I have a follower…

…only one…but that’s a start I guess.

Videos
Just before I left the gym today I realised that I hadn’t got around to answering the question that was posted regarding what band pull-a-parts should look like. So I thought I would quickly make a video with the horizontal and vertical variations…well…I got a little carried away and went all Jimmy Smith on it’s arse…and went a little over the top…I’m posting it as is. I thought for a while about ditching it and actually scripting and organising a proper video and making it tomorrow. I was even thinking of shaving, washing and maybe even holding my gut in the whole time I was on screen. But then I realised that would be extremely ghey…so you can take it or leave it.

I think what I’ll do is actually put a bit of a structure to them in the future and I’ll need to think about it but if people think the whole band/shoulder thing is a goer than I’ll do work…if not and people hate it…then definitely expect many more.


Shoulder Mobility/Stability Work

Project Ian
Well in truth it isn’t really a project…I’m just going to help him with a program. We’ll do a basic transition program for 2 weeks then test and look at all the results and take it from there. I’ll do the first bit of this tomorrow.

12 thoughts on “I have a follower…

  1. Hey you illiterate bozo

    Video’s should NOT have an apostrophe s. It’s Videos which is the plural of video

    Video’s means belonging to video.

    Lyle

  2. Hey you illiterate bozo

    Video’s should NOT have an apostrophe s. It’s Videos which is the plural of video

    Video’s means belonging to video.
    I’ve no idea what you are talking about!

  3. thanks for putting that up will very informative though you don’t hold a candle to jimmy smith.
    Just a few quick questions (bet you didn’t see that coming)
    With the use of the shrugs and pulls do you seek progression in the loading and do you ever program them as main exercises and seek real big improvements (this would mainly be for the scap row shrugs and pullup shrugs)
    also have you ever tried the dip shrug (start at top and push up high relax and repeat) i like the feel of it and see it being useful for athletes looking to master bodyweight exercises.
    Also this last is a bit off topic but when you speak about avoiding shoulder work this only applies to in season right? (just i could see it being use ful add strength and size in offseaason and i am pretty sure you have guys doing pushpresses in the offseason)
    Thanks again for your time

    Also to anonymous do you mean up to the shoulder type missing or up to the elbow either way there was a cool youtube video floating round of a young wrestler with the same issue going through some pretty intense training with some ideas that could be useful

  4. adrienl said…
    thanks for putting that up will very informative though you don’t hold a candle to jimmy smith.
    No one does.

    Just a few quick questions (bet you didn’t see that coming)
    With the use of the shrugs and pulls do you seek progression in the loading and do you ever program them as main exercises and seek real big improvements (this would mainly be for the scap row shrugs and pullup shrugs).
    No. Not too concerned about the weight. Look for mastery instead. Better control and execution.

    also have you ever tried the dip shrug (start at top and push up high relax and repeat) i like the feel of it and see it being useful for athletes looking to master bodyweight exercises.
    Nope.

    Also this last is a bit off topic but when you speak about avoiding shoulder work this only applies to in season right?
    I’m just going to have to stop saying that. When I say that I mean I don’t go out of my way to program shoulder work is all.

    (just i could see it being useful add strength and size in offseason and i am pretty sure you have guys doing pushpresses in the offseason)
    Yes, this is all true.

  5. Great post Will!
    I work alot with shoulderpatients and a good scapulafunction is essential for maintaining good shoulder health, most of the stuff in your post is spot on.
    Adrienl talked about the “dip shrug” and that is the first exercise i use when I get a patient with a secondary impingement since 9/10 has an inhibited lower trap when having shoulder pain. Its a great exercise for those who have to much pain for doing any flexion/abduktion. I usually combine it with the serratus pushup that I think is a much better option then the serratus bench press since the scapulas are easier to protract when “free”.

  6. Joel Hallström said…
    Great post Will!
    I know.

    I work alot with shoulderpatients and a good scapulafunction is essential for maintaining good shoulder health, most of the stuff in your post is spot on.
    Of course.

    Adrienl talked about the “dip shrug” and that is the first exercise i use when I get a patient with a secondary impingement since 9/10 has an inhibited lower trap when having shoulder pain. Its a great exercise for those who have to much pain for doing any flexion/abduktion.
    I’ll have to try it.

    I usually combine it with the serratus pushup that I think is a much better option then the serratus bench press since the scapulas are easier to protract when “free”.
    I use both.

  7. well at least some likes my suggestions
    Also will i have got to agree on the idea of harder and cooler exercises though your programs aren’t yet cool enough i mean i haven’t seen a one legged safety bar squat to a high box (1 inch above parralel) while holding kettlebells with a monster mini doublebanded to the bar and chains to the kettlebells that come off 1 inch below the sticking point. for best results this should be performed with a 325461 tempo that changes every rep that is a prime number.

    Hopefully that will get me into the inner circle of will heffernan

    A little more seriously thanks to joel for that dditional info ill make sure to remember it

Leave a Reply

