I am sore already

I want to tell you about all the thoughts and opinions I have regarding MMA and the training that I think would work best…but I just completely made up new ones on my way home from training tonight on the bike.

I had a whole training plan worked out for myself…and as soon as I was about half way through getting my arse kicked tonight I realised that I had made a lot of mistakes.

I had a submission wrestling session tonight at KO Martial Arts…I thought I was going to be eased in…and I sort of was…but not easy enough….Barry is a complete arsehole…I really like him already. Now it isn’t that the lads weren’t welcoming…because they were…it’s just that they have a ‘different’ way of showing their affection. Most of them are fighting in a months time so when they gave me a welcoming ’embrace’ it mainly involved them trying to crush the life out of me while simultaneously driving their shoulder into my jaw and knee into my stomach…now I like a hug as much as the next guy…this was just a little over the top I thought.

I was stupid enough to have trained hard in the morning as well…some hard heavy intervals and a bit of weight training…NOT my best idea ever…maybe anonymous is right…I am an idiot.

I think I might have to resurrect the old athletes blog…that one that I let go to shit a while back to log my training. I don’t know that I will be doing things much different to the norm in MMA but I have a good I have a good idea of what I am going to be doing training wise.

A little circuit work either side of a couple of hours knocking the piss out of each other

I won’t say too much now…because I’ll probably change my mind next week. Any way…I’ve got 2hrs and 30mins of Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and Muay Thai to look forward to tomorrow night…and I am really looking forward to it.

Now to Anonymous and other associated matters
What can I possibly say about it…I been found out…I’ve been exposed….I’ve been uncovered…I suppose I’m lucky to have lasted this long.

16 thoughts on “I am sore already

  1. I’m stoked you’re getting into this stuff . . .

    I’m interested to see how you think it compares to other types of training you’ve been involved in.

    cheers.

  2. Hey Mate,
    sounds like your biting off plenty as per usual.

    Ok deal done – lets get my bulk on. Waiting in anticipation – the skinny man

  3. kira said…
    I’m stoked you’re getting into this stuff…
    Me too. Learned a lot last night. Soooo different to fighting stand up…obviously…totally different physical demands.

    I’m interested to see how you think it compares to other types of training you’ve been involved in.
    Me too. I need to get through a weeks training so I can organise it it my head…some sessions are more technical than others…last night was 20% technical and 80% just grappling and doing whatever you can not to get dicked on. It was a big mistake training in the morning…had too little left by the end of training. Once I work out how to balance out my training I’ll give you a full run down on how I’m going to approach it and we’ll see how smart I am after all based on how fast I can whip myself into shape to fight.

    Damian Griffin said…
    Hey Mate,
    sounds like your biting off plenty as per usual.
    I’ve a big mouth…I might bite off a lot…but I can chew a good bit as well.

    Ok deal done – lets get my bulk on. Waiting in anticipation – the skinny man.
    Check your email.

  4. Well if you were already sore last night, then you must be dyin today.

    I personally liked the ‘can Jonny lift Will’ challenge.

  5. Barry Oglesby said…
    Well if you were already sore last night, then you must be dyin today.
    I’m actually NOT sore today…quite surprised. I think I just over did the training in the morning and didn’t have anything left last night. I feel good today actually.

    I personally liked the ‘can Jonny lift Will’ challenge.
    I would love to do those throws every week…you better fill the carpark with ambulances though because spear tackling people is something that I can actually do. Do something useful with my 118kgs.

  6. I’ve also decided that I am not going to cut any lean muscle mass either…since the lads decided to fight me at any weight I’ve decided I might make that the second biggest mistake they’ve ever made after challenging me to a fight in the first place.

  7. Will saild
    Me too. Learned a lot last night. Soooo different to fighting stand up…obviously…totally different physical demands.

    Yeah, you get to lie down and rest 🙂

    Me too. I need to get through a weeks training so I can organise it it my head…some sessions are more technical than others…last night was 20% technical and 80% just grappling and doing whatever you can not to get dicked on.

    It was a big mistake training in the morning…had too little left by the end of training. Once I

    Depends. (1$ to Lyle)
    When you don’t have the gas, you need to rely more on the technique than brute force. Ofcourse at this point all you have is brute force…


    work out how to balance out my training I’ll give you a full run down on how I’m going to approach it and we’ll see how smart I am after all based on how fast I can whip myself into shape to fight.

    It’ll be interesting to see what you come up with.

  8. Will said…
    I’ve also decided that I am not going to cut any lean muscle mass either…

    Wise decision. Even though everyone allways says grappling is all about technique, strenght is still strength. IME, and I’m not _that_ strong, if you have decent skills the added strength (in my case 1RM) lets you hang on with better grapplers than you (serious skill differences notwithstanding ofcourse).

    With Club and Carl strength (and size) is your biggest ally IMO

  9. Sami,
    I liked the lying down to rest part…I actually felt much better working off my back than working on top.

    The strength thing definitely helped because I was working with guys that when I was on my back could only pin me so long…even sprawling and flattened out I was still able to throw them over. I managed to get through every single round I did when given top position without a single escape which I was pleased with…which was TOTALLY down to weight and strength and had nothing to do with technique…of which in this area…I’ve none.

    With regard to Carl and Club…the telling factor is that standing…I do have a good bit of experience and if and when I get in the ring with them they are going to find that out in a hurry…I am willing to wager that within 30 seconds of the start of the fight it will be back to a 1 on 1 fight…either one of them will be taking a nap through the entire 1st round.

  10. I AM MR ANONYMOUS AND MR WILLEM HEFFERDOODLE IS A CHARLATAN WHO INJURES PEOPLE ON THE INTRANETS.

    BOW BEFORE ME!!!!!

    ANONYMOUS-MAN

  11. lylemcd said…
    I AM MR ANONYMOUS AND MR WILLEM HEFFERDOODLE IS A CHARLATAN WHO INJURES PEOPLE ON THE INTRANETS.

    BOW BEFORE ME!!!!!

    ANONYMOUS-MAN
    You are really enjoying this aren’t you?

  12. I can only spend so much time per day calling people ‘retards’ on my forum so I have to come play in the comments section of your blog.

    If I didn’t do that, I’d actually have to go get some work done.

    Lyle

  13. Is there a line of people out of the door at Barry’s place willing to pay for the chance to smash in your face?

    Curious minds want to know.

    NoAxe

  14. Michael Sullivan said…
    Is there a line of people out of the door at Barry’s place willing to pay for the chance to smash in your face?

    Curious minds want to know.

    NoAxe
    Why would any of my lads pay when they can do it at training for free?

    I’ve a lecture to attend then I’m off to BJJ and Muay Thai training tonight to have the rest of my arse kicked that the lads missed last night…as you know…I’ve a huge arse and it is impossible to kick completely in one single session.

  15. Fuck, Will, do you seriously think Carl or what’s his name will do this?

    I commend you for learning a new sport, but you’ll have to try it out on Sully or Dano next time you come to the states, or use it at the pub to impress the manotaurs.

  16. Shaf said…
    Fuck, Will, do you seriously think Carl or what’s his name will do this?
    I have no idea…really I mean that…I don’t have a clue. The thing is I don’t care either way.

    I commend you for learning a new sport, but you’ll have to try it out on Sully or Dano next time you come to the states, or use it at the pub to impress the manotaurs.
    I’m going to fight anyway so it doesn’t matter either way to me…I think it’ll be fun…it’ll be a matter of who annoys me most between now and then…they’ll be the one I don’t knock out in the opening seconds of the fight.

Leave a Reply

