Only time for a quickie

Have a lot on the next couple of days so the blogging will be pretty sparse but I thought something is better than nothing. Set my stop watch and have given myself 20 minutes to blog and I’ve just wasted 2 minutes telling you that.

Did some basketball tonight and I thought I might just give you an idea of how I put together training sessions because I don’t think I have spoken about my basketball work before.

Our training session looked as follows:

15 minutes warm up, mobility and dynamic flexibility work.
10 minutes full court game – 4 minute 30 second halves with 1 min recovery
10 minutes conditioning work – L & R side shuffle 3 sets, 1 min recovery, L & R side run 3 sets, 1 min recovery, L & R side shuffle 2 sets, 1 min recovery, L & R side run 2 sets, 1 min recovery.
10 minutes full court game – 4 minute 30 second halves with 1 min recovery
10 minutes conditioning work – Pass and run drill…the same one that you’ve seen the rugby lads do, the Gaelic football lads do and the same drill you’ll see the hockey girls do next week. They did 20, 40, 60 with 30 second recovery and 1 minute between sets.
10 minutes full court game – 4 minute 30 second halves with 1 min recovery
10 minutes conditioning work – reaction work in pairs working on the transition from side shuffle to forward run and backward running.
10 minutes full court game – 4 minute 30 second halves with 1 min recovery
Cool down and shooting practice.

I thought I better post this because according to internet law…if I don’t have video of it then it never happened. This is just an example of a side run.

I made it with 2 minutes to spare.

One thought on “Only time for a quickie

Leave a Reply

