Is it still torture if someone wants you to hurt them?

Barry’s session today:

Bike – 5mins easy

Rower – 4x500m with 60 sec recovery between efforts…near on max effort.

1A Bent Over Barbell Rows
1B Barbell Push Press

He got 32 reps of each in 10 minutes with 40kg…and we also tweaked something in his neck/trap as well….we had to work a little frontier medicine to sort it out…we sorted it out.

Rower – 4x500m as above….was what was in his program…he did 1x500m wasn’t comfortable with his neck so I got him onto a bike and had him do a 1min 30 sec effort on level 10….which made him realise the rower wasn’t so bad after all and he did his last 2x500m on the rower.

2A Close Grip Bench Press
2B Close Grip Lat Pulldown

He got 49 reps of each in 10 minutes.

Rower – 4x500m with 60 second recovery between efforts giving whatever he had left….which wasn’t much…but enough to keep all his times under 2minute 500’s.

3A Bicep Curls
3B Hanging Leg Raises
3C Overhead Tricep Extensions
3D Standing Ab Pulldowns

He did 60 reps of each in 10 minutes…we used 30kg on the bi’s, tri’s and ab pull downs.

We finished with a max effort 500m on the rower.

When he’s fit…he’ll do 50 reps of each on the first block and 100 reps of each on the second and third blocks…so he’s got a bit of work to do…have no doubt in my mind that he’ll get there though.

He had a 2min 30sec transition between the cardio and strength blocks and vice versa as well.


This is what this session looked like…heart rate wise…I’m sure Barry will tell you what it felt like…near death experience wise.

9 thoughts on “Is it still torture if someone wants you to hurt them?

  1. All this barry stuff has made me quite curious how his next fight will go.

    When is it scheduled barry?
    Do you already know vs who it is?

    Onto why I am really making this comment.. πŸ™‚

    First a reminder ’bout u saying you were going to tell/explain a bit about how you use the rower for conditioning.
    Second some specific questions which kinda relate to the reminder:
    – why 4x500m with 60s? what is the reason behind the distance/time, reps and rest?
    -the resistence/kg used during the strength blocks, are these 1RM% related or (again same question:) what is the rational behind those kg?

    thnx
    Angelo

  2. Fight’s not confirmed yet but first quarter of next year.

    The first set of rows the lactic killed me. While my times went down on the second ones they were more constant. If I had to say which ones felt worse, I’d have to say the second though as by that stage I was pretty fuct.

  3. Angelo Pollice said…
    All this barry stuff has made me quite curious how his next fight will go.
    Don’t worry…I’ll be over him in a week or two and will move onto to someone else…not that I’ll stop training him…just that the focus of the blog tends to go in cycles.

    When is it scheduled barry?
    Do you already know vs who it is?

    Onto why I am really making this comment.. πŸ™‚

    First a reminder ’bout u saying you were going to tell/explain a bit about how you use the rower for conditioning.
    I hate that shit. Can I just give you a reference and send you off to read a book?

    Second some specific questions which kinda relate to the reminder:
    – why 4x500m with 60s? what is the reason behind the distance/time, reps and rest?
    -the resistence/kg used during the strength blocks, are these 1RM% related or (again same question:) what is the rational behind those kg?
    This is the stuff I hate…because I don’t want to ‘lecture’ people…I don’t want this blog to be like all those other ones…there’s heaps of those type of blogs out there. If I wanted to write articles I would…but I don’t so I won’t.

    I’ll make a semi exception in this case…because I am not saying to you…’don’t ask questions’…I’m just saying I don’t want to discuss exercise physiology because it is as boring as can be.

    So here goes:
    1. The 4 x500m…firstly…it was too long…Barry’s ‘quality’ wasn’t as high here as I wanted it to be…but I’ll live with it. Next time he does 500’s I will give him a ‘pace’ guideline to fix this.
    I choose 4x500m because I thought this would be 10 minutes of work…it was for the 1st set but by the 3rd set it was a couple of minutes more. So that was a fail…and was my fault…but sometimes you have to suck it and see.
    2. The 60 second rest period….well that’s how long there is between rounds when fighting…I want to see how fast he can recover between near maximal efforts.
    3. The weights were a guess…and he got round about what I thought he would and more importantly…it elicited the response that I was looking for…a mix between exhaustion and terror…I wanted it to be hard but doable.

    So in short…keep asking questions by all means but don’t be expecting me to give you a presentation on the effects of high intensity interval training on cardiovascular function…much smarter people can do that for you…and it’s been done to death.

    Matt said…
    how did the first round of 500m’s compare with the second?
    They went rapidly downhill. Faster than I wanted and by more than I wanted…live and learn…I bit off more than Barry was ready to chew.

    Barry Oglesby said…
    Fight’s not confirmed yet but first quarter of next year.
    Can’t wait. To see the shape you’re in when that fight comes around.

    The first set of rows the lactic killed me. While my times went down on the second ones they were more constant. If I had to say which ones felt worse, I’d have to say the second though as by that stage I was pretty fuct.
    So fucked that you forgot that you did 3 lots of rows with the flat out 500m at the end?

  4. So fucked that you forgot that you did 3 lots of rows with the flat out 500m at the end?Oh yeah. They all just merged into one hellish vision I suppose.

    I’d agree with your assertion that I’m not quite there yet by the way!!!! BUt when this session comes up again I’m going to be a little better at it. Stupid thing was that afterwards all osrts of stuff was running through my head like “oh that’s cos I had that half glass of wine with my dinner last night” and “maybe it was the eggs for breakfast.

    But that’s all bollocks I’m just not in shape right now.

  5. I really need a few options that can replace your rower exercises. Any ideas? Here's some of the gear we've got … sledge/tyre, med ball, muay thai pads/mitts, logs, rocks, kettlebells, club (well, old car axle), sandbags (50kg & 25 kg), sled and harness, olympic rings, dumb bell and bar bell, and thick rope.

    I think I can work out reasonable options for most of your other exercises

    πŸ™‚

  6. Barry Oglesby said…
    Oh yeah. They all just merged into one hellish vision I suppose.
    I’ll always be there to remind you.

    I’d agree with your assertion that I’m not quite there yet by the way!!!! BUt when this session comes up again I’m going to be a little better at it. Stupid thing was that afterwards all osrts of stuff was running through my head like “oh that’s cos I had that half glass of wine with my dinner last night” and “maybe it was the eggs for breakfast.

    But that’s all bollocks I’m just not in shape right now.
    I know that feeling…but we’ll both sort that out. We are going to have some absolute nightmarish sessions in the future when we have the engine and chassis to really do some serious work.

    kira said…
    I really need a few options that can replace your rower exercises. Any ideas?
    Plenty…any high intensity amaerobic work…today we were aiming for about 1min 30-45sec with each interval and a total of 10 min of work in each block.

    Here's some of the gear we've got … sledge/tyre, med ball, muay thai pads/mitts, logs, rocks, kettlebells, club (well, old car axle), sandbags (50kg & 25 kg), sled and harness, olympic rings, dumb bell and bar bell, and thick rope.
    You’ve endless options then.

    I think I can work out reasonable options for most of your other exercises.
    I have every faith in you…go forth and make peoples lives a misery…especially your own.

  7. Will Heffernan said…
    I hate that shit. Can I just give you a reference and send you off to read a book?

    Plz do. It will probably save us both a lot of time. (and I really mean; give me some book references and I will go read ‘m)

    Really appreciate the semi exception though πŸ™‚

  8. thanks for clarifying about the rower options … If all it has to be is high intensity exercises then I’ve got endless options …

    speaking of which … get Barry to show you how to do continuous round kicks on the thai pads …

    http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=aG9caHEtaEU

    You should be able to do 20 continuous kicks (try 5 reps per side x 4) in 15-20 secs …

    We’ve tried this a few times now (using your 10 set template). I think you’d really enjoy it πŸ™‚

    K

Leave a Reply

