I’m bored with James already…how about you?

CBD- B said…
hey will, for someone like james – a tennis player – do you test for any left vs right imbalances. assuming he is stronger on the dominant side, do you then try to rebalance the imbalance (is that even a term) or accept one side will always dominate and try to tackle any issues as they arise?

also any difference in how you tackle energy system work for a tennis player? matches could last for hours, and possibly multiple matches in a day (esp if playing doubles as well as singles) and maybe every day for a week at a time for big tournaments


Can you guess which hand this guy plays his tennis with?

11 thoughts on “I’m bored with James already…how about you?

  1. So are you going to explain/analyze the hip mobility vids from james, where you had him hurdle stepping over the bar, etc?

  2. Im not bored with james. More james!

    Weird word verification by the way. “Laxbajs” wich, if i would translate from Swedish to English would be. “salmonshit”

  3. Anonymous said…
    So are you going to explain/analyze the hip mobility vids from james, where you had him hurdle stepping over the bar, etc?
    As I said before…I don’t want this to be a ‘let me tell you how smart I am’ thing. I’m not going to produce articles or anything like that…I want to just give people an idea of what we do in training. If you want to know something in particular ask…the more general the question the more general the answer will be…however if you ask specific questions I’ll give you specific answers.

  4. mimo said…
    Are you thinking of answering my e-mails, Will, or not really?

    Just do it.
    I have 117 unread emails and yours might just be one of them.

  5. Dammit, get your priorities straight. screw coaching, just help me on my way to gurudom.

    Just kidding, i just wanted to make sure you got them, so…get back to me, whenever you can

  6. Hi Will,

    Looking at the video of the band pull aparts…I haven’t a clue which hand James plays tennis with…and I’d really appreciate the things your looking for during this exercise?

    In particular you emphasis shoulder blades down…apart from shoiwng a degree of control why else is this important?

  7. right handed, i think.

    My pulled from the ass guess: the shoulder blades have to be down because of the muscles you’re activating, that is, if you’re pulling horizontally, the scapulae shouldn’t hike,but retract. The elevation shows improper activation/control.

  8. ian said…
    Looking at the video of the band pull aparts…I haven’t a clue which hand James plays tennis with
    In the words of John McEnroe…you can’t be serious?

    …and I’d really appreciate the things your looking for during this exercise?
    Shoulder blades down and back and pulling good smooth line.

    In particular you emphasis shoulder blades down…apart from shoiwng a degree of control why else is this important?
    You mean why else is it important other than because I say so? Isn’t that enough for you?

  9. mimo said…
    right handed, i think.
    You should of said it with confidence.

    My pulled from the ass guess: the shoulder blades have to be down because of the muscles you’re activating, that is, if you’re pulling horizontally, the scapulae shouldn’t hike,but retract. The elevation shows improper activation/control.
    That’s good enough for me.

  10. id say James has weak/inhibited serratus anterior, low trapz, and it looks like he should get some more meat between the scapulas as well (rhomboids). More on the right of course. What type of stretches do you use for him?

Leave a Reply

