Barry’s first session

I am going to do this session myself this evening just to warm it up for Barry in the morning.

Bike 5 minute (Level 5)
Begin at 8 minutes:
10x100m with 30 second recovery between efforts.
5 minutes – Lower Body & Upper Body Mobility Work.
Begin at 23 minutes:
Block 1
1A Trap Deadlift (80kg)
1B Pull Ups (BW)
1C Push Ups (BW)
Time=10 minutes complete as many sets as possible.
Set Ratio: 2:1:4
Begin at 35 minutes:
10x100m with 45 second recovery between efforts.
Begin at 48 minutes:
Block 2
2A 20kg KB Squats
2B Inverted Rows
2C KB Overhead Press (each arm)
Time=10 minutes complete as many sets as possible.
Set Ratio: 2:1:1
Begin at 62 minutes:
10x100m with 60 second recovery between efforts.
Finished at 75 minutes.

So this session will take less than 75 minutes from start to finish. You’ll see the time markers I am going to make sure that we stick with those so we can see our heart rate responses overlayed and compare work done and heart rate response and also to see how we are doing when we complete this session again in 3 weeks time.


Me doing the same session Barry is going to do tomorrow.

I made a few adjustments to the session…I did 100kg on the deadlift and went 4, 2 and 8 reps in the first block. I got 8 sets done in 10 minutes.

In the second block I went 8, 8 and 4 reps. I got 8 sets done in 10 minutes with 3 seconds to spare.


This will give you an idea of the heart rate distribution.

We’ll see how Barry get’s on tomorrow.

Well…this is how he got on this morning. I’ll post all the heart rate data and vids when I get home from work and training tonight.


This is what this session will do to your heart…be warned.

Row 1: 10x100m with 30 second recoveries.
17.1
17.3
17.9
18.5
18.8
18.9
19.0
19.8
19.3
19.5
Time = 3:05.8
Av 500m = 1:32.9

He still looked relatively composed at this stage…I think this was about the 6th and 7th interval.

Weights Block 1
Total = 22 Trap Bar Deadlifts, 11 Pull Ups and 44 Push Ups.

Row 2: 10x100m with 45 second recoveries.
18.9
19.2
19.0
19.6
19.3
19.7
19.3
19.6
19.4
18.9
Time = 3:12.8
Av 500m = 1:36.4

Weights Block 2
Total = 40 KB Squats, 20 Inverted Rows, 20 KB Shoulder Presses (each arm)

Row 3: 10x100m with 60 second recoveries.
18.7
18.6
18.2
19.0
19.0
19.1
19.9
19.1
19.0
18.6
Time = 3:09.3
Av 500m = 1:34.6

Can you believe this bastard had the gall to say that I make a lot of noise when I wrestle? Look at this mess of an individual!


Here’s Barry’s heart rate distribution for his session.

17 thoughts on “Barry’s first session

  1. Sufferring from a cold so I was thinking about having an early night tonight with a Lemsip. But I think I’ll actually go to bed now…

  2. Damian Griffin said…
    Oh i’d love to watch this 75 minunte show. Would be worth every second !!!!
    I’ll be sure 2 film bits of it… particularly near the end.

    Barry Oglesby said…
    Sufferring from a cold so I was thinking about having an early night tonight with a Lemsip. But I think I’ll actually go to bed now…
    Getting your excuses AND your moaning in simultaneously…you really have some talent.

  3. 😀
    I enjoy reading the blog and I enjoy reading the comments even more 🙂

    2 questions I hope you (will or anyone else for that matter) would like to answer though;

    -‘Set Ratio: 2:1:4’ is this how the reps are divided per set?
    or am i hallucinating

    -when rowing (conditioning training or testing) do you set the machine on a specific resistence?

    thx

  4. Angelo Pollice said…
    I enjoy reading the blog
    You are talking about THIS blog right?

    and I enjoy reading the comments even more 🙂
    That’s just because most of them are made by me…that keeps the average quality of the comments extremely high.

    2 questions I hope you (will or anyone else for that matter) would like to answer though;

    -‘Set Ratio: 2:1:4’ is this how the reps are divided per set?
    Yes, for every 2 deadlifts you do 1 pull up and 4 push ups. I did my sets as 4 deadlifts, 2 pull ups and 8 push ups…you follow?

    or am i hallucinating
    You may very well be…what have you taken?

    -when rowing (conditioning training or testing) do you set the machine on a specific resistence?
    Yes, we dial it all the way up to 11.

    thx

  5. On the C2s it doesn’t make difference what level it’s at if you’re doing a distance like 100m. Level 10 will get you to 100m in less strokes, and level 1 will require more strokes to get you there.

    Lookee it’s midnight and I’m still not in bed. What level of tool am I?

  6. Okay, so I gotta tweak this a bit if I’m going to try it (I haven’t got a bike or a trap bar).

    Can I replace the bike blocks with running? Skipping? Mitt/padwork? Are you using the bike to develop the bodies ability to repeat maximum efforts?

    Anyway, how does this look?

    5 minute warm up.
    [Whatever exercise replaces biking]

    3 minute rest.

    10 minute sprint work
    10 x (30 sec sprint, 30 sec recovery).
    [Whatever exercise replaces biking]

    5 minute mobility work

    Standard deadlift 80 kg x 4 reps
    Pull ups x 2 reps
    Push ups x 8 reps
    Repeat for ten minutes

    2 minutes rest

    12:30 minute sprint work
    10 x (30 sec sprint, 45 sec recovery)
    [Whatever exercise replaces biking]

    2:30 minutes rest

    KB squats x 4 reps
    Inverted rows x 2 reps
    KB overhead press x 2 reps
    Repeat for 10 minutes

    2 min rest

    15 minute sprint work
    10×30 sec sprint, 60 sec recovery)
    [Whatever exercise replaces biking]

    Close enough or not?

  7. kira said…
    Okay, so I gotta tweak this a bit if I’m going to try it (I haven’t got a bike or a trap bar).

    Can I replace the bike blocks with running? Skipping? Mitt/padwork? Are you using the bike to develop the bodies ability to repeat maximum efforts?

    Anyway, how does this look?

    5 minute warm up.
    [Whatever exercise replaces biking]

    3 minute rest.

    10 minute sprint work
    10 x (30 sec sprint, 30 sec recovery).
    [Whatever exercise replaces biking]

    5 minute mobility work

    Standard deadlift 80 kg x 4 reps
    Pull ups x 2 reps
    Push ups x 8 reps
    Repeat for ten minutes

    2 minutes rest

    12:30 minute sprint work
    10 x (30 sec sprint, 45 sec recovery)
    [Whatever exercise replaces biking]

    2:30 minutes rest

    KB squats x 4 reps
    Inverted rows x 2 reps
    KB overhead press x 2 reps
    Repeat for 10 minutes

    2 min rest

    15 minute sprint work
    10×30 sec sprint, 60 sec recovery)
    [Whatever exercise replaces biking]

    Close enough or not?
    What have you been smoking?

    There is 5 mins light cycling at the beginning…the stuff that I think that you think is on the bike is actually on the ‘rowing machine’.

    Are you using the bike to develop the bodies ability to repeat maximum efforts?
    The work on the rower is basically 15-20 seconds work at maximum intensity. With 30 then 45 and finally 60 seconds recovery.

    I did every single interval essentially within a second of each other…the first block you are fresh…so you manage it…the second block…not so fresh but more recovery so you manage it…third block you are miles from feeling fresh but you manage it because you get more recovery.

    What we are doing is ensuring that we keep the quality. I did every single interval under 18 seconds…in all three blocks…my fastest was 16.5 or something…I will check tomorrow.

    Instead of rowing…you could sprawl and jump, sprawl and jump…say 8 reps in each set…as fast and as high as you could…max effort and power.

    The rest all looks fine…in fact…it looks brilliant.

  8. Barry Oglesby said…
    On the C2s it doesn’t make difference what level it’s at if you’re doing a distance like 100m. Level 10 will get you to 100m in less strokes, and level 1 will require more strokes to get you there.

    Lookee it’s midnight and I’m still not in bed. What level of tool am I?
    Don’t worry…your coach is still hard at work.

  9. Will Heffernan said…
    You are talking about THIS blog right?
    Don’t worry, I was feeling depersonalized while typing it.

    That’s just because most of them are made by me…that keeps the average quality of the comments extremely high.
    Silly me, thinking I was the one hallucinating…

    You may very well be…what have you taken?
    belgium chocolate

    thx 4 answering te questions.

  10. Great, thanks for the clarification…

    Not sure on the exact mechanics of a sprawl and jump … I spose a burpee with a jump at the top is close enough?

    Anyway I’ll give it a go this week.

    I’m all pumped for it 🙂

    cheers

  11. Jaysus will you look at my back and my baldy patch in that video!

    Not sure on the exact mechanics of a sprawl and jump … I spose a burpee with a jump at the top is close enough?
    Basically it’s a burpee, but instead of controlling your descent into the tucked position, you powerfully sprawl backwards, bring your hips to the ground, then bring your legs up to the tucked position and jump. You’re just sort of skipping the first phase of the burpee. I have a vid from the other night of someone doing them I’ll stick it on my blog tomorrow.

  12. thanks barry for the explanation of the sprawl jump …

    Doh! It’s pretty obvious if I took the time to think about it 😛

    Cheers

  13. Okay, so my training partner and I just did the workout … here’s how the main parts went (I had to change a few exercises again so both of us could do it)…

    1 set of 10 x 8 sprawl jumps (it was difficult, but I thought that was more from the fact I hadn’t done the exercise before)

    deadlift 80kg … 44 reps
    olympic ring pullups … 22 reps
    pushups … 88 reps

    2 set of 10 x 8 sprawljump (dry reached after 8th set).

    24kg kettlebell press … 20 reps/side
    25kg sandbag squat … 40 reps
    rope inverted rows … 20 reps

    3 set of 10 x 8 sprawl jump reps (difficult … but I finally got the hang of the movement).

    Few questions …

    I know the sprawl jump is physically tiring, but would it be useful to substitute it for something more sports specific for me (no sprawling in muay thai)?

    I could definitely put more intensity into a movement I’m good at (like round kicks or punch combos)

    I found that the deadlift in the first block and the kettlebell press in the second block were the hardest exercises … the other exercises (at that rep range) were easy) … is that right? Or am I really weak in these two lifts?

    Anyway …

    I really liked the workout and so did my training partner …

    thanks for that … we’ll tinker with it a bit (we love to tinker) and see if we can make it even more fun 😉

    cheers!

Leave a Reply

