Women’s Rugby

I’m scared to punctuate now because of Lyle making me feel like an illiterate moron for writing Video’s instead of Videos but I’m just going to soldier on.

I coach some women’s rugby players…OK…I just have to have a tiny little mini rant here.

I get shit for not naming names with regard to who I train or coach. Some of the reasons I don’t are as follows:

1. A great coach who taught me a lot when I was starting out told me once…don’t take all the credit unless you are willing to take all the blame…with regard to the athletes I work with I don’t think I deserve either.

2. I work with a large number of athletes that have lots of coaches…they’ve coaches who work with them at college, club, provincial and national level for their particular sports and events…they do their weight training with me…what does that make me? They have conditioning coaches that are involved with them at some or all of these levels…I know I coach them and they know I coach them…does it really matter who else knows?

3. I have a lot of people I’ve worked with over the years that have moved on to other teams or even countries…I’ve got athletes who I haven’t physically coached in over 7 years who’s programs I still write…am I still their coach? Do I still train them?

4. I know that the fact that I won’t do what everyone else in the industry does and have my stupid testimonial page with all ‘my’ athletes listed so people can marvel at my coaching expertise really annoys people…and that makes me happy.

So where was I…so the girls play matches on Sunday and have team training on Tuesday and Thursday.

So this is what we’re going to do:

Sunday
Match.

Monday
Recovery session made up of some light conditioning work, some flexibility and mobility work along with some general rugby prehab.

Tuesday
We’ll do our heaviest strength day pre training…preferably in the AM but if not we’ll do it prior to team training.

Wednesday
This will be our most intense non pitch based conditioning day. We’ll also do a heavy core/trunk circuit in this session.

Thursday
We’ll do a power orientated weights session and some light conditioning work. As with Tuesday we’ll preferably do this AM but if not we’ll do it before training.

Friday
This will be similar to Monday just a bit more intense.

Saturday
A day of rest.

I’ll post the actual program later on today…I just wanted to get this up so that when they hassle me later I can point them to the blog and say that it’s up and that’ll buy me sometime and get them off my case.

The actual details
The girls didn’t buy my excuses at all last night so I thought I better hurry up and get this up.

Sunday
Match.

Monday
Row – 500m @ 1.50-2.00/500m pace
III Way Band Stretch
Row – 500m @ 1.50-2.00/500m pace
Elevated Hip Flexor, Straight Leg and Bent Leg Calf Stretch
Row – 500m @ 1.50-2.00/500m pace
Lat, Pec and Shoulder Stretch
Row – 500m @ 1.50-2.00/500m pace, 250m @ 1.40-1.50/500m pace for 5 sets back to back
Bike – 5 mins at L5
Horizontal Band Pull-A-Parts – 3 sets of 12 reps
Vertical Band Pull-A-Parts – 3 sets of 12 reps
YTWL’s – 3 sets of 5 reps or each
Bike – 10 mins at L5

Tuesday
Cardio – 5-10mins
1A Reverse Med Ball Lunges – 3 sets of 8 each side
1B Overs and Unders – 3 sets of 8 each side
1C Overhead Med Ball Squats – 3 sets of 8 each side
Box Squat – 1 set of 8, 1 set 5 and 5 sets of 3-5 reps
Natural Glute Ham Raises – 5 sets of 8 reps
Ab Roll Outs – 3 sets of 12 reps
2A Scap Push Ups – 3 sets of 8 each side
2B Chest Supported Scap Shrugs – 3 sets of 8 each side
Pull Ups – 2 warm up sets of 8 reps, 5 work sets of 5-8 reps
Altrenating Arm DB Press – 3 sets of 8 reps each side
Lateral Woodchoppers – 3 sets of 8 reps each side
3A Natual Reverse Hypers – 3 sets of 12 reps
3B Back Extensions – 3 sets of 12 reps

Wednesday
Bike – 5 mins L5, 5 sets of 40/20’s (L8/L5), 5 mins L5, 5 sets of 30/30’s (L8/L5), 5 mins L5, 5 sets of 20/40’s (L8/L5), 5 mins L5.

Thursday
1A Hurdle Steps – 3 sets of 8 each side
1B Hip Pop Ups – 3 sets of 8 each side
1C Linear and Lateral Leg Swings – 3 sets of 8 each side
2A Trap Bar Deadlift – 8 sets of 3 reps (BW)
2B Reactive Box Jumps – 8 sets of 3 reps
Ab Pull Downs – 3 sets of 15 reps
3A Scap Pull Ups – 3 sets of 8 each side
3B Inverted Scap Shrugs – 3 sets of 8 each side
4A Bench Press – 8 sets of 3 reps (60% of max)
4B Lying Med Ball Toss – 8 sets of 3 reps
Torque Press – 3 sets of 8 reps each side
5A Inverted Rows – 8 sets of 3 reps
5B Med Ball Throw Downs – 8 sets of 3 reps
Bridging – 3 sets of 60 seconds (weighted)

Friday
Row – 500m @ 1.50-2.00/500m pace
III Way Band Stretch
Row – 500m @ 1.50-2.00/500m pace
Elevated Hip Flexor, Straight Leg and Bent Leg Calf Stretch
Row – 500m @ 1.50-2.00/500m pace
Lat, Pec and Shoulder Stretch
Row – 500m @ 1.50-2.00/500m pace, 250m @ max effort for 8 sets back to back
Bike – 5 mins at L5
Horizontal Band Pull-A-Parts – 3 sets of 12 reps
Vertical Band Pull-A-Parts – 3 sets of 12 reps
YTWL’s – 3 sets of 5 reps or each
Bike – 10 mins at L5

Saturday
A day of rest.

So that’ll be it for the girls for the time being…we’ll see how they get on and test in 4-6 weeks.

One thought on “Women’s Rugby

Leave a Reply

