In a bit of a funk this afternoon so blogging to distract myself

I’m just trying to tidy up my homework stuff as well as getting back to do all the stuff I said I’d do that I haven’t….so in no particular order.

Michael Sullivan has left a new comment on your post “Slowly getting back on top of things”:

Wool,
I want to increase my deadlift but not quite sure how to go about it. I can squat about 80 pounds more than I pull. RDL about 60 pounds more than I pull and good morning about the same as I pull. What this means to me is that I need a bit of eccentric loading to potentiate the eccentric portion of a movement. Is this a predisposition that can be remedied and if so how?

I want to see this…any chance of a video?

ian has left a new comment on your post “You can never be too safe…”:

Hi Will,

After posting my rowing time trials a few weeks back…150m/28s – 500m/1:48.8s – 2Km/7:55…could you outline what jumps out at you from those figures and how they would shape up any program you would develop…bearing in mind you haven’t seen my technique or know my goals though I am very similar to Patrick. I saw your analysis of recent tests and can see that power is an obvious concern in the 150m trial.

This isn’t me touting for a program…as I’m actually following Patrick’s Phase…I am in much need of conditioning work and I was curious to see how I would get in mixing the rowing with the strength work. I’ve just finished the first 2 weeks and already I am feeling great progress with the rowing conditioning.

Have you got Patrick on Phase 4 yet?…I know you’re looking at adding some size and I was interested to see how you keep the mix of volume and intensity of the rowing for this phase.

I was discussing this with a basketball coach today…not rowing but conditioning in general. I generally do the opposite of what most coaches do when it comes to conditioning. What you usually see and hear about is the typical pyramid…build an aerobic base, the do speed endurance and then speed work…you all know the deal. My view is that you need speed first otherwise the speed you are enduring is ‘slow’ and that is easy to come by. This all comes back to my ‘look at all the fatties finishing fun runs and even marathons’ argument/statements. What I try to do is to develop acceleration, power and speed first…the reason being that I think these attributes are the hardest to acquire…it are these attributes that separate the good athletes from the bad, the great from the good, the elite from the great and the best from the rest. So improve these first then I try to improve work capacity after that.

I’ll put this really simply and generally first and then if we need to or if people want to we can talk specifics after that.

I’ll use the rowing example because it’s an easy one…and I’ll use Ian as an example. His best time for 150m was 28 seconds. The first thing I’d do is work out how much recovery he needs to perform sub 30 second 150’s consistently for say 10 sets. Is 30 seconds enough? What about 45 seconds? Is it a minute? Say it is 30 seconds…what I would do then is to try and accrues some high intensity volume…so I might have him do 10 sets of sub 30 second 150’s with 30 seconds recovery. Then I’d give him 2 minutes rest…recovery but probably not complete recovery…then 10 sets of sub 30 second 150’s with 45 second recovery and see if he could still do it…then give him another 2 minutes…then I’d have him do another 10 sets of sub 30 second 150’s with 60 second recovery and see if he could still do it. Are you following me? By the way…Ian…you should try that and give us your results…the CII will record all the details for you…do that as a session…try to do your best times on all of them and post them for us. This is basically what I did with the lads early on…some of them caught me snooping…some of them didn’t but what I then did was to adjust all there sessions so I could have them perform as many sets as possible at near maximal intensity. Then what I do is to start manipulating the distances, sets, reps and recoveries so I can increase the distance and hence the time that near maximal intensity can be maintained. I then go back to closer to the original distance used and repeat the process with less recovery…to give you and example…some of the lads have been through a process where when they started the were doing those sub 30 second 150’s with the recoveries I suggested to Ian…they worked up in distances as high as 500’s before coming back to sub 30 second 150’s with as little as 20 second recoveries. Last year during a normal training session I had 3 guys do a 2000m time trial…this was during a session mind you…the three of them would of all have been in the Top 10 in Ireland in the Indoor Rowing Championships and all have made the Top 20 in the English Championships if I remember correctly..it might have actually have been the Top 15. These were not rowers…these were guys that had actually not done a 2000m time trial ever before. Like I said…I don’t care how it works…only that it does…only an idiot prepares for a marathon by going out and running 42km every day. I’ll leave it at that until someone asks some good questions.

I’m chucking this in here because I know you are all too lazy and disinterested to read the ‘comments’ section.

ian said…
Will said…
So I might have him do 10 sets of sub 30 second 150’s with 30 seconds recovery. Then I’d give him 2 minutes rest…recovery but probably not complete recovery…then 10 sets of sub 30 second 150’s with 45 second recovery and see if he could still do it…then give him another 2 minutes…then I’d have him do another 10 sets of sub 30 second 150’s with 60 second recovery and see if he could still do it. Are you following me? By the way…Ian…you should try that and give us your results

Will – on July 5th during session 1 I managed this:

150m/30s
29.3
28.9
29.8
30.0
29.5
29.7
29.9
30.5
31.0 !
30.2

150m/45s
28.7
28.8
28.8
28.6
29.0
30.2
29.0
30.9
29.5
29.5

150m/60s
29.3
29.7
29.2
29.8
29.9
29.8
29.3
29.2
29.8
28.5

Not quite as you requested as I did the strength stuff in between.

It is actually written to be done just that way. To combine your strength work with the near maximal effort conditioning intervals.

Without prompting I actually made it a goal to go sub-30s for each 150m – I was slaughtered at the end of the session – and it seems coincidental that the rest periods was probably about spot on for me.

So you think that is a coincidence? You really don’t have any faith in me at all do you?

Thanks for posting your comments – that helped clear a few thoughts I had.

As usual…I’ve no idea what comments you are referring to but glad to be of help anyway.

2 thoughts on “In a bit of a funk this afternoon so blogging to distract myself

  1. Will said…
    so I might have him do 10 sets of sub 30 second 150’s with 30 seconds recovery. Then I’d give him 2 minutes rest…recovery but probably not complete recovery…then 10 sets of sub 30 second 150’s with 45 second recovery and see if he could still do it…then give him another 2 minutes…then I’d have him do another 10 sets of sub 30 second 150’s with 60 second recovery and see if he could still do it. Are you following me? By the way…Ian…you should try that and give us your results

    Will – on July 5th during session 1 I managed this:

    150m/30s
    29.3
    28.9
    29.8
    30.0
    29.5
    29.7
    29.9
    30.5
    31.0 !
    30.2

    150m/45s
    28.7
    28.8
    28.8
    28.6
    29.0
    30.2
    29.0
    30.9
    29.5
    29.5

    150m/60s
    29.3
    29.7
    29.2
    29.8
    29.9
    29.8
    29.3
    29.2
    29.8
    28.5

    Not quite as you requested as I did the strength stuff in between.

    Without prompting I actually made it a goal to go sub-30s for each 150m – I was slaughtered at the end of the session – and it seems coincidental that the rest periods was probably about spot on for me.

    Thanks for posting your comments – that helped clear a few thoughts I had.

  2. Will said,
    Then what I do is to start manipulating the distances, sets, reps and recoveries so I can increase the distance and hence the time that near maximal intensity can be maintained. I then go back to closer to the original distance used and repeat the process with less recovery..

    Will, how do you figure out the total volume?
    -Where to start?
    -When upping the distance do you reduce the number of sets to keep volume roughly constant?
    -or let the volume grow? How much? Is there a cut off point?

Leave a Reply

