Day 15-21

Just quick lunchtime post to kick the week off.

Didn’t get a chance to do my video fat log this morning as I had cold and angry clients to take care of down at Dun Laoghaire Harbour…it is well and truly winter now. So it was a near freezing start to the morning…then a pile of paperwork and other work to take care of…a small amount of annoying people on the internet…then out for a bit more work and back now for some chicken and to regroup for work this afternoon and MMA training tonight.

Training is going REALLY well and so is my nutrition. Training is actually going better than expected…I’m am getting through a tonne of quality work and feel great while I’m at it.

I am thinking of riding my bike when work and time permits to and from MMA training just to get some extra low intensity steady state cardiovascular work in. Ride over earlier so I have a chance to have a stretch and refuel before MMA training. It’s a 40-45km round trip…done a few times a week it should whip a bit more fat off.

Nutrition wise…I am going to keep doing what I did last week. Keep the calories and the carbs low during the week and then eat ‘normally’ (for normally…read high calories and higher carbs) from Friday night till Sunday morning.

I weighed in yesterday at 109.9kg (and I have a witness) so I am expecting to be around 110-112kg this evening at training…which I am sure all the guys I’m training with on the mat will be glad to hear.

I’m not going to do a fat log video every week…mainly because it’ll pretty much look exactly the same and because the internet can only cope with so much fat.

I weighed in at 111.4kg tonight at training. That is down from 117.3kg on day 1 and 113.7kg last week. So pretty much steady as she goes and pretty much bang on what I had planned. I will do a fat log vid next week because if things go as planned I should be under 110kg and hopefully we’ll be able to see some visible differences.

Food Log
I’m not going to keep a food log because I am pretty much sticking to the same pattern as I said above. Today for example I had a few of legs of chicken during the day and that was it. I had some EvoPro before I left training tonight. Now that I am back I’m having some mince beef (bolognese sauce), cheese, and a potato (after 4.5hrs training…I deserve a carb or 20). That’s it…I’ll stick to that sort of pattern through the week and then bang a bit more into me between Friday night and Sunday morning.

Training Log
Monday
24.8km/55 minute ride to training…average heart rate 151 bpm.
2.5 hrs MMA Training.
25.2km/55 minute ride home from training…average heart rate 141 bpm.

Tuesday
2.5 hrs MMA Training.

Wednesday
Bike – 5 mins

Rower – 5x500m with 60 second recovery between efforts…flat out…I found out that my max heart rate isn’t 180bpm as I thought…I didn’t find out painlessly either.

10 min work block of Barbell Rows and Push Presses with 60kg…I did 50 reps of each.

Rower – 5x500m with 60 second recovery between efforts.

10 min work block of Bench Press and Lat Pulldowns with 60kgs…I did 80 reps of each.

Rower – 5x500m with 60 second recovery between efforts.

10 min work block of Bicep Curls and Overhead Tricep Extensions with 30kgs…I did 90 reps of each.

Bike – 30 minutes

5 sets of 15 Heavy Standing Ab Pulldowns

Did I mention that all the rowing work was done ‘max effort’ and that I only took 2.5 minutes to get between rower and work block…except for the after the first rower effort after which I took 5 minutes…I am feeling so much better every session.

Thursday
25km/55 minute ride to training…average heart rate 142 bpm.
1 hr MMA Training.
25km/52 minute ride home from training…average heart rate 138 bpm.

Friday
48 minute ride to work…average heart rate 135bpm.
41 minute ride home from work…average heart rate 122bpm.

Saturday
41 minute ride to work……average heart rate 141bpm.
Lower Body Mobility Work
*Over & Unders
*Deep Elevated Splits Squats
Upper Body Mobility Work
*Scap Pull Ups
*Scap Push Ups

1A Neutral Grip Pull Ups – 5×5
1B Elevated Push Ups – 5×15

2A Natural Glute Ham Raises – 5×5
2B Alternating Hanging Leg Raises (to bar) – 5×8

3A Single Arm Cable Rows – 5×10
3B Single Arm DB Press – 5×10

4A Trap Bar Shrugs – 3×10
4B Ezy Bar Bicep Curls – 3×10
4C Close Grip Bench – 3×10

40 minute ride home from work……average heart rate 135bpm.

Sunday
37 minute ride to work…average heart rate 149bpm. Rode harder today rather than just pedalling along. Legs were quite fatigued.

60 minute circuit/conditioning session. Took it easy today. Didn’t push to hard. More to loosen out and had a good stretch at the end. Feeling good.

11 thoughts on “Day 15-21

  1. Matt said…
    taking in any fuel during training?
    No. I’ve found that eating even a couple of hours prior to getting punched, kneed and kicked in the stomach is not conducive to a good training session.

    I do need to sort something out…just with regard to optimising performance. I am going to try both of these Nutri-Grain Elevenses Raisin or Nutri-Grain Soft Bake Blueberry after my ride to training and before fight training…to get something calorie/carb dense into me prior to training.

    During weights and conditioning work in the gym I’ve just been sipping away at a couple of scoops of EvoPro.

    I don’t think Lyle has fully bought into me training seriously to fight…in fact we have a wager to that effect. After I win I am going to claim my win in consultancy and get him to help me optimise my nutrition. By the time that comes around I think a regular and distinct pattern will have formed training wise and my diet has already got pretty uniform week to week.

  2. lylemcd said…
    I thought I was buying you sexy fight man-panties IF I lose the bet?
    You can buy those as well…there’ll be plenty left over after I get my consultation.

  3. lylemcd said…
    So you’re saying that my nutritional advice is worth about $1 US then
    I would be wiliing to pay anything up to that amount.

  4. yeah muesli bars and the like are pretty easy to get down and dont take much room and I’ve used them in the past myself.

    I really dont like training ‘heavy’, its a fine line at times b/w fuelled and feeling heavy

  5. Matt said…
    yeah muesli bars and the like are pretty easy to get down and dont take much room and I’ve used them in the past myself.
    I went with a blueberry muffin an hour before training….should of made it 90 minutes. I felt much better…the quality of my training was much better that is.

    I really dont like training ‘heavy’, its a fine line at times b/w fuelled and feeling heavy.
    I’m the same…will try 90 minutes before training next time and report back.

Leave a Reply

