I am soooo out of the loop

If you want to know why I’m not part of the fitness biz…other than for the obvious reason like the fact that I am barely literate, am a terrible public speaker and have a propensity to cut my nose off to spite my face when it comes to interpersonal skills or more specifically my complete lack of them…then read this.

Is plagiarism the new internet business model.

and

Is plagiarism the new internet business model – Part II.

I just realised how funny my link to Lyle’s book appears now:

Lyle McDonald’s Books – Everything I’ve stolen in the area of nutrition. If I’ve told you how to lose weight… it was from here… if you’ve got advice on bulking up… also here… if you are seriously interested in nutrtion and sports performance… don’t talk to me unless you own them.

Why can’t every one just use my disclaimer…this is something they should feel free to copy.

4 thoughts on “I am soooo out of the loop

  1. Yeh, I saw those articles the other day and was AMAZED. Did Cosgrove really think people wouldn’t notice?

    At any rate, I’m not the vindictive type. I hope he owns up, apologizes to MacDonald, and learns from his mistake.

    Despite his failings Consgrove still has a lot to offer the fitness community . . . just as long as it’s not ripped off of other people.

  2. Kira said…
    Yeh, I saw those articles the other day and was AMAZED. Did Cosgrove really think people wouldn’t notice?

    At any rate, I’m not the vindictive type. I hope he owns up, apologizes to MacDonald, and learns from his mistake.

    Despite his failings Consgrove still has a lot to offer the fitness community . . . just as long as it’s not ripped off of other people.
    I’m not really sure what to think of it. All those guys have ripped of Lyle’s stuff…and that is not to say Lyle ‘invented’ fat loss…and Lyle doesn’t make out that he did…the reason I like his stuff is 1. Because he puts it in such away that even I can understand it. 2. He presents it in such away that even I can use it. His way of doing thing is to say…’here is what all the research says and here is what I’ve found in practice and these are the things you can do with the information’….all these other guys no matter what their apologists say have basically ripped of that bit. The research is out there and I know Lyle wouldn’t care one bit if it was the research he was highlighting that they were using and offering their own interpretations of…the point is they don’t…they let him do the hard work…they let him do all the work in fact and just blatantly rip him off without giving him any credit or recognition. Doing so after the fact doesn’t count for shit as far as I’m concerned. Maybe I’m just a cynic…I don’t know that I buy the ‘oversight’ story. Obviously the production of these products now is a major undertaking with multiple authors and contributors but if you are going to slap your name of something and charge 100 bucks for it you should damn well take responsibility for it. The thing is I don’t think any of these guys give a damn any more. I’m not talking about Alwyn in particular here just ‘these guys’ in general…there are people that have basically been in the industry for a year, two years giving people the benefit of their entire years experience…even though they don’t have any clients or athletes they don’t let that hold them back. It is just so pathetic. The problem I do have is the fact that so many of these idiots have Alwyn’s testimonial on their blogs, products, websites and I’m sure some of them have it tattooed on their arse. Like I said a long time ago…all this crap in the industry is going to come back and bite them in the arse. This thing is going to be hung around Alwyn’s neck forever now…it probably won’t hurt his bottom line too much because the same people who buy ab rollers online might still buy his products but a lot of the people who bought his original stuff won’t be buying it any more.

  3. Yea thats sick. Read this from Alwyn on Strengthcoach.com’s forum:

    “All I can tell you is that as far as I’m concerned I was given permission to use that material previously. I referenced Lyle there. In fact I said it was a (600 word) summary of Lyle’s (2200 word) chapter. I listed the chapter, chapter number, the book and provided a link to the website.

    Unfortunately when Mike Roussell and I reprinted/republished that summary in Warp Speed Fat Loss – we inadvertently left out the reference/acknowledgment.

    It was a genuine oversight, I apologized immediately to Lyle when it was brought to my attention. We corrected it, by adding the reference/acknowledgment as soon as it we could.”

    Dunno who’s right or wrong, either way I think you should write your own material

  4. Does that mean you are bringing out a fat loss e-book now you have lyle’s stuff? It’s a good read and quite practical. The research though has been around for a few years he tied it together nicely without to much BS. I tried some of the protocols on some of the guys I train and got some interesting results after about 5 days, 2 of the guys where down 3% body fat with about 1kg each in loss of weight- taking in to account these guys where quite lean anyway it was good to see good results- they did only get five days in and where seeing stars so we intergrated about 150-200g of Carbs back in which took away the woozyness but they did stay at the same lower %.

Leave a Reply

