What coaching is all about

Joel Hallström said…
Could you give some examples of what kind of supplementary work you use for getting the deadlift to new numbers?

This is a great question because it gets straight to the point of coaching and what makes one coach different and or better or worse than others.

Warning – Mini Rant to Follow
Now…you could ask this question of coaches and pretty much get the same answer from all of them. I mean I could give you the ‘stock standard’ answer to this question myself. I could say something along the lines of ‘heavy ab, hamstring and lower back work’ and that is the equivalent of telling someone that they would fix their diet by eating more fruit and vegetables…actually scratch that…I think I read something along the lines of ‘fruit being the reason that people are fat’ the other day so maybe that isn’t a good example. But anyway this is one of the reasons that I don’t really write articles and why this blog isn’t about me giving everyone ‘training secrets’ because on a whole all that stuff is rubbish. I’ve not seen two people respond the same to training let alone ALL people respond the same way to training.

I’ve female athletes weighing in under 50kg as well as female athletes weighing 100kg+. As well as male athletes from 60kg to 125kg+. They range in age from 14 years old to masters athletes I work with who are….lets just say 65+ years of age to be kind. They vary in height from just over 5 foot to just under 7 foot. So in all seriousness…do you really think I have a ‘general’ list of supplementary exercises? Or that they need the same supplementary exercises to improve their deadlift. Being a good coach is all about being able to look at athletes and to ‘know’ what they specifically need to improve. Along with the ability to ‘know’ of it is working.

Now I am not having a go at Joel…the question is a good one…I get asked it a lot in all variations…last night I was asked by an athlete who has only recently started with me what exercises he could do to improve his bench. My answer to him was in parts but basically boiled down to…’I don’t know.’. The reason being that first we have to improve his technique then I need to see him performing consistently so I’ll ‘know’ what he needs to do to improve it. The answer I could of given him was similar to the ‘stock standard’ answer for the deadlift. I could of said ‘floor pressing, board work, tricep and back work’…but that is a crap answer.

Johnny for example has improved his bench because he has done a load of back work and shoulder stability and mobility work. His deadlift has improved because while we were waiting for his knee surgery he did a lot of lower back, heavy ab and hip extension work. The thing being that the selection of exercises and how and when we did them were the important bit and that is the only bit that can’t be explained in an article or post.

Any way…I just saw some of the comments re the lighting/video darkness. Here’s a couple taken literally 3 minutes apart.

This is a little on the dark side…but don’t you think it makes out training look mysterious?

This just doesn’t look mysterious or top secret at all.

One thought on “What coaching is all about

  1. Thanks for the answer. Agreed that you ranted away 🙂 Maybe I should have made it clearer. I was asking about Johnny in particular, I know (believe it or not;) that its differs alot and that you can’t use the same supplementary work for everyone. Though it was sweet with a long answer and I got what i was asking for at last!

Leave a Reply

