I have a coach now

I am getting trained now by Barry Oglesby at K.O. Martial Arts. I’m doing my first session on Thursday. I’ll take some before pics and we’ll see what sort of shape I’m in come fight day.

Here’s his biography:

Barry Oglesby is the head coach at K.O. Martial Arts.
Head coach…sounds made up.

Barry started his martial arts training with Taekwondo,
I thought that was a Scottish sport?

before moving on to Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Muay Thai and Mixed Martial Arts.
Obviously he wasn’t any good at any of them?

He has competed at an amateur level in Taekwondo, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Submission Wrestling and Kickboxing, and at a professional level in Mixed Martial Arts. Barry started KO Martial Arts in 2003, and has been a professional coach since 2006.
I’m determined to retain my amateur status as a coach…even though I get paid I maintain a completely amateur approach.

He coaches at the two gyms, KO Martial Arts, a senior Mixed Martial Arts gym, and Wolfpack Martial Arts, a seperate gym for young children and teenagers which operates as a junior club to the senior gym.
I might try and get into the kids class…best way to get ready for Carl and Club as I’m willing to guess the kids are competing at about the same weight class.

Barry also works with teenagers in Secondary Schools running martial arts and self defence programmes for transition years. He has worked with athletics and football teams, has a BA in History and Literature from Dublin City University and is currently studying to expand his coaching knowledge in strength and conditioning.
…and he reads my blog….sounds like his search for knowledge isn’t going that well or hasn’t gotten very far?

This what my training schedule is going to look like:

Monday
Submission Wrestling & Mixed Martial Arts

Tuesday
Muay Thai

Wednesday
Weights & Conditioning Work

Thursday
Muay Thai & Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

Friday
Weights & Conditioning Work

Saturday
Weights

9 thoughts on “I have a coach now

  1. fuckin hell people read my bio. I’ll have to get someone to write something decent now.

    I’d like to say something like Thursday will be your first trip into the bowels of hell or something but you’d only be dissappointed when you showed up.

  2. Barry Oglesby said…
    fuckin hell people read my bio. I’ll have to get someone to write something decent now.
    Good idea…that whole ‘literature’ thing was really off putting…you sound like a total pussy.

    I’d like to say something like Thursday will be your first trip into the bowels of hell or something but you’d only be dissappointed when you showed up.
    Ease me in…or don’t…I’m sure it’ll be great craic.

    kira said…
    Bad-ass!

    Orca Orca Orca!

    🙂
    That’s what they’ll be cheering.

    Vyapada said…
    That’s all well and good… but will he make you a better swim coach?
    I sure as hell hope so.

    garrett said…
    I wont be there this thursday but I’ll be down next thursday for sure.
    Cool….see you then.

  3. Barry Oglesby said…
    fuckin hell people read my bio. I’ll have to get someone to write something decent now.
    Good idea…that whole ‘literature’ thing was really off putting…you sound like a total pussy.
    Yeah I was going to do a Will style one which would have said Barry has a degree that he wipes his arse with and he doesn’t care what you think about it you bunch of pricks. But I decided against it. Nobody will be hitting you on Thursday though I’m dissappointed Garret won’t be there as that may mean there’ll only be one guy over 100kgs in the gym 🙂

  4. Barry Oglesby said…
    fuckin hell people read my bio. I’ll have to get someone to write something decent now.
    Good idea…that whole ‘literature’ thing was really off putting…you sound like a total pussy.

    Yeah I was going to do a Will style one which would have said Barry has a degree that he wipes his arse with and he doesn’t care what you think about it you bunch of pricks.
    I would ever say anything like that….sure…I might think it…but I wouldn’t say it.
    But I decided against it. Nobody will be hitting you on Thursday though.
    I know this might surprise you….and will probably amaze others…particularly my Mum…but for some reason people are always throwing punches at me? I’m convinced it must be my aftershave.
    I’m disappointed Garret won’t be there as that may mean there’ll only be one guy over 100kgs in the gym 🙂
    I won’t be over 100kg for long…need to run a pool on how long it will take for me to get down to an even 100kg? Want to be close so if Carl changes his mind and decides to grow a set of balls and fight me one on one it won’t be too much of a stretch to make 90kg for a weigh in.
    See you tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

