go out and run 35 minutes. I know what I think my lads prefer and what I think provides a better bang for my buck time wise.

The Womens Rugby

500m row/Stretch/500m row/Stretch

1A Chest Supported Scap Rows – 2×8

1B Inverted Shrugs

DB Floor Press – 2 w/u x8, 5×5

Band Assisted Pull Ups – 5×12

Straight Arm DB Sit Ups – 5×8

Elevated Split Squats – 4×8 each side

Leg Curls – 3×8

Rower – 10 sets of 100m effort with 45 second recovery between efforts.

Damian Tested

Weighed in a 110kg and benched the same. The did 10 pull ups, 44 push ups, 31 inverted rows and trap bar deadlifted 170kg.

8 thoughts on “Run Forrest Run

  1. Thanks for the insight Will,

    Ive always believed if you can kill perception of time during conditioning sessions your onto a winner, if an athlete is willing away time and wanting it to end like you said, effort is pants and they’re not likey to want to do it again (or they’ll secretly hate you).

    Reading your blog reminds me I really need to aquire a trap deadlift bar

  2. Michaelsullivan64 said
    Sexy hand mate
    Thanks mate…I’ve always felt that way as well.

    Will Wayland said
    Thanks for the insight Will,

    Ive always believed if you can kill perception of time during conditioning sessions your onto a winner, if an athlete is willing away time and wanting it to end like you said, effort is pants and they’re not likey to want to do it again (or they’ll secretly hate you).
    I absolutely agree with you. One of the keys to coaching is being able to engage with your athletes in such away that they’ll do want you want them to do. I don’t say that flippantly either. They do want I tell them to do because they know that we are doing it for a reason. No matter how much they may hate it or wish we were doing something else.

    Reading your blog reminds me I really need to aquire a trap deadlift bar
    If you are looking for one try Mick Keo at Irish Lifting (http://www.irish-lifting.com/) that’s where I got my Trap Bar from…and if you are speaking to him tell him I still have that money I owe him.

    Damian said
    So Will, where do we go from this testing?
    I’m still thinking about it. I intend devote a whole 5 minutes to you exclusively before I go back to work this afternoon.

  3. Still hoping you will blog about how you go from having an athlete without any conditioning to an athlete with good conditioning/endurance? what about those ‘different’ ideas you had about (mixed)martial arts conditioning? 🙂

    Do you use the 6×30/30 drill/test with all your athletes to asses their current condition and progress? what kind of scores do you see as good?

    yes yes, questions questions questions 🙂

  4. Angelo Pollice said
    Still hoping you will blog about how you go from having an athlete without any conditioning to an athlete with good conditioning/endurance? what about those ‘different’ ideas you had about (mixed)martial arts conditioning?
    I will totally do that.

    Do you use the 6×30/30 drill/test with all your athletes to asses their current condition and progress?
    Yes, but that’s mainly because I don’t like people very much.

    what kind of scores do you see as good?
    See this is the thing…I don’t have to be a ‘generalist’ in my job. I train a lot of athletes but not so many that I can’t treat each of them as an individual. I treat there scores as such…I also work with a lot of different sports…so what’s a good score for rugby might be an excellent score for GAA. I am more interested in comparing peoples scores to their previous ones over time. That ‘6×30/30 drill/test’ you’re referring to is done on the rower but also done running. I made you a little explanatory video for you. I’ll post a link to it here where it is uploaded.

    yes yes, questions questions questions
    You keep asking them and I’ll keep answering them.

    Ian Mellis said
    Could be an interesting one- take a completely untrained couch potato with no genetic potential to the world of international sport- should be quite easy in Ireland!
    I’ve done close to that. I’ve also taken elite athletes and turned them into couch potato’s which is sooooo much easier.

Leave a Reply

