I was on the road tonight

I was working in another facility tonight testing an Irish Superleague Basketball team.

We did a spider test or 150m test…whatever you want to call it…after you finish it people call it a lot of different things…none of which I can print here.

It is 6 30 second efforts with 30 seconds recovery run back to back. Lanes are laid out with markers at 5, 10, 15, 20 & 25 metre intervals. At the whistle you race out to the 5m line and back then out to the 10m line and back and on and on it goes…you basically have to cover as much distance as possible in 30 seconds basically. So if you make it all the way out to the last cone and back that is 150m. I really like this test for field and court sports because It gives me a lot of information in a really short time.

João Mimoso has left a new comment on your post “I was on the road tonight”:

It’s funny that i have the same test for my Basketball team. Only i don’t mark the floor and count the last crossed line(baseline,free throw,mid,free throw,baseline. If they finish just 1m before the next line->boo hoo
Mine is the same…in that whether you just cross one line or get within a foot of the next line you get the distance covered to the last crossed line. I’ve had guys want to punch me in the head after just missing something like 3 consecutive lines by inches…I say ‘want’ to punch me because very few actually have the strength afterwards.

For example…here are some results from this week…one from a basketball player tonight and one from a footballer late last week.

Basketballer:
1. 135m
2. 125m
3. 115m
4. 115m
5. 105m
6. 110m
Total = 705m

Footballer:
1. 155m
2. 145m
3. 115m
4. 105m
5. 100m
6. 95m
Total = 715m

Actually…before I tell you what I get out of it…what do you get from these results?

Anyway…before we discuss this test…can I just say I’m a little disappointed. Out of the 8 guys that did the test only 2 of them threw up afterwards…if you are really ‘putting in’ on this test vomiting is usually the inevitable result.

After the the testing finished I gave them some quiet time before we went over the results. Then we headed up to the gym to do their 1RM bench, pull up repetition, push up and inverted row testing.

I had to laugh when I went into the gym…the place was a mess…good facility…not well managed…well basically from the looks of it not managed at all. I thought the sign was a nice touch. Obviously whoever manages the gym rules the place with an iron fist.

I don’t think people really understand what this sign means?

Before that it was business as usual. The Fatathon is going well. I can’t wait till the weigh in on Monday afternoon. I know the guys are doing well because the amount of abuse I’ve been receiving has been steadily ratcheting up this week. I mean above and beyond the standard abuse I receive normally.

The guys had a strength session tonight…Chops, Chunky & Little John the 3 merry men did the following:

10 minutes on the bike
2 sets of 8 reps of hurdle steps each side
2 sets of 8 reps of single leg hip pop ups
Trap Bar Deadlifts – 3×8, 3×4 & 3×2…they went 100kg+ for the 8’s, 160kg+ for the 4’s and 180-250kg for the 2’s.
Elevated Split Squats – 4×8 each leg.

Natural Reverse Hypers – 3×25.
Incline Barbell Press – 3×8, 3×4 & 3×2. If Little John checks this or Chunky maybe they could tell you what the went for each progression…I know Chops won’t tell you because he is a) too weak from dieting to even type. b) too busy thinking of how many ways he’d like to kill me.
Blast Strap Inverted Rows – 5×10
45 degree Back Extensions – 5×10
Bike – 10 mins

Q&A…otherwise known as Questions & Abuse
Michael Sullivan has left a new comment on your post “It’s all about Pull Ups these last couple of days”:

Will Heffernan said…
No kicking off the bottom but I don’t mind you kicking at the top…and it has always been the same.

I think that may be the dumbest thing you have ever said and that is saying a lot. What the feck is the point of the test if a little cheating is OK?
OK…the problem is that I don’t/can’t do all the testing for all the athletes I work with. A lot of them train at a lot of other facilities and I was getting huge discrepancies in testing results so I basically ended up saying no kicking off the bottom to stop the kipping. I will take the criticism on the chin. I know it isn’t perfect.

Why not bounce the bar off your chest when benching,
They do.

use knee wraps when squatting,
Never seen a single athlete ever squat with wraps in Ireland in nearly 10 years.

Dan John hump the bar for inverted rows?
I better not video any of the inverted rows then in that case.

When we tested in Utah you said each pull up had to done from a dead hang and kicking was not done by any of the people testing not even you.
I know…but that was just because it was a group of elite athletes.

I would like to put in a formal protest to the testing committee and would like to revise the testing numbers I submitted. Add 3 pullups to my score, 4 inverted rows and 25kg on squats.
I will lodge your application…wait to hear back from us before posting again.

idiot.
True.

Adrienl has left a new comment on your post “I was on the road tonight”:

hi will few questions on the testing
1) what type of flooring and footwear was used (eg grass or hardcourt)
Tonight it was on court.

2) Are these results the best worst or middling for what you would expect? (i say a bad middling based on my basketball team)
Tonight’s results weren’t great…but it was their first session of pre season so we’ll see where they go from here.

3)did the athletes pace themselves in any form or was it just go hard from start to finish?( i would think the 2nd option)
I want them to go flat out from start to finish. I want to see the best first score they can get then they should just try and survive from there.

Adrienl has left a new comment on your post “It’s all about Pull Ups these last couple of days”:

Will thanks for that and a few more if you don’t mind
1) so the athletes just do the full testing then go home correct?
Some do and some don’t…but yes, when they are finished testing I am done with them for the day.

2) also with athletes who have a long offseason eg (4+months) do you ever see the need for a deload or does the changing of focus( eg stregnth to fitness) provide it for you? If the former how would you be implemnting them after a strength or fitness type stage?
I have no idea what the hell you are talking about…but let’s just say yes, as I’m in a generous mood.

3) do you ever bother deloading your normal people or do they not really warrant it due to the lower intensity?
Non sport related clients you mean?

just realised that deloads cost you money so maybe you never bother with them 😉
thanks again for your time and patience.
Actually I do…and yes, it does cost me money.

12 thoughts on “I was on the road tonight

  1. It's funny that i have the same test for my Basketball team. Only i don't mark the floor and count the last crossed line(baseline,free throw,mid,free throw,baseline. If they finish just 1m before the next line->boo hoo

  2. One thing i get out of your test is that the basketball player has too little power/speed for my taste. They should be getting a lot of ground covered on the first run. Something along the lines of the football player, or even better, given the explosive nature of the sport

  3. hi will few questions on the testing
    1) what type of flooring and footwear was used (eg grass or hardcourt)
    2) Are these results the best worst or middling for what you would expect? (i say a bad middling based on my basketball team)
    3)did the athletes pace themselves in any form or was it just go hard from start to finish?( i would think the 2nd option)
    thanks for clarifying

  4. What are you doing with your olympic athletes doing at the moment?

    Suprised you havent been talking about them much.

    When will you start their taper?

  5. Anonymous said…
    What are you doing with your olympic athletes doing at the moment?

    Suprised you havent been talking about them much.

    When will you start their taper?
    There are LOTS of athletes that for a variety of reasons I can’t talk about…these are but a few.

  6. Will said . . .

    There are LOTS of athletes that for a variety of reasons I can’t talk about…these are but a few.

    Sounds like you’re into some secret, James Bond, need to know, kinda training.

    How cool is that!

  7. Kira said…
    Sounds like you’re into some secret, James Bond, need to know, kinda training.
    How cool is that!
    Nothing as sexy as that. I don’t talk about them for a number of reasons.
    1. Athletes are involved in a number of sports and don’t want either one or both coaches to know that they are doing both sports…for example they play GAA football and also basketball or GAA football and soccer etc etc.
    2. They are shy and just don’t want to be on the blog.
    3. They are pro or semi pro athletes that have team strength and conditioning coaches but prefer to pay me themselves and train with me and can’t have their team find out for obvious reasons.
    4. The particular athletes coaching is paid for by national associations with whom I have a contract with prohibits me publicising my work with these athletes for what could be deemed ‘commercial’ purposes…so no interviews about how I ‘rock’ because I coach Athlete X and certainly no blogging about Athlete X.

    I am fine with all these things and I haven’t started this blog for commercial purposes anyway. I was getting rubbished about being a ‘sniper’ and not ‘contributing positively’ to the industry so this is basically my attempt to ‘be positive’ and not much more.

  8. thanks for the answers and i’ll have another go at question 2 if you don’t mind.

    basically do you deload your athletes during their offseasons?

    if so what are the most common ways and how often (on average) do these occur, also do find you that weights or conditioning requires more/harder frequent deloads?

    if not(no real deloads in the offseason)is this due to the changing focus as the season draws near or is there another reason

    also in question 3 i just meant non athletes

    i realise i am asking alot from you so if you want to put a cap on the questions go ahead cheers

  9. Damn it!

    Here am I thinking you’ve got special forces black-ops conditioning on Wednesdays, steroid appraisal for dodgy olympic athletes on Fridays, and exotic dancer boot-camps on the weekends.

    😦

    You really should consider the whole exotic=dancer bootcamp thing . . .

    And don’t forget to post clips of the workouts.

    🙂

  10. Kira said…
    Damn it!

    Here am I thinking you’ve got special forces black-ops conditioning on Wednesdays, steroid appraisal for dodgy olympic athletes on Fridays, and exotic dancer boot-camps on the weekends.
    It is pretty funny but that list isn’t too far off…I do work with the military, Olympic athletes…and I know this is a stretch but also worked with the ballet and international modern dance companies.

  11. adrienl said…
    basically do you deload your athletes during their off seasons?
    I do what I need to do. I manage my athletes individually rather than applying a common template.

    if so what are the most common ways and how often (on average) do these occur, also do find you that weights or conditioning requires more/harder frequent deloads?
    If you are managing athletes properly….what exactly are you ‘deloading’.

    i realise i am asking alot from you so if you want to put a cap on the questions go ahead cheers
    Ask as many questions as you like.

Leave a Reply

