Day 1-7…training is basically starting today

Just so you know…I am going to keep my own training and updates here in this post. What I’ll do is to make a Monday post every week and keep all the training details in that one single post.

I am going to post a video fat log every Monday morning so people can track my body composition changes…or lack thereof…whatever the case may be. I’m going to do that every Monday morning basically.

I’m going to keep a food log as best I can to give those that are interested an idea of what I am doing nutritionally…I’ll keep track of my supplements as well here.

I’m going to keep my training sessions here and detail those so we can see how I progress…or not.

Now the thing is…I’m not in great shape…but that’s because I don’t train consistently and I pay basically little or no attention to my diet. People have made the comment to me personally and you see the comment out there particularly on the internet…along the lines of ‘what do you bench?’ or ‘why don’t you have abs if you know so much?’ or that sort of thing…basically along the lines of why should I listen to you if you can’t do it yourself?

Well the thing is…I never trained just for the joy of training…I trained in the past because that was what I needed to do in the past to compete when I was racing. So since I stopped racing I never trained consistently any longer because I didn’t have anything to train for…well now I do.

I have a very specific goal in mind now. I am going to dedicate my training and nutrition to getting myself in the best possible condition I can to belt the absolute living daylights out of two people who consistently shoot their mouths off with no thought of the consequences.

Now, I agree…it is a stupid goal. I agree that it is very unlikely to happen because all those that know the individuals involved know that all three of us are absolutely full of it…that those two are unlikely to show up and will find every reason in the world to avoid this fight…on the other hand people will realise that unlike them…I actually can’t wait and am really looking forward to it because it is a no lose situation for me. No mater what happens they are going to look pathetic…whether they win or lose which I’m happy to take a beating for either way.

I love external motivation…I never did anything just for the joy of it…I’m a terrible person actually…the joy for me of competition has nothing to do with self improvement or self satisfaction…it was always about being better than others and proving other people wrong who told me that I couldn’t or can’t do something. It is really quite sad…but I’m OK with that.

So in short…the people that really know me…know that I actually mean what I say…whether I’m full of it or not…and they know full well that when I have a goal I am extremely single minded and dedicated. So I have my goal I have a basic time line…I have to get myself in the best fighting shape possible by June 2009.

So we’ll see right here whether I am full of it or not. We’ll see whether I know what I’m doing when it comes to strength and conditioning and whether I can put what I know into practice myself…like I say in the fat log…the proof is in the pudding…and right now…I do resemble pudding…let’s see if I can change that from here on in.

This is Day 1 of my training…I’ll post a video update every Monday morning…I weighed in at 117.3kg

Proposed Day 1-7 Training Week
Monday
AM – Walk, Abs/Core/Trunk, Mobility
PM – MMA Training (2hrs 30mins)

Tuesday
AM – Walk, Abs/Core/Trunk, Mobility
PM – Conditioning Session

Wednesday
AM – Walk, Abs/Core/Trunk, Mobility
PM – MMA Training…going to try to arrange a one on one session with my coach to do some technical work.

Thursday
AM – Walk, Abs/Core/Trunk, Mobility
PM – MMA Training (2hrs 30mins)

Friday
AM – Conditioning Session
PM – Conditioning Session

Saturday
AM – Conditioning Session
PM – Rest

Sunday
AM – Conditioning Session
PM – Conditioning Session

Note: I am going to make sure that the Friday, Saturday and Sunday sessions are my heaviest sessions conditioning wise. I will detail the actual make up of the sessions in my diary as I go.

Proposed Nutritional Plan
I am going to start detailing what I eat so people can see it. I’m going to get feedback from Lyle and I will modify it as I go and work out what the best nutritional strategy is for me…hopefully with his help. My training weeks are going to remain pretty much the same week in week out so I want to build a nutritional strategy around my training to maximise my fat loss and maintain or increase my lean muscle mass. My primary body composition goal at the moment is to reduce my bodyfat.

Monday – I am going to eat only a small amount of protein on Monday’s. Not just to make my food log easy to fill out but because I can. I am going to drink a lot of water today and coffee. I love caffeine. I think it is a great training aid and between coffee and snus I don’t have a problem managing my hunger.

Tuesday – Today is going to be a relatively low carbohydrate day. The carbs I do take in are going to be consumed prior to and during training Tuesday evening. I’m going to make sure I get 300gram of protein every day…excluding Monday.

Wednesday – This will be my lightest training day of the week. This will be a veggies and protein day.

Thursday – The morning will basically be a veggie omelette and I will start carb loading after training Thursday night.

Friday – This will be a high carb day and also my hardest conditioning day.

Saturday – This will be high carb also in the AM before shifting to protein and veggies in the evening.

Sunday – I am going to make sure that the carbs I consume on Sunday are all consumed prior to and during my Sunday sessions.

So we’ll see how this week goes in reality as opposed to how I’ve planned it out here and hopefully as I said we can get some commentary from Lyle with regard to what he thinks.

Training Log
Monday
AM – I’ve already been for an hour walk. I’m not ready to run at this stage. My body just isn’t up to it. I want to get my bodyfat down to reduce my weight. I want to look after my joints and don’t want to hammer them pounding the pavement. When I got back I did some dynamic flexibility work along with some ab/core/trunk work.

PM – Submission wrestling for 60 minutes followed by 90 minutes of MMA training…working on shooting technique tonight and 5 bouts of 4 minutes of sparring at the end of the session.

Tuesday
AM – No session this morning…but I am going to more than make up for it this evening.

PM – Had to work tonight so no fight training…which I already really missed.
5 sets of 500m on the rower all under 1.45 with 60 second recovery between sets.
Leg Press
8 reps 120kg
8 reps 160kg
4 sets of 5 reps 200kg
30 reps 200kg
Standing Ab Pulldowns
3 sets of 15 reps 50kg
YTW’s
3 sets of 15 reps with 10kg
Assisted Pull Ups
3 sets of 12 reps(Assisted)
2 sets of 6 reps
Blast Strap Push Ups
5 sets of 12 reps
1A Plate Tricep Extebsions – 3 sets of 12 reps 20kg
1B Plate Bicep Curls – 3 sets of 12 reps 20kg
Lateral Woodchoppers – 3 sets of 12 reps
Lower Abdominal Curls – 3 sets of 20 reps
5 sets of 500m on the rower all under 1.55 with 60 second recovery between sets.

Wednesday
PM – Did 2 sessions today. Couldn’t get a session in with Barry today so I did my own technical work…I worked on my sprawling and shooting for close to an hour including a good warm up.

This evening I did the following:
10 sets of 150m with 30 second recoveries
1A Single Arm Deadlift – 5 sets of 5 reps with 50kg (each side)
1B Push Ups – 5 sets of 10 reps
Lower Abdominal Curls – 3 sets of 15 reps
2A Back Extensions – 3 sets of 15 reps
2B Natural Reverse Hypers – 3 sets of 15 reps
10 sets of 150m with 45 second recoveries

Thursday
Didn’t get my AM session today…work got in the way.
PM – 20 sets of 250’s on the rower with 30 second recoveries…yesterday was tough…not the weights but the fight training stuff…different movements and different muscles…I am all kinds of sore in all kinds of weird places. The muscles in my feet are actually sore. Suffice to say…yesterday took more out of me than I thought so did the smart thing and took it relatively easy. Want to get good sessions in tomorrow and over the weekend.

Note: I think it will take a week or two to really bed this diet and training program down. I already have a number of alterations that I intend making next week.

Friday
PM – 20 sets of 250’s with 30 second recoveries…done as follows:
1. 60 seconds
2. 55 seconds
3. 50 seconds
4. 45 seconds
5. 60 seconds
6. 55 seconds
7. 50 seconds
8. 45 seconds
9. 60 seconds
10. 60 seconds
11. 60 seconds
12.60 seconds
13. 45 seconds
14. 50 seconds
15. 55 seconds
16. 60 seconds
17. 45 seconds
18. 50 seconds
19. 55 seconds
20. 60 seconds
5 sets of 5 box jumps
5 sets of 5 mixed grips pull ups
5 sets of 10 push ups
3 sets of 12 hanging leg raises
3 sets of 15 kettlebell swings
10 sets of 500m with 60 second recoveries.

Saturday
AM – 60+ mins of MMA Drills

PM – 10min Bike
3 blocks of 6x30sec/30sec (Rowing Test)…I did 1 easy 30 second row with 30 second recovery then did 6 all out efforts…rested then on the 10min mark repeated the same protocol, then did it once more…I thought I may have been about to die.
Biked till the hour mark came up.
1A Hanging Leg Raises
1B Back Extensions
1C Standing Ab Pulldowns
1D Natural Reverse Hypers
I did 2 sets of 15 reps of each of these.
2A DB Shoulder Raises
2B DB Arnold Press
4 sets of 12 reps of these.
3A Push Ups
3B Inverted Rows
3 sets of 8 reps of these.

Sunday
Bike – 10 mins
Shoulder Mobility Work
Swiss Ball DB Press – 4×15(25kg)
Unsupported DB Row – 4×15(30kg)
Hi-Lo Woodchoppers-4×15
KB Squats – 4×15(20kg)
KB Swings – 4×15(20kg)
KB Press – 3×15(20kg)
Tricep Extensions – 3×15
Bicep Curls – 3×15
Standing Ab Pull Downs – 3×15
Bike – 10 mins

Food Log
Monday
Fasted today.

Tuesday
1 tin of tuna
6 scrambled eggs with a little grated cheese.
2 Scoops of EvoPro
1 plate of mince and grilled vegetables.

Wednesday
6 scrambled eggs with a little grated cheese
2 scoops of EvoPro
1 plate of mince and grilled vegetables

Thursday
4 scrambled eggs with ham & cheese
A plate of pasta with meat, grilled veg and cheese
2 small Mars Bars

Friday
2 Ham & Cheese Crosaints.
1 Chorizo and Mayo roll.
1 AfterMax Shake…with milk…I think it may actually be better with water…who’d have known.
3 cans of Guiness…3 more in the fridge..they are calling me….will update this later as I’m sure they are going to be drunk…whether they want to be or not.
Still making a decision regarding dinner.
Couldn’t make a decision on dinner…so I ate 765g of Chinese entree.
Only consumed 4 cans of Guiness in total.

Saturday
4 scrambled eggs, grilled veg & cheese
1 block of chocolate
4 cracker bread with cheese and ham
2 potatoes, green beans & chicken breast
2 cans of Guiness

Sunday
4 tiny cinnamon buns
2 potatoes, green beans, chicken breast, onions, bacon, cream
4 biscuits
3 potatoes and chili con carne
2 can of Guinness
1 cracker bread + cheese
2 pieces of bread and cheese

Day 1-7 Summary:
All in all it was a pretty good week training wise. Didn’t get to do as much actual hands on MMA training as I would of liked with work getting in the way but that’s life. I think my program will work well but it is going to take a couple more weeks to get it just right I think. The same with my diet. It is going to take a little while to get is spot on. It was a bit of a mixed bag last week. These things are always an ongoing process though so I am definitely not beating myself up over it.

21 thoughts on “Day 1-7…training is basically starting today

  1. Ive been lurking in the background lately. I like your longer posts and its going to be good fun to follow your weekly progress 🙂 I must have missed the post about the fight though. Who have challenged you?

  2. Joel Hallström said…
    Ive been lurking in the background lately. I like your longer posts and its going to be good fun to follow your weekly progress 🙂 I must have missed the post about the fight though. Who have challenged you?
    Lurking is fine. I like to lurk as well. The fight details are here… http://willheffernan.blogspot.com/2008/11/im-fighting-on-15th-of-june-2009.html …unfortunately I don’t think it is ever going to happen though. I think the two guys involved are actually completely full of shit.

  3. Who wants to bet on how long it will be before Will’s ADHD kicks in and he decides he’s bored with this and wants to do something else?

    Lye

  4. What a load, a fat load.

    Can you believe this joker tries to swindle others by claiming to be a “strength and conditioning coach”?

    If he were to say that he’s a bullshit artist and fat slob, maybe others would take him seriously.

  5. lylemcd said…
    Who wants to bet on how long it will be before Will’s ADHD kicks in and he decides he’s bored with this and wants to do something else?
    Let’s make a bet then? How much are you willing to lose and will you pay up when you do?
    I’ve committed myself to getting ready to fight in June or July. What do you want to wager?

    garrett said…
    Just on the fast day will, will you take sugar/milk in your coffee.
    Nope. Black coffee and black tea. It’s 10.30pm now and I’m not really bothered about not eating.

    garrett said…
    Oh and see you thursday hopefully
    Cool…see you then.

    Anonymous said…
    What a load, a fat load.
    Are you just repeating what I said? That’s not very original.

    Can you believe this joker tries to swindle others by claiming to be a “strength and conditioning coach”?
    You better believe it. How many Olympians have you coached again? How many World Championships? What about National Championships? I forget how many you told me…just remind me again?

    If he were to say that he’s a bullshit artist and fat slob, maybe others would take him seriously.
    Why don’t you send me some pics? I’d love to have someone like yourself to aspire to! Have you posted all those training videos yet?

  6. Will Hefferdoodle, the fat swindler wrote:

    “Let’s make a bet then? How much are you willing to lose and will you pay up when you do?”

    I don’t welsh on bets. I’m not from Wales. Get it?

    $100 (US money, not your fake ass monopoly money) that you get bored with this before Jan 1,2009 (esp. when Club/Carl punk out) and go train for something else.

    So I owe you $100 if you actually make it past Jan 1st without changing your mind, you owe me when you get bored and do something else.

    You can consider this comment a legally binding bet.

    Lyle

  7. When you lose this bet Lyle…which you will…you can buy and post me the shorts and gear (up to $100)that I’ll wear when I fight Carl and Clubsubpar…I’ll give them to you as a trophy afterwards…we’ll have to pick a colour that will accentuate the blood!

  8. Hi again will some questions on your plan if i may.
    most of the questions concern the comment about general conditioning.
    Firstly why do you see the need for a fairly large volume of work when you see yourself as being fairly underdone, wouldn’t it be smarter to ease into it or can you treat yourself slightly differently due to your past training experiences.
    Next how will you decide when you have reached the point of needing less general conditioning and just need to begin ripping in.
    The next 2 are a bit more on a sidetrack but for team sports do you have any guidelines for when general conditioing has been achieved and how much general conditioing, if any (due to your recent escapeds) do you see as being necessary for success in the 2 strength sports weight and powerlifting.
    On to the diet do you think you could get yourself or lyle to explain the basic idea behind it. It does look vaguely UD2 but i haven’t read the book so i would like your take on it.
    Hope you collect on the un paid money soon 🙂

  9. Barry Oglesby said…
    I’d like to apologise for setting the angry midget on you last night.
    I want to roll with Johnny as much as I can…I am going to train so hard because I can’t wait to build up my fitness so I’m not gassed after the first 4 minutes of work and trying just to survive the rest of the night.

    adrienl said…
    Hi again will some questions on your plan if i may.
    most of the questions concern the comment about general conditioning.
    Firstly why do you see the need for a fairly large volume of work when you see yourself as being fairly underdone, wouldn’t it be smarter to ease into it or can you treat yourself slightly differently due to your past training experiences.
    I leave this till the end of Week 1 to answer so you can actually see the make up of the sessions.

    Next how will you decide when you have reached the point of needing less general conditioning and just need to begin ripping in.
    I think so far the quality of my work is really high…the ‘off mat’ stuff that is…as for my on mat training that’s just a matter of putting my head down and just trying not to get my arse kicked too badly…but that is also good…I think you need a blend.

    The next 2 are a bit more on a sidetrack but for team sports do you have any guidelines for when general conditioing has been achieved and how much general conditioing,
    Yes…and I will make a post regarding this because it is worth talking about…if I haven’t done so by the end of the week then remind me.

    if any (due to your recent escapeds) do you see as being necessary for success in the 2 strength sports weight and powerlifting.
    Not in the short term…but long term yes, if for no other reason than that I think it improves your recovery between sessions and also improves the markers of good health…which can’t be bad.

    On to the diet do you think you could get yourself or lyle to explain the basic idea behind it.
    I’m sure Lyle could…but he won’t.

    It does look vaguely UD2 but i haven’t read the book so i would like your take on it.
    It bares much more than a vague resemblance to UD 2.0….it is pretty much exactly it.

    Hope you collect on the un paid money soon 🙂
    I won’t be holding my breath.

  10. Why UD2 and not Flexible Dieting when you are not really trying to get to extremely low bodyfat levels?

    A better bet would be to wager on how long it will take you put all of the lard back on after you have either fought or lost interest. I think the over/under should be about 17 days.

  11. Michael Sullivan said…
    Why UD2 and not Flexible Dieting when you are not really trying to get to extremely low bodyfat levels?
    Because I haven’t read that yet.

    What I actually want to do is to get my bodyfat down to between 10% and 12%…low but not super low. I want to see how comfortable I feel fighting at whatever weight that ends up being. I will then see if it would suit me to add some more lean muscle mass or not.

    A better bet would be to wager on how long it will take you put all of the lard back on after you have either fought or lost interest. I think the over/under should be about 17 days.
    We’ll just have to wait and see.

  12. Will, have you thought how effing long this one post is going to be after a few months? Maybe you should consider using the athletes blog after all.

  13. I’m going to start a new one each week…so today’s one will obviously be ‘Day 8-14’ and so on…is that OK with you?

  14. Will said…
    I’m going to start a new one each week…so today’s one will obviously be ‘Day 8-14’ and so on…is that OK with you?

    And if I say no? Damn it. I gave you a perfectly good – no, a brilliant – idea with the separate atheletes blogs. But no, they died right away. What must one do get some regognition, start training imaginary athletes?

    Yeah, I guess a new one each week is ok.

Leave a Reply

