The athletes appearing in the following post are actually paid actors

I’m still laughing about the posts I read this morning. I’ve finally been ‘found out’…I should put a disclaimer out the front of the gym and on the blog to protect myself from a lawsuit.

Note: The text, images, videos, athletes, sweat, blood and tears that may appear are works of fiction and may or may not represent reality.

I’d say this actor wished he was working at a children’s party today or maybe doing a commercial for toothpaste.


Logi was calling an ambulance right after his session…he needn’t of worried…the ambulance guy was right outside keeping an eye on him.

Naturally that’s not his own sweat that he’s bathed in.


This actor did well considering he usually earns his dollars as a body double for “Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson”.

I put these actors through their paces this morning.

Bike 10 mins – 5mins Level 5..then increasing a level every minute at each minute interval.
1A 3 Pull Ups
1B 10 Push Ups
1C Bridging…it was done by Logi and Tank so while Logi did his Pull Ups and Push Ups the Tank was bridging and then swapped over…they did as many circuits as possible in 15 minutes.
Bike 10 mins – 5mins Level 5..then increasing a level every minute at each minute interval.
2A 10 reps Bench Press
2B 10 Reps Inverted Rows
2C 10 Barbell windscreen wipers…once again done as a 15 minute circuit.
Bike 10 mins – 5mins Level 5..then increasing a level every minute at each minute interval.

So an hour of work and well done.

Would you want to train after these guys?

Patrick did his testing today…we are going to start a body building phase next.
Results as follows:
TrapBar Deadlift – 100kg
Bench Press – 60kg
Pull Ups – 1 rep
Push Ups – 32
Inverted Rows – 15

Oh…I forgot…apparently none of my athletes squat to depth either!

Not sure how much deeper this guy can go?

7 thoughts on “The athletes appearing in the following post are actually paid actors

  1. hi will
    Just popping in to say a few things
    1) DID YOU SEE THE WALLABIES MAN?
    good stuff that game and i hope you have a kiwi to taunt.
    2) thanks for answering the q’s about the tests and to clarify a few things yes that was a joke about poliquin and in regards to progression i meant how you developed the tests and checked they worked well for your athletes.
    3) In regards to the blog and haters the trick is to ignore those who don’t use a real name. cuts out the bullshit real quick.
    also i realise you are busy but i think the blog works well if you keep updates on the athlete to see how they progress and how you change their program accodringly. They or you could place these in the athlete’s blog, if you find the time.
    4)Would you inquire to patrick if he is up for some friendly competition with regards to his testing. these could be done on the same day, with us posting videos for those on the interweb who believe in charades. I ask because his lifts are close to mine and i am going to implement your tests on a 6 weekly planned basis to give myself some accountability.
    I realise this was long and salute you for reading just keep up the good work and good luck to you and your athletes heading to beijing (even if they are figments of the imagination ;).

  2. Adrienl said…
    hi will
    Just popping in to say a few things
    1) DID YOU SEE THE WALLABIES MAN?
    good stuff that game and i hope you have a kiwi to taunt.
    I did see it. Great game. As always…a great team always beats a team of great individuals…I have to say…thankfully there is only one Dan Carter.

    2) thanks for answering the q’s about the tests and to clarify a few things yes that was a joke about poliquin and in regards to progression i meant how you developed the tests and checked they worked well for your athletes.
    I didn’t really develop the tests…they just seem right to me.

    3) In regards to the blog and haters the trick is to ignore those who don’t use a real name. cuts out the bullshit real quick.
    I actually don’t mind…the bit I find the funniest is that they actually think they effect me….or even upset me.

    also i realise you are busy but i think the blog works well if you keep updates on the athlete to see how they progress and how you change their program accodringly. They or you could place these in the athlete’s blog, if you find the time.
    I know I know…basically I’ve been working from 7am till 10pm Monday to Friday and usually till after lunch on Saturday…occasionally I get a chance to blog a little at lunch during the week but basically just doing a bit when I get home in the evenings. As usual I bit off a bit more than I could chew….and that is saying something because I can chew a lot. Basically the blog isn’t the best way to do this…eventually when I find a way to ‘sell out’ and to make some money from the interwebz I’ll be able to transition to an actual website which I’m sure would give much better functionality….but I don’t see that happening any time soon.

    4)Would you inquire to patrick if he is up for some friendly competition with regards to his testing. these could be done on the same day, with us posting videos for those on the interweb who believe in charades. I ask because his lifts are close to mine and i am going to implement your tests on a 6 weekly planned basis to give myself some accountability.
    I think he is away working but I will let him know.

    I realise this was long and salute you for reading just keep up the good work and good luck to you and your athletes heading to beijing (even if they are figments of the imagination ;).
    No problem…as always…if you bother to post questions…I’ll bother to answer them.

  3. “Not sure how much deeper this guy can go?”

    Actually doesn’t look to me like he can go as low as he did, looks like his back is rounding? Maybe just the camera angle.

    Once your calves are touching your hamstrings, is there any point to going lower? I think people get carried away going as low as possible, to really get as low as possible, you have to relax the quads, which doesn’t seem too smart.

  4. Billy Budd said…
    “Not sure how much deeper this guy can go?”

    Actually doesn’t look to me like he can go as low as he did, looks like his back is rounding? Maybe just the camera angle.
    I think that whole rounded back thing is highly overrated. So the amount if any of rounding he has doesn’t worry me in the slightest.

    Once your calves are touching your hamstrings, is there any point to going lower? I think people get carried away going as low as possible, to really get as low as possible, you have to relax the quads, which doesn’t seem too smart.
    Agreed.

  5. Will said…
    eventually when I find a way to ‘sell out’ and to make some money from the interwebz

    How approriate. I was going to appraise you, but even better I can give you the all important testimonial for your upcoming sell out.
    “Will Heffernan truly knows his stuff. Couple of years ago I was bicycling to work every day, come sleet or snow, 18km one way. I was in great aerobic condition, but couldn’t improve my time. But this morning, having not bicycled for well over a year, and after following for only a few weeks Will’s method of “Get Fast First” I equalled my best “dead on arrival” time. But now, after the bout I still had fresh legs. I could have continued on and on and on. Like Will does when he rants. He is my go to guy when I need superior conditioning. Thanks Will!

    Sami from Finland”

  6. Sami said…

    Will said…
    eventually when I find a way to ‘sell out’ and to make some money from the interwebz

    How approriate. I was going to appraise you, but even better I can give you the all important testimonial for your upcoming sell out.
    “Will Heffernan truly knows his stuff. Couple of years ago I was bicycling to work every day, come sleet or snow, 18km one way. I was in great aerobic condition, but couldn’t improve my time. But this morning, having not bicycled for well over a year, and after following for only a few weeks Will’s method of “Get Fast First” I equalled my best “dead on arrival” time. But now, after the bout I still had fresh legs. I could have continued on and on and on. Like Will does when he rants. He is my go to guy when I need superior conditioning. Thanks Will!

    Sami from Finland”
    This is why I will never be any good…you’ve written a testimonial for a product that I am too dumb to come up with.

  7. What’s your view on rotation exercises at the lumbar spine like the windscreen whiper? Ive seen a few coaches taking them of the program after reading Shirley Sarhmann’s Treatment of movement Impairment Syndromes Movement in wich she states that :”Rotation of the lumbar spine is more dangerous than beneficial and rotation of the pelvis and lower extremities to one side while the trunk remain stable or is rotated to the other side is particularly dangerous”

Leave a Reply

