Want to say a few well dones

In no particular order…but well done to Chops…who managed to lock himself out of the gym even though he had the keys…I couldn’t believe I actually had to tell him to ‘push the door harder’ when he told me that apparently…according to him…’someone had bolted it from the inside’…must have been the security fairies then? Anyway with a little help over the phone he managed to get into the gym.

John also deserves a mention…he did a couple of months with me a while back then went solo for a couple of months with the program we put together and he’s come back pulling like a freight train. He’s come back in really great shape…in such good shape I’m actually surprised he came back at all. Any way I am glad he did…because I am going to have so much fun dialling his work up an extra notch. He’s built a fantastic endurance base and we are going to really work on his power production this month and see where it gets us…you guys who are interested in training and coaching should actually stop badgering me and start asking him questions because I think you’d get a good perspective on what training with me is all about.

I also want to give ‘The Rower’ a pat on the back as well…a little while back I told him he was an embarrassment to professional sportsmen the world over and was a fat mess. The Rower has basically never trained with me and he’s actually someone else’s athlete hence the assumed name but he took in and has taken on extra sessions with me. He’s done everything I’ve given and the only question he’s asked is how hard and how fast I wanted it…his training that is. He’s given it everything every session and I wish I had more athletes just like him….actually while I’m at it I wish I was more like him.

His session today went like this:

5x500m with 60 second recovery
5 mins at Level 5 on the bike
8x300m with 45 second recovery
5 mins at Level 5 on the bike
12x150m with 30 second recovery


These were his times.

17 thoughts on “Want to say a few well dones

  1. Thats a little bit of rowing !! Well done whoever the Rower is !!!

    Morning Sessions this week

    8 x 500m / 3min30 rest 1:32/500m
    Steady distance (~8 to 15k) 1:58.5/500m
    5 x 1500m / 5min rest 1:48/500m
    Steady distance (~8 to 15k)
    Hard distance (~5k+)
    Steady distance (~8 to 15k)

  2. João Mimoso said…
    What sport does he play? Rugby?
    That’s a secret…but yes.

    That’s a hell of a lot of rowing.
    It would of killed him at the start….this time it only induced a near death experience.

    Damian Griffin said…
    Thats a little bit of rowing !! Well done whoever the Rower is !!!

    Morning Sessions this week
    8 x 500m / 3min30 rest 1:32/500m
    Steady distance (~8 to 15k) 1:58.5/500m
    5 x 1500m / 5min rest 1:48/500m
    Steady distance (~8 to 15k)
    Hard distance (~5k+)
    Steady distance (~8 to 15k)
    Just shut up and keep rowing…we’ve all got problems.

  3. The encouragement is as ever . Was really asking your opinion on my change of programme. Running is tied in too ????

  4. Cheers for the mention Will! It was realy worth it for those near death 500s.

    That is an insane amount of rowing Damian. Will, I hope you are not going to do that to me?

  5. John,

    to be honest its not too bad. You get used to it after the first 100,000m. I’m doing a weight session each evening aswell.

    This is the look of week 2

    250m, 500m, 750m, 1k, 750m, 500m, 250m / 1min30 rest per 250m work

    Steady distance (~8 to 15k)

    4 x 2000m / 5min rest

    Steady distance (~8 to 15k)

    Hard distance (~5k+)

    Steady distance (~8 to 15k)

    Rest

  6. Why all the long distances Damian?

    Does that not knock the edge off your max power output? Are you going for a world record 2000M race time or something?

  7. John, i’m out of the country at the moment and running space is limited. A 1350m circuit. So I do some interval training but am trying to push on my rowing times. I will miss the entire Basketball season at home so need a focus – hence the rowing. The key is keeping my weight up !!

  8. Hi Damain,

    Are you kicking about the gym next Thursday & Friday?

    I'm coming over to see Will…and fearing that he'll have me do some sort of rowing sprint…and thought it would be interesting to watch your rowing technique.

  9. Hey Ian,

    I fly into country on Thursday night about 6pm. So could drop in on Friday if that helps. What time you thinking – if Will lets me in. Have we met ??

  10. Hi Damian,

    I’ll be at the facility during Friday but will be leaving between 3-4pm I would guess to get to the airport.

    We haven’t met other than through my posting comments here and over on the rowing blog you put up a while back.

    I was keen to go over sprinting technique…and having made great strides in conditioning since taking up rowing in June I dropped the volume a bit over the last month and when I now to try and pick up the pace again it is as if I am starting over again…it seems my conditioning has dropped like a stone in a very short period of time.

    Hope to see you there but no worries if you can’t make if you’re only just returing to the country.

  11. I was wondering if it was true that ROK hadn’t been training with you because she’d been injured at training doing your program and that Irish Basketball had told her that she was no longer to train with you?

    I’ve also heard that apparently she is one of a long list of athletes that you had injured in recent times including other female basketballers, rugby players and haven’t heard anything about that tennis player for a while either.

    Just wondering if this is true or not?

  12. Anonymous, i’ve never seen or heard of anyone get injured from doing the training programs.ITS actually the opposite now with all the training and conditioning we’ve done we’re more likely not going to get injured.
    You’re full of shit!

  13. The bravery of leaving comments in an Anonymous way !!! If you want to defame an individual at least have the courtesy to identify yourself

  14. Anonymous said…
    I was wondering if it was true that ROK hadn’t been training with you because she’d been injured at training doing your program and that Irish Basketball had told her that she was no longer to train with you?
    Ahhhh no and no. Is there much else I can say about this?

    I’ve also heard that apparently she is one of a long list of athletes that you had injured in recent times including other female basketballers, rugby players and haven’t heard anything about that tennis player for a while either.
    Ahhhh no…no…and no and no. Everyone is training away and is fit and healthy?

    Just wondering if this is true or not?
    Ahhh on…it is quite the opposite…and if I was more like the other ‘strength and conditioning coaches’ and ‘trainers’ out there I could regale you with stories about all my successes and triumphs but that isn’t actually my style. Mainly because as I’ve said before the internet counts for less than fuck all of my coaching revenue and the interweb marketing opportunities mean less than fuck all of anything I could possibly care about and if you are sitting at home deciding whether or not you want to be trained by me or not based on what you read or hear on the interweb etc I would rather you blow your fucking brains out than come to see me because if you are fucking stupid enough to believe what you read on the interweb you deserve whatever rubbish you get from those idiots at t-nation, or those morons that emailed me this week from x-fit telling me about the wisdom of that fat out of shape dickhead Glassman, or the other graduates of the as yet unnamed University who took the time to explain to me why I should not be doing the work I’m doing which I can only assume is a response to the fact that I got the work/contracts that they assumed they were entitled to….FUCK YOU. Feel free to post whatever comments you like on the blog as I think it only serves to demonstrate how pathetic and inept you all are.

Leave a Reply

