OK…so I lied…nothing new there

I thought I’d quickly post this before I hit the sack.

This guy was in for his first session with me today. Good natural athlete with a good training and playing history. I was in early and so was he so I had a chance to video all his testing. I’m just going to post it and go to bed. I’ve plenty to say about it and I’ll come back to this and all the questions posted recently on Sunday as promised.

1RM Bench Press

Firstly…this bench is all kinds of ugly. His grip is too narrow, his elbows too wide, he benches too high a line, he benches too long a line, his set up is all wrong and his trunk movement and hip lift on the bench makes it all kind of ‘just plain wrong’. This lad has a lot of natural strength and when we tidy up his technique and put it all into the bar he’ll add 15kgs to his bench in the next couple of months and make me look like a genius if he does what he’s told.

Repetition Pull Ups

This is pretty straight forward. He did well. A boat load of scap and shoulder work and he’ll get 12 reps easily. Like a lot of athletes he actually has more strength than he can display because of poor joint stability and control.

Push Ups in 60 seconds

His Push Ups and Inverted Rows are in the balance I would like…we just need to get the totals up. Would like to see him get 60 push ups and 30+ inverted rows.

Inverted Rows in 60 seconds

See above.

1RM TrapBar Deadlift

Like his bench…his technique is appalling…but we’ll fix that and he’ll do 200kgs next time he tests if he does what he’s told.

4 thoughts on “OK…so I lied…nothing new there

  1. Once again your videos keep freezing up on me no matter which country I am viewing them from.

    My training in teh Mexico was very limited and most of it limited on purpose but I did set up my blast straps and was doing many sets ups pullups in a “greasing the groove” fashion throughout the day. Normally I can do pullups without any complaints but have noticed that my elbows have been very sore doing them with the blast straps. In your opinion would that be from the rotation of the hands in the pull or from the instability of the straps?

  2. Michael Sullivan said…
    Once again your videos keep freezing up on me no matter which country I am viewing them from.
    I had the same problem with firefox…do a google search or search on YouTube…you find the solution there.

    My training in teh Mexico was very limited and most of it limited on purpose but I did set up my blast straps and was doing many sets ups pullups in a “greasing the groove” fashion throughout the day. Normally I can do pullups without any complaints but have noticed that my elbows have been very sore doing them with the blast straps. In your opinion would that be from the rotation of the hands in the pull or from the instability of the straps?
    Yes.

  3. On the pushup vid, you say:
    “A boat load of scap and shoulder work and he’ll get 12 reps easily. Like a lot of athletes he actually has more strength than he can display because of poor joint stability and control.”

    Most people think ‘lat strength’ for pullups… Can you explain a bit more how shoulder / scap stability and control affect pullup numbers?

  4. Anonymous said…
    On the pushup vid, you say:
    “A boat load of scap and shoulder work and he’ll get 12 reps easily. Like a lot of athletes he actually has more strength than he can display because of poor joint stability and control.”

    Most people think ‘lat strength’ for pullups… Can you explain a bit more how shoulder / scap stability and control affect pullup numbers?
    1. I’m starting to think that if people can’t be bothered to use their name when posting questions then I can’t be bothered answering their questions.

    2. I’m not exactly sure what you are asking?

    I assume it is about why I think that shoulder stability and control is important with regard to upper body performance?

    3. I am heading back to the gym right now so I will answer what I assume is your question when I get home tonight.

Leave a Reply

