Clearing some stuff up for Joel

This is going to be a little confusing so you’ll have to try and stay with me on this one.

Firstly, I have an observation/comment that I want to share with you. I think Blogger has some sort of comment black hole because the question of Joel’s that I am going to post about here I am sure I have actually commented upon and or answered previously. Has any one else had comments disappear?

Secondly, I was asked about the length of time I spend composing blog posts as well as a number of other questions about what my ‘web strategy’ was this week…all of which I thought was extremely funny because I would of thought the answers were pretty obvious…in that the answers were ‘not long enough’ and ‘I don’t have one’. Anyway I’ll get on with it my latest poorly structured and planned blog post.

So…originally I made this post….I once said something that upset someone and there were a bunch of comments…the last of which was this one from Joel:

joel hallström said…
Good post Kira. Im like ian, aint sure if im qualifed to comment but since will wanted a discussion i though id do it anyway…
Training adaptions are highly specific. The transfer of training gain is much lower in good athletes. Thats why the higher an athletes fitness is, the more specific adaption. For a beginner most exercises are useful and probobly both strength and speed will improve with some simple strength training.
There’s alot of factors that are important do determine the force generated by an athlete, resistance is one.
Lets take an example from “Science and practice of strength training by zatsiorsky”.

– A young athlete begin to train with free weights and at first he can squat his BW. In vertical jump he does 40 cm. After 2 years he can squat 2xBW and his vertical jump increases to 60 cm. After two more years he can squat 3xBW. However, his jump performance is not improved because the short takeoff time (the rate of force development) rather than maximal absolute force that now is the limiting factor. Many good athletes need to develop rate of force but continue to train for maximal muscular strength.

I would guess thats why Will have some numbers (depending on what sport you do) that you need to get up to. And until you get to those number there’s not that need for developing rate of force since the strength is your limiting factor.

Then later he said this…mainly because he assumed I was dodging the questions.

joel hallström said…
Maybe i should have been more precise. When you get your athletes up to 1.5 BW squat and 2 BW squat, how do you change their program? Do you put in more of plyometrics, explosive training and so on?

So I’ll try to list the main points and answer them once and for all.

1. That I have some numbers (depending on what sport you do) that you need to get up to.

I have pretty much the same standards for all sports and all athletes…which are as follows…2 times bodyweight squat or deadlift, 1.5 times bodyweight bench press, 12 reps on pull ups if you are under 100kg and 8 reps if you are over 100kg, 50+ push ups in a minute and 30+ inverted rows. I think these are good standards for any athlete to train for and that the balance between maximum strength, relative strength and muscular endurance is pretty much spot on with regard to overall athletic balance with regard to weight training.

2. And until you get to those number there’s not that need for developing rate of force since the strength is your limiting factor.

This one is a bit of a yes and no answer…in that yes, strength is a limiting factor or something that needs to be improved but no, this doesn’t mean that I don’t do power/speed/dynamic/rate of force development work.

As a coach you need to have a feel for these things…when you see athletes train you need to be able to assess whether they are just not strong enough or are they not coordinated enough or not technically proficient or is lack of speed or power a factor in their inability to display their strength. I have plenty of athletes who are ‘stronger’ than me that don’t bench/squat/deadlift as much as me…my technique is just 50kgs better than theirs…people need to get their heads around the fact that it isn’t necessarily the strongest or most powerful athletes that are the best because you have to remember how you are measuring this strength or power…think about where you are measuring it…in the gym or in the lab in most cases. Too many coaches and athletes get carried away with chasing numbers needlessly.

As for what I do with athletes who hit these numbers…without dodging the question…it depends. Keep in mind the gym testing is just a part of the testing we do…there are speed, agility and fitness tests to consider as well. In simple terms though once athletes are hitting these numbers we are working on improving their power and all the other aspects of their sport and the volume of their weights work is naturally reduced to allow this.

Another Fatness Update…119.1kg today.

As I said in the video I thought I’d put this up as I must supposedly be even fatter than days ago. I think this is rubbish…I was 109.5 on Monday the 6th of November and was 119.1kg this evening. That’s 3 weeks on the dot and people keep saying or making out that I’ve put on 10kg of fat…I find it hard to believe that people are so stupid that they think that 10kg of fat is all it takes to get your bench from 140kg to 180kg…now obviously I’ve put on fat…just not 10kgs. Certainly some of the weight gain is water weight…just not 10kgs of water. I’ve put on some muscle mass and some fat.

There is another bet on the go at the moment…there are details to be worked out but it will essentially involve me maintaining my lean muscle mass while getting down to 10% bodyfat and maintaining that level of body fat for 1 month.

If the money breaks the $US500 mark I’ll do this as well.

I’ve extra motivation now as a young athlete who I’ve never actually coached and has never actually worked with me told me on Saturday…that 1. I am full of shit. 2. That I’ve not coached anyone decent. 3. That other players that I do coach are not as good as him. 4. That I’m not the athlete that he is.

In short I held me tongue as it was basically the sort of stuff that only an 18 year old could say with a straight face.

15 thoughts on “Clearing some stuff up for Joel

  1. Thank you for that answer. Could you answer the other question i had in the same post as well? 😉 If you dont remember it was about you setting a date for the weekend…
    Also, mind giving some examples of the speed, agility and fitness tests? I remember seeing a few of the speedtest earlier in this blogg…

  2. Joel Hallström said…
    Thank you for that answer.
    No problem.

    Could you answer the other question i had in the same post as well? 😉 If you dont remember it was about you setting a date for the weekend…
    The response has been so underwhelming I think I will put it off till February next year…when I will have more time and will have the opportunity to properly promote it in the hope of getting maybe 5-7 people there…if I give away some free places I’d say 4-6 free places might help me hit my target numbers.

    Also, mind giving some examples of the speed, agility and fitness tests? I remember seeing a few of the speedtest earlier in this blogg…
    I’ll do this and throw them up on the blog later.

    Anonymous said…
    Ha Ha your out of breath talkin you fat mess………..Flaps.
    I get over excited when talking about my favourite subject…me.

  3. Loved this post . . .

    Thanks for the bench marks . . . I’ve really needed some guidelines about what a ‘balanced’ athlete should be able to do.

    Now all I gotta do is work out how to translate it for the gear I’ve got (rocks, tyres, DIY olympic rings and sled).

    Cheers

  4. Joel Hallström said…
    February? What the hell?! No no no! I want to come over earlier! Is that still possible?
    Apparently I’m less interesting than I thought…and believe me…I didn’t think I was that interesting in the first place…I think only 3 people expressed interest so if that’s the case you might as well come over on your own.

  5. Okay so I’ve got two questions with your ‘benchmarks’ . . .

    Are they different for dudes than for ladies?

    And if these are for athletes what would you recommend for non-athletes who just want to get fit?

    cheers

  6. I’ll post my question after Kira’s…she seemed lonely here.

    For the deadlift and bench press what protocol do you follow to build up to the 1RM during testing?

  7. Kira said…
    Okay so I’ve got two questions with your ‘benchmarks’ . . .

    Are they different for dudes than for ladies?
    I treat the girls like the guys testing and programming wise…the difference is that the majority of the girls that I train are not as experienced ‘weights wise’…but the beginner guys and girls are treated just the same. I have more experienced girls for example who test better than guys relative to body weight…do you follow?

    And if these are for athletes what would you recommend for non-athletes who just want to get fit?
    I think the ‘balance’ of my testing is right….so just scale it down.

    Ian said…
    I’ll post my question after Kira’s…she seemed lonely here.

    For the deadlift and bench press what protocol do you follow to build up to the 1RM during testing?
    Everyone always has opinions on this…I think it is a very individual thing…you need to experiment with your warm ups to produce the best result. I’ll tell you what I do…I start with what I’m going to get and work backwards. I benched 180kg…the set before was a single at 160kg, the one before that a triple at 140kg and before that a triple at 100kg and the 1st warm up set was 8 reps at 60kg. For deadlifting I don’t do as many sets. It would be more like 5 reps at 100kg…the single up via 140kg, 180kg to 220-240kg. Does that help?

    Kira said…
    Um, Ian . . . I’m a dude ;P
    So you say.

  8. Kira said…Um, Ian . . . I’m a dude ;P

    Sorry mate…easy mistake to make if you’ve got a girls name 🙂

    No seriously…my bad…I should’ve looked at your profile first…then I definately wouldn’t have made that mistake!

  9. Ah shit . . .

    So busy being offended by Ian I didn’t even notice that you responded to my questions . . .

    There are a few ladies I’ve been helping out (well, trying to) who want to fight and I wasn’t sure if they should be aiming for the same strength goals as dudes.

    Thanks for the help.

    Much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

