769 unread work related emails…

…and 531 personal ones but obviously work comes first. I’m going to try to get through as many of them as possible today as I can.

As you may well have worked out for yourself I’m back from the sunny South of France.

I am going to do this blog entry in bits and pieces as and when I get the time this week so you’ll have to come back to check it out as I’ll continue with my blog entries as normal as well.

It was a week long training camp and we got some great work done…it went something like this:

Sunday – Travel Day.
Monday – AM: Fitness PM: Fitness and Skills
Tuesday – AM: Fitness PM: Fitness and Team Technical/Tactical Work
Wednesday – AM: Fitness PM: Fitness and Team Technical/Tactical Work
Thursday – AM: Rest & Recovery PM: Team Run
Friday – AM: Rest & Recovery PM: Match
Saturday – AM: OFF PM: USAP vs Stade Francais match.
Sunday – AM: OFF PM: Light Fitness

Monday – AM
The fitness work consisted of an extended warm up then the following.

A partner based strength circuit along with sprint repeats.

The players were paired up by weight and the exercise and sprints were as follows:

Push Up
Fireman’s Squat
Inverted Rows
Squat and Curl

The task was to do as many reps as possible in 30 seconds before toeing the line and completing 3 sprints. The sprints consisted of a 20m sprint, 5m back pedal and 20m sprint with a recovery jog back to the start to get ready to commence the next sprint.

So 30 seconds of strength work, then 3 sprint and change over.

Here’s an example…this was taken on their second or third block of work.

This is the push up variation…I would also like you to note that it is very much my voice in the background as I got a few emails which mentioned the rumour that I had been sacked and was being sued and had ‘lost everything’…once again…I say once again because I hear about this rumour every few months…you can bet that the guys in the video wished this was true because this was considered one of the ‘easier sessions’.

Fireman’s Squat…I’ve cut these down as you don’t need to see the whole thing to know what is going on…I’m sure you get the idea.

Inverted Rows.

Squat and Curl

We did 4 blocks of this with 2 minutes recovery in between and then played some conditioning games afterwards before heading back for a swim and some lunch.

Monday – PM

I’m not going to go through the details of every single session as it would take me hours and hours to detail them in entirety. But I want to give people an idea of what was going on and if people want to know more then you can ask questions.

The fitness component in the afternoon was primarily speed and agility work. Once again the players were paired up and completed over 2 separate drills and completed both drills on the left and right side to complete a ‘block’. 10 blocks in total were completed.

Then we played another speed and agility again…the finale of which is posted below.

Put to the sword…in fairness to Roy…this was a tie breaker.

After this we broke into Forwards and Backs to do our technical and tactical work before coming back together for some team work.

The injured members of the squad were working hard as well to get back on the pitch as soon as possible.

We start our Jedi training as soon as possible.

5 thoughts on “769 unread work related emails…

  1. I liked the fireman squat, squat and curl and the push up variation but the inverted rows looked a bit off due to the short range of motion.

    Are these common training movements for “field” athletes or did you come up with them on your own.

  2. Michael Sullivan said…
    I liked the fireman squat, squat and curl and the push up variation but the inverted rows looked a bit off due to the short range of motion.
    In this situation that sort range of motion isn’t really a big deal.

    Are these common training movements for “field” athletes or did you come up with them on your own.
    I invented them all and I have pictures dating back to 1998 I think so unless someone can produce video or pictures that pre date those by ‘internet law’ I own them and anyone that ever does any of them owes me €1 per day.

    It is basically just an excellent way to induce massive amounts of fatigue prior to sprinting and for field contact sports I think it is a great conditioning tool.

    You should see some of the other stuff they had to do…the lads thought this was the ‘easy’ day.

  3. Is “proprioceptive work” something you do with all your athletes? If not, how do you decide who needs it, and do you follow any particular ‘protocol’ or anything?

    I’ve never seen this before and it’s quite interesting.

  4. Anonymous said…
    Is “proprioceptive work” something you do with all your athletes?
    If they get injured.

    If not, how do you decide who needs it, and do you follow any particular ‘protocol’ or anything?
    The limping is usually the give away…yes…I follow protocols.

    I’ve never seen this before and it’s quite interesting.
    You need to get out more.

Leave a Reply

