Just in case you didn’t see this in the comments section

Hugh said…

WARNING: CRITICAL ANALYSIS

Will,
You went on and on about how great your diet would be and what a great athletic specimen you’d be at a BW below 100kg but you lost interest and stopped after about a week and a half. I was actually pretty interested in the project and was disappointed to see you fall away from it. Unfortunately, it’s somewhat of a theme. I’ve heard you mention some great plans/projects you think up but they don’t get off the ground coz you lose interest due to a lack of day to day gratification. I’m sure you know this already and I doubt you mind my writing it but if there’s one thing holding you back from “greatness”, it’s this. Patience is a virtue…

Just been reading the comments.

Now you guys have made me feel bad for Hugh(I don’t really…but it makes me sound like a better person than I really am)because I am so much harsher than he is…and that is when I am trying to be nice.

I don’t actually think he’s that far off the mark…not necessarily for the reasons he stated but that really isn’t the issue…the issue is that I said I was going to do something and I didn’t…if I was one of my own athletes I would of kicked the crap out of myself…and all the lads…including Hugh know this.

I know it is a little off topic…but this is one of the reason that I think everyone needs a coach…or should I say does better with a coach…it is very difficult to coach yourself. I won’t go into a rant here and now…but if someone wants to argue with me or set me off feel free to disagree?

Anyway…enough about what a loser I am and back to more interesting topics…training.

When I told Chops that he’d have ‘cutz’ on his abs when he finished his preseason program I’m willing to bet he didn’t think this was what I meant.

Some of the lads have entered the ‘Fat Camp’ stage of their training.

Barnyard doing some circuit work…all he wanted to know was where ‘guns’ fitted in to this.

Basically it boils down to 5 sessions a week. 2 weights/conditioning sessions…2 strength orientated sessions and 1 pure conditioning training session.

Some guys do it for fatness and some for conditioning…I’ll let you guess which camp this lad fits into.


I got so excited this morning even I trained.

The 2 weights/conditioning sessions are essentially 2 15 minute blocks of circuit work with 3 bouts of high intensity intervals at the start, in between and at the end of the circuits.

…and no…before someone comments…that is not how you are allowed to do inverted rows in testing.


Fanj after his first 15min work block

The 2 strength sessions are a Squat & Pull Up day and Deadlift & Bench day.

The pure conditioning day will be just that…a tough 45 minutes of ‘work’ of my choosing and design.

11 thoughts on “Just in case you didn’t see this in the comments section

  1. Hugh, there is one thing I do know. The diet works as myself and Will started it in parallel. I’m glad to say I stripped the fat and chunked on the lean muscle using cardio (lots of cardio) and weights. In saying that I started at 109kg and have finished in close to the same place. So i’m not sure the BW <100kg would have worked. I stand to be corrected

  2. Hugh, you sound like a real prick!

    I hope it’s just poor communication on your part.

    I don’t mind abuse if it spurs a person into action, but your smug little gloat just makes you look like a tool.

    You should consider becoming a coach

    🙂

  3. Damien I dont know what magic mirror you are looking in….you still lokkk as fat and ugly to me…

    Kira he is a coach and Will would be just as smug

  4. Damien,

    I don’t doubt at all that the diet works. I was merely saying that we don’t know how well (I didn’t know you were partaking) as Will didn’t finish it.

    Kira,

    Who’s to say that it may not spur a person into action. I did not attempt, nor succeed, in a character assassination. I did not belittle the man’s morals nor infer in any way that I thought him a bad person. Everyone, including myself, has certain traits that can sometimes hold them back. All I said (in a rephrased manner) was that Will could achieve more of the good ideas he comes up with for himself/others if he had a bit more patience to see them through without seeing day to day reward. Now, I’ll agree that perhaps it was poor communication on my part but for you to that I was gloating is ridiculous. In order to gloat I would have to feel/believe that I am in some way superior and also harbour a great level of self-satisfaction. I can attest, as I’m sure can others that read/post her, including Will, that I’m not like that. In regard to the matter at hand, I have never attempted, nor do I feel confident of success if I were to attempt a diet of this kind. I was not seeking, nor do I ever seek, to be malicious.

    Apologies on a postcard to:
    Improved Performace Gymnasium,
    St. Mary’s College RFC,
    Templeogue,
    D6W,
    Ireland

  5. Hugh said…
    Damien,

    I don’t doubt at all that the diet works. I was merely saying that we don’t know how well (I didn’t know you were partaking) as Will didn’t finish it.

    Kira,

    Who’s to say that it may not spur a person into action. I did not attempt, nor succeed, in a character assassination. I did not belittle the man’s morals nor infer in any way that I thought him a bad person. Everyone, including myself, has certain traits that can sometimes hold them back. All I said (in a rephrased manner) was that Will could achieve more of the good ideas he comes up with for himself/others if he had a bit more patience to see them through without seeing day to day reward. Now, I’ll agree that perhaps it was poor communication on my part but for you to that I was gloating is ridiculous. In order to gloat I would have to feel/believe that I am in some way superior and also harbour a great level of self-satisfaction. I can attest, as I’m sure can others that read/post her, including Will, that I’m not like that. In regard to the matter at hand, I have never attempted, nor do I feel confident of success if I were to attempt a diet of this kind. I was not seeking, nor do I ever seek, to be malicious.

    Apologies on a postcard to:
    Improved Performace Gymnasium,
    St. Mary’s College RFC,
    Templeogue,
    D6W,
    Ireland

    Hugh you are full of shit sometimes

  6. Hugh , , ,

    First up . . .

    “[projects] don’t get off the ground coz you lose interest due to a lack of day to day gratification.”

    I thought you were suggesting WIll is fixated with instant gratification and doesn’t have the character or discipline to commit to long term projects.

    I thought that was harsh. I wouldn’t respond well to someone making judgments about my character like that.

    Thanks for clarifying what you meant.

    I’m happy to apologize for misjudging your intent . . .

    I’m sorry.

    Though asking for a postcarded apology does make you look like a tool.

    It figures that you’re a coach.

  7. Asking for a postcard was a joke. I figure I sounded like a tool for much of that comment and not just the postcard part but I was trying to clarify shit. To be honest, I didn’t really expect you to apologise at all but it is appreciated. I agree, having re-read it there, that what I wrote originally can be viewed as harsh.

    While Will is harsh sometimes too (read everyday) his character is just fine in my book.

  8. Will . . .

    sorry for apologizing 🙂

    Hugh . . .

    Glad you accepted my apology 🙂

    That’s enough humility on my part to last me a good six months.

Leave a Reply

