Principles of Strength and Conditioning

I am putting on my seminar on the 7th and 8th of February 2009. It is going to go ahead even if only 1 person shows up. I’m going to come back to post and fill out all the details and specifics so check back here if you are interested in attending. I just wanted to ‘announce’ it because I said I would set a date before Christmas.

So you have your date now…more information to come.

Proposed Seminar Format


Introduction to Strength and Conditioning for Athletes
I want the seminar to focus on preparing athletes of all types from all sports and I’m going to deal with everything from the generalities to the specifics of all the sports and athletes with whom I work.

Screening and Functional Movement Analysis
I am going to try and rope in a lot of the sports professionals with whom I work to cover very specific elements like this. Essentially everyone who is attending who is able will have a screening done and also perform them. It’ll be a case of learning by doing.

Strength Testing and Fitness Assessment
I am going to drag a large number of athletes in by scheduling by mere coincidence their strength testing and fitness assessments to coincide with the seminar and once again…everyone who is able will do a full strength test and fitness assessment.

We’ll then be able to look at the data we have and use that as a basis for much of the rest of the seminar.

We’ll go into what the results mean and how to interpret them as a reference point for the information to come.

Strength Training Theory
I’m going to go through the basic principles of strength training but more importantly I want to discuss what all this theory means in practice.

Getting Our Pump On
As part of all this we are also going to TRAIN…we’re ALL going to go through fundamental exercises, focusing on technique and the coaching points important to coaches and athletes.

That essentially will be the Saturday…I think we will have a proper catered lunch and dinner and drinks in the bar afterwards…so people can basically come for the day…bring their change of clothes for the night. There is plenty of accommodation nearby so a short taxi ride will be all that is needed for those out of towners and locals alike.

The Sunday will go something as follows…

Program Construction
This will be an opportunity for me to present my fundamental training theory…the how and why of what I actually do.
We’ll then actually design some programs based on ours or others results from the previous day.
We can then examine and critique the various training options that we come up with.

Conditioning Theory
As with the strength training portion we’ll go through very basic theory but focus more on the actual ‘take home’ points.

Getting our Sweat On
This will be acceleration, agility and speed session primarily but we’ll also cover conditioning and field based conditioning games.

We’ll wrap up with lunch and a good Q&A that will basically go on as long as needs be or until people get bored and start drifting away and I am left talking to myself.

Accommodation
When people have visited before they stayed at Bewley’s at Sandyford/Leopardstown and I think people were pretty happy with that in the past. Maybe Ian could chime in and let people know how he found it?
Here is another venue that Damian found which is only a few minutes from the gym…The Bridge House. Accomodation in Dublin should be plentiful and reasonably cheap at the moment…I wouldn’t imagine occupancy rates are ‘maxed out’ at the moment.

Seminar Cost
The seminar is going to cost €105…I pulled this figure basically out of my hole. It is what I charge for a consultation and program and is half the price I plan on charging for this seminar the next time I do it.
Now…you don’t have to pay in advance for the seminar. In fact if you want to shaft me or it brings joy to your life to stick it to people who want to help you or you can’t afford (or can justify to yourself not being able to afford it while sinking piss at a cost of €5+ a pint) then feel free not to pay at all. One of the things I’ve always been happy about is that my father always taught me that it is better to be screwed than do the screwing…I know my American friends won’t understand that at all…and I know for sure that my Irish friends DEFINITELY won’t get that…now that I think of it…not many people will probably get it…but I am fine with being taken advantage of or in being done over by somebody….BUT it will only ever happen once. So basically…pay or don’t pay….come or don’t come…I really don’t give a shit. As the people that know me will freely tell you…you can’t actually pay me enough money to work or help people who don’t want to help themselves. If you do want to come and you do want to pay for it I am going to make sure you get all the information and help you want to the extent that it will be you that has to ask me to shut up or pretends to get something out of your car so you can slip away from me.

Attendees
I don’t want to ‘out’ anyone who is coming but I thought I would create a list of attendees and put you guys on a mailing list so everyone who is going has everyone else’s email addresses etc so you can sort out travel and accommodation between you all.

So far I know that the following are attending:
Joel (Sweden)
Ian Mellis (UK)
Damien Martin (IRL)
Dwain McGuinness (IRL)
Alan Lavin (IRL)
John Hanley (IRL)
Don Lehane (IRL)
Padraic Monaghan (IRL)
Sami Nybom (FIN)
Damian Griffin (IRL)
Barry Ogelsby (IRL)

Well that’s it so far. It looks like it is going to be a far bigger success than I ever imagined.

The following are people I suspect might attend:
Amir
Vinny

So if you want to go on the ‘are’ or ‘might’ be attending lists then drop me a mail. It isn’t going to be a massive seminar…mainly because I don’t want it to be and partly because my personality should drive off the majority of those that are contemplating possibly attending. So before anyone gets too carried away I think those out of towners that are coming should compare notes. Staying in the same hotel would be a good start. The way I think things should go is that we kick of around 10am on Saturday…break for lunch…finish in the afternoon and then train…we can then shit, shave and shower (that’s just my proposed order…it works for me…if someone has a better order feel free to let me know…it’s all about learning) then go and have some dinner and a few beverages. Sunday morning we’ll kick of again 10am and finish early in the afternoon. I’m pretty flexible…I’ve a good idea of all the material that I want to cover to make the seminar a stand alone event and to tie the whole lot together…the timing is pretty much up to all those that attend and I’m will to put it to a vote if neccessary so long as you all realise that I have the deciding vote.

17 thoughts on “Principles of Strength and Conditioning

  1. Barry Oglesby said…
    Count me in.
    Good. I think you’ll get a lot out of it.

    You can guinea pig me too if you want.
    Feed you pellets and clean out your cage you mean?

  2. Are you going to cover the testing and assessing stuff you did during the Dan John(athon) in Utah. I found it to be very useful.

  3. Michael Sullivan said…
    Are you going to cover the testing and assessing stuff you did during the Dan John(athon) in Utah. I found it to be very useful.
    Yes…only in more detail an with more background information…and I’m going to be completely sober.

  4. Joel Hallstrom said…
    Im coming!
    That’ll make 2 people…it’s already become a far bigger success than I could ever have hoped for.

    lylemcd said…
    So you have about 5 weeks to learn what proper technique is then…
    That’s a lot more time than a lot of guru’s on the internet have spent learning proper technique so I should be fine.

    Anonymous said…
    Coming in from Pakistan. When are you putting up rates so I can buy a seat?

    Amir Siddiqui
    So that makes three. Yippee.
    There are a couple of things that I need to get information back on before I name my price. It is not going to be anything outrageous though.

  5. Unless the guru you are referring are possessing something, it’s

    gurus
    not
    guru’s

    Sheesh, you can’t even talk rightly, how could you possibly coach anybody of note?

    Lyle

  6. Take it from one of your Irish friends, you’re shafting yourself, even if everyone pays you’re still shafting yourself. Do you know how much Poloquin charges for some generic qualification over the same time period? About 8 times as much that’s what.

    But hey, keep on keeping on cos I really like getting things at a bargain. I heard they’ve got a recession on right now. Doesn’t affect me though cos I was broke in the boom time anyway.

  7. Barry Oglesby said…
    Take it from one of your Irish friends, you’re shafting yourself, even if everyone pays you’re still shafting yourself.
    I know. I basically just want to give this seminar a test run and cover the costs of getting it all set up.

    Do you know how much Poloquin charges for some generic qualification over the same time period? About 8 times as much that’s what.
    I can imagine…and I’m sure it’s worth every cent.

    But hey, keep on keeping on cos I really like getting things at a bargain. I heard they’ve got a recession on right now. Doesn’t affect me though cos I was broke in the boom time anyway.
    As I said…this seminar will basically be the coming together of all the ‘little’ seminars that I’ve given previously…it’ll be a very different format and a very different style of seminar and I’m not sure how it is going to work. I’m not ‘promoting’ it…I want the people who come to be there for the right reasons. I think it will be excellent naturally and I’ll be happy if all those that attend think it was an absolute bargain.

  8. Hi Will, I’ve booked flights and the hotel suggested so you can move one over from the “not sure” to the “definite” list! Is the recommended hotel far from where the event is taking place? Thanks, Ian

  9. You might want to try the shit, shower, shave method. A hot shower usually prepares your face for a nice shave. But then again, I’m super gay, so who knows.

  10. Ian Mellis said…
    Hi Will, I’ve booked flights and the hotel suggested so you can move one over from the “not sure” to the “definite” list!
    That’s great news…the attendee list has grown 100% overnight…my marketing is starting to really pay off. Drop me a mail mate so I can put you on the mailing list….along with Joel.

    Is the recommended hotel far from where the event is taking place?
    It is about 10 minutes away. It is also on my way from work to the gym so there’s a pretty good chance that I’ll swing buy and pick up whoever happens to be staying there…ie at this stage all 2 of you.

  11. Ive booked my flight tickets as well now. Have not booked hotel yet, since I friend might want to join, but I will book room later this evening.
    Looking forward to the seminar!!!

Leave a Reply

