Olympic Lifting Technique – Jerk Demo Series

People seem to be under the delusion that I am anti-Olympic lifting. Far from it. I love Olympic lifting and where appropriate it is a brilliant tool for your coaching and training tool box. I think the problem is that people think that Olympic lifting is the be all and do all of training for sport…it’s not. I have people that can’t do 3 chin ups that want to do Olympic lifting…that’s just stupid.

Any way I wanted to post these videos up as I think it would be a good resource for those of you that are involved in coaching Olympic lifting and or use the lifts in training.

I’ll throw in the disclamer here and I’ll make each of the lift series individual posts just so it’ll be easier for people to find later on.

Now the lads that did these video wrote a disclaimer but it was absolute crap…they have an even more tenuous grasp of the English language than I have. So I’ve written my own

My Disclaimer of their Disclaimer: This is part of a series of drills to help troubleshoot some popular beginner mistakes with the Olympic lifts. The approach used is based on their synthesis from various coaches they’ve worked with or read about. These videos are not meant to be an all encompassing layout of the Olympic lifts, its just an evolving teaching tool.

This is just one way of teaching the lifts. It isn’t the best nor is it the worst…it’s just a way of teaching them. If you want to get onto the guys that made the videos you can go to their website and check them out for yourselves.

Part 1: Setting up

Part 2: Dipping

Part 3: Drive and Catch

Part 4: Jerk Balances

Part 5: Other Types of Jerks

Part 6: Other Jerk Assistance

4 thoughts on “Olympic Lifting Technique – Jerk Demo Series

  1. Man youve really pumped out alot of posts the last days, sweet! Regarding the seminar, I was wondering if you’r selling anything, like Iron Woody bands for example? 🙂

  2. Joel said
    Man youve really pumped out alot of posts the last days, sweet!
    I think it was Lyle maybe or it might have been someone else…I don’t remember…but I can remember that someone told me last summer that I should only post once a week because I will run out of stuff to talk about. I’ve a ‘To-Do’ list and an ideas list that if I stopped adding to it today I’d have enough stuff to do and post about for a good few months.

    Regarding the seminar, I was wondering if you’r selling anything, like Iron Woody bands for example?
    I don’t actually sell anything except coaching.

  3. Your memory is as bad as your punctuation. I didn’t say ‘once per week’ I cautioned you against updating the blog 3 times per day which you were doing in your initial enthusiasm. For at least two reasons:

    1. Eventually even your wordiness will run out of stuff to talk about.
    2. The reality is that most people only check blogs once per day. If you’re updating 3 times per day, they will be likely to miss posts.

    By contrast, if you’d actually make a post and leave it up for more than 6 hours before adding another one, more than 12 people might actually get a chance to see it.

    Lyle

  4. Lyle said
    Your memory is as bad as your punctuation.
    Is that possible?

    I didn’t say ‘once per week’ I cautioned you against updating the blog 3 times per day which you were doing in your initial enthusiasm. For at least two reasons:

    1. Eventually even your wordiness will run out of stuff to talk about.
    2. The reality is that most people only check blogs once per day. If you’re updating 3 times per day, they will be likely to miss posts.

    By contrast, if you’d actually make a post and leave it up for more than 6 hours before adding another one, more than 12 people might actually get a chance to see it.
    I do remember you saying all that…it was actually someone else that told me once a week or a couple of times at most would be a better strategy…which is probably correct. I’ve basically settled on blogging pretty much when I have time to and I’ll have more time in the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

