Another of the reasons that I think the internet is so funny

Ages ago I posted this video….

Squats and Depth Jumps.

Thankfully TruthAxe finally got around to commenting on it.

Here are his comments and my responses:

TruthAxe
The girl means well. She’s getting bad training here.

If she has to rest on a stool, she’s using too much weight and thus not firing the stablizing muscles as well as the glutes on the way up.

Worse, is this that held squat at the end of plyo depth jump.

Plyo training is about the spring effect gained when off the ground (extension of muscles akin to a pulled slinky), and not about compressed muscles (contraction phase).

willheffernan
Brilliant insight.

TruthAxe
Thanks.

As you can see, because of the chair, she’s putting bad, excessive stress on her knees on the way up from the chair sitting position.

Also, in plyo, the key is maximum jump up so the fall distance, thus reaction force is highest.

She should jump as high into the air as she can, spring off the floor, hit the second box and jump off that straightaway.

willheffernan
Spoken like a true internet expert.


TruthAxe
Ignorance is bliss eh?

The Irish. Same on both sides of the Atlantic.

willheffernan
Feel free to post all your training videos…show everyone how it is done.

TruthAxe
Thanks for showing the world HOW NOT to do it.

The child in this video is ruining her knees, shoulders, lower back and inner upper feet.

At her age, she should not do any squats.

Rightly, she should perform Bondarchuk step-ups, which would put the load where it belongs, hams and glutes first, calves and quad second and not where her ignorant coach has the load placed.

Are you ripping off folks, taking their cash while claiming to be a “strength and conditioning coach”?

willheffernan
So I take it that’s a no then? You won’t be posting your training videos and showing everyone how it is done.

TruthAxe
You acted so cocksure that you brazenly posted vids showing your bad training advice, ruining children’s bodies for future athletics.

So now you’re exposed. Crying like an effeminate doesn’t help your case Liam, er, Will.

I checked out your blog.

It looks like you’re an asshole to the whole world and not only to those who post comments on your YT vids.

Good luck defending the rest of your false beliefs during your living. You shall need it.

willheffernan
So that’s definitely a no then? You sure you won’t be posting all your excellent training videos?

TruthAxe
So you going to continue ripping off people pretending to be a strength and conditioning coach?

You’re going to continue posting videos exposing your bad methods while damaging children?

willheffernan
You are a complete moron…but don’t worry…I’ll make you famous.

TruthAxe
As opposed to what a “partial” moron?

Wow, dumb and obxnious you are.

I’d love to meet your mommy and daddy to what pieces of work they must be.

Now I have a few observations and comments to make:
1. Do people really think that I can’t see ROK’s form breaking down here? We had ‘worked up’ to this weight…and yes…it was too much. Another thing is that we weren’t doing the depth jumps for their plyometric effect. So essentially everything that TruthAxe had to say in his original comment was total rubbish…she wasn’t ‘resting on a stool’…as for putting stress on her knees…the stress is coming from the fact that she isn’t holding them out as she was in earlier sets because she was fatigued…the stress isn’t coming from ‘the chair sitting position’ as TruthAxe pointed out…as for the Plyo element…without going into too much detail here…what we were looking for was a super short contact time on the ground and on landing I actually wanted her to hold that power position longer…not shorter. We do a lot of work getting strong in and around that ‘power position’ both statically and dynamically as it has a huge impact on performance and I might make a post about this in the future…just for TruthAxe.

2. TruthAxe has all the elements of what I love about internet experts…he reads a lot obviously…he has the vocabulary down pat…he even slips in a bit of pseudo name dropping…there are heaps of people like this on the internet…they’ve read all the articles, read all the books etc etc and they know everything and nothing simultaneously. They give themselves away almost as soon as they open their mouths or post a comment. I also love all the insults about my nationality…I’m just surprised and disappointed he didn’t make a drunken fighting Irishman comment…I mean talk about clichés…I mean honestly…how could he not know from looking and listening to the blog and videos that I’m actually a drunken fighting Australian…thus going out of his way to prove my point that he’s a moron.

3. People get confused I think about the blog and videos I post…let me clear a few things up.
– I post vids that I think people would find interesting.
– I post vids of athletes ‘actually’ training…they aren’t set ups.
– I purposefully post stuff that isn’t perfect…because I think it is more interesting than me going over the videos when I get home and picking ones to post that show me in ‘the best light’.

4. With regard to this particular video…there are a huge number of flaws in ROK’s technique…like I said…she was too fatigued in this last set. I knew this…she knew this…we look at video and we fix things up…I think from memory we went back after this set and did a light set just to work on her technique. As for me damaging her and my bad training methods…give me a break…I think her performances and the massive improvements she’s made in the gym might going a long way to disproving TruthAxe’s well thought out analysis…maybe he should email the coaches at Irish Basketball and see what they think…or ask the guys her age who’s arse’s she kicked in testing? She has made massive improvements in both her squatting and deadlifting and maybe from now on I should just ‘set up’ all the videos of her training so TruthAxe doesn’t report me for child abuse.

5. Heaps of other coaches and trainers have emailed me have told me to delete and or just ignore the ‘negative’ comments…to take the high road. The thing is…that just isn’t me…I like the low road. I love annoying people, I love winding people up…I love doing it on the internet as much as I love doing it in real life.

I didn’t start this blog as a chance to ‘show off’ or to try and put myself out there as some sort of expert. I’m just a strength and conditioning coach…that’s it…I’m not the best…but certainly not the worst either and blog or no blog…internet or no internet I would be doing exactly the same job that I’m doing right now. The reason the blog came about was because people were saying I was too negative and didn’t make enough of a positive contribution…and I agreed with them…so I started it.

I deliberately don’t want it to be like all the others out there…it isn’t about optimising revenue, exploiting market opportunities, show casing my talent as a coach…it just is what is…there’s a reason I don’t write ‘articles’…it isn’t about ME telling YOU how to train…this is just what WE are doing…and take a wild guess how much WE care about what YOU think about what WE do?

16 thoughts on “Another of the reasons that I think the internet is so funny

  1. I don’t agree with most of what they guy said, but I have to ask for interest sake. If the depth jumps immediately following heavy box squats were not for plyometric effect…what were their purpose? Just wondering. Overall, I like the site and the fact you post videos…both good and bad.

  2. Jim said…
    I don’t agree with most of what they guy said,
    Like the stuff about me being Irish and the stuff about my parents? No, I didn’t agree with that either.

    but I have to ask for interest sake. If the depth jumps immediately following heavy box squats were not for plyometric effect…what were their purpose? Just wondering.
    Look…no one has to worry about questions…people should just be straight about it…just say it…TruthAxe is a moronic know it all….he see 47 seconds of video…has absolutely no understanding of the context…yet thinks he knows exactly what is going on…that’s just plain stupid…you don’t have to apologise for asking…just ask. Any way…what I’m looking for here is to 1. Try to do some quality work…in this case some short contact time reactive box jumps after doing some good quality box squats. ROK’s were neither by this stage. I might just set one up next week…just to keep the haters happy…I don’t want to get into a huge amount of lab coating here on the blog because that wasn’t my intention…there’s plenty of places where people crap on a ‘plyometrics, potentiating and complexes’ throw those words into google and knock yourself out…I’m sure there are a heap of people who can explain the science better than I can. With regard to the last position…I will make a whole post about that next week. About why I think it is important and how we work on it. I hope that’ll be OK.

    Overall, I like the site and the fact you post videos…both good and bad.

  3. LOL.

    TruthAxe really didn’t want to put up his own videos, huh?

    Jesus dude, not EVERYONE on the internets thinks they’re experts . . . some of us are well aware of our lack of expertise, and genuinely want to learn.

    I don’t mind the mis-information/poor quality instruction/different opinions etc. out there on the internets. It just refines my shit-sifting skills 🙂

    I’m happy to give stuff a try and just do the Bruce Lee thing (keep the good, toss the shit and adapt to suit.)

    And besides, a lot of the stuff fitness dudes argue about is pretty specialized and has little relevance to the community at large. I just like to train . . . not too fussed about how many sets/reps are optimal or whether to use this or that exerise or training methodology. I like finding that sort of stuff out for myself.

    Not everyone’s after medals and glory . . . some of us are more into training for the shits and giggles. Surely I’m not the only person who thinks that it’s the fun you have along the way that matters? Actually, I am on a Strength and Conditioning blog, aren’t I? I guess you probably don’t get too many clients coming in saying “fuck the medals, just bring on the shits and giggles” …

    🙂

    Cheers!

  4. kira said…
    LOL.
    I know.

    TruthAxe really didn’t want to put up his own videos, huh?
    They never do.

    Jesus dude, not EVERYONE on the internets thinks they’re experts…some of us are well aware of our lack of expertise, and genuinely want to learn.
    I don’t have a problem with the ‘content’ of what he had to say…just the way that he tried to do it. He actually just doesn’t know as much as he thinks he does and it is apparent from what he said…if you know what I mean.

    I don’t mind the mis-information/poor quality instruction/different opinions etc. out there on the internets. It just refines my shit-sifting skills 🙂
    It’s an important skill to develop.

    I’m happy to give stuff a try and just do the Bruce Lee thing (keep the good, toss the shit and adapt to suit.)
    You and me both.

    And besides, a lot of the stuff fitness dudes argue about is pretty specialized and has little relevance to the community at large.
    Believe me…I DEFINITELY know that.

    I just like to train . . . not too fussed about how many sets/reps are optimal or whether to use this or that exerise or training methodology. I like finding that sort of stuff out for myself.
    I don’t think you are alone there.

    Not everyone’s after medals and glory…some of us are more into training for the shits and giggles. Surely I’m not the only person who thinks that it’s the fun you have along the way that matters? Actually, I am on a Strength and Conditioning blog, aren’t I? I guess you probably don’t get too many clients coming in saying “fuck the medals, just bring on the shits and giggles”.
    More than you think and most of my athletes are there for shit and giggles as well.

  5. Hi Will, One question how do you ruin your inner upper feet as the guy stated- I feel as a coach that one might be beyond you?

  6. Ian Mellis said…
    Hi Will, One question how do you ruin your inner upper feet as the guy stated- I feel as a coach that one might be beyond you?
    Who am I to question the TruthAxe. He’s too busy cutting a swathe through poor internet coaching dogma…his understanding and insight is beyond my comprehension.

    In short…yeah…I laughed out loud when I read that as well.

    I hope you email him and find out?

  7. Anonymous said…
    This is old video. She no longer trains with him for a reason. You have been warned.
    You might want to check out the blog from a few days ago…because she’s actually in a video training away happily.

  8. TruthAxe nailed it.

    Not only does this guy look stupid but what he writes reveals himself to be a thoroughgoing moron.

    Box squats for a nobbly-kneed girl — how dumb.

    And you can be sure when folks talk about “context” they’ve been brainwashed by some Campus Marxist dipshit at some loser uni.

    Go get a job as a rubbish man Will. Your fraud methods have you well trained for it.

  9. What amuses most is that this Will poseur passes himself off as a strength and conditioning “expert”.

    Everyone with a Blogger account is an expert these day.

    This Will fellow couldn’t coach the dentures out from grannie’s mouth.

  10. In breaking news today…TruthAxe agrees with himself.

    The world was shocked to discover that TruthAxe my most dedicated and devoted stalker posts anonymously to say that he was correct all along.

  11. You amuse, Will Heffernan. You shall be a fraud always.

    Your weak attempt at parsing my comments amuse. You’re wrong, oh so wrong about Training for Athletics.

    After I schooled you about training on the actual Youtube video itself, you came here to defend yourself, backpeddling with foolery.

    Apparently your Anonymous posters see you for the fraud who you are.

    I saw one of your fight videos. You fight like a girl and you look like a couple of drunken overweight slob pretending to be an athlete in a typical second-world Ireland bar fight.

    You would not last two minutes in a ring in America.

    By the way. Who is Kira? Pretending to be a girl fits you, Will.

  12. It wasn’t actually that weak. People pretty much think you are a moron TruthAxe…and by people I mean the COACHES…as in people who actually get paid to train people …that have posted here think you are as moronic as I do…3 out of 3 coaches can’t be wrong.

    Feel free to keep posting though…it only serves to further illustrate my point.

    p.s: have you posted all your coaching videos yet? Feel free to throw up a link 🙂

  13. Willy,

    You don’t know anything about athletics, physiology and training for athletic performance.

    You and your so-called coaches are stuck in 1960s thinking — stuck in the days before proper academic investigation into athletics happened.

    Yet, all that you can do is write post after post screaming and ranting like a child that everyone else, but you, is a moron. You are the moron. Not us.

    What’s most amusing is how you were oh-so schooled by me on one video and you made it your life’s crusade to make yourself appear correct by avoiding commentary on the Youtube video itself and instead hiding on your blog.

    So, here’s your chance Willy. Tell the world from that video where the load is getting placed. Tell the world what is happening with the neuromuscular stimulation from those back squats and defend that choice of exercise over others.

    See, hacks like you, Willy, cannot because you do not know anything about training for athletic performance based on science.

    You and your kind parrot what the guys did before you because “that’s how it’s always been done.”

    You are oh so dangerous to the serious athlete. Simply because you might have played some sports in your life and gained a bit of notoriety in your home town doesn’t make you qualified to instruct persons in athletic training.

    The rest of us base our athletic training upon the latest scientific research coming from the world’s leading universities on kinetics, nutrition, physiology and neuroscience.

    You should have quit when you were behind. Now you are so far behind that you have become pitiful.

    Happy St. Paddy’s day, you drunken Irishman.

  14. So retarded that you think I’m Irish? You are such a joke…every post you make only makes you look more ridiculous than the one before….by all means keep posting…I don’t care what any of your special ed teaches said…I think you’re brilliant.

Leave a Reply

