I promise I will make it up to you

Been busy this week but I will do a big update tonight…it will have everything…amazing physical feats, tragic and painful accidents, poor coaching, physical deformities, questions will be answered and ridiculous statements will be made…you know…the usual.

I was asked about ankle mobility work…well here is James doing some this morning…this post still isn’t finished so I am going to throw it in here so people don’t miss the rest of the stuff.

Ankle Mobility Work


This blokes arm is totally jakt.

Med Ball Slams

Brophy and Sexton both throw like girls.

In fairness though we’ve got some pretty tough girls.

She-man putting the lads to shame…give it a go and see how fast you can do it? I know James will want to lift his game after he see this.

James did his first proper session today:
Bike – 5 mins
Med Ball Lunge/Trunk Rotation – 3 sets of 8 on each side with the 5kg med ball.
Overhead Med Ball Squats – 3 sets of 10 reps with the 5kg med ball.
Box Squats and Box Jumps – Sets of 3 reps on the squats and 3 reps on the box jumps.

James doing box squats for the very first time. He’s an elite athlete with novice skills which makes him particularly interesting to coach.

Does it make me a bad person just because I get so much joy out of my athletes hurting themselves?

Just to show that he can do it well and it wasn’t all pain and agony.

DB Floor Press and Lying Med Ball Chest Throw – 5 work sets of 3 reps of each.

DB Floor Press and Med Ball Throw.

Pull Ups and Med Ball Throw Downs – 5 work sets of 3 reps of each.
Then we did a lot of stretching…and when I say we I mean James just groaned a lot as I bent him into various pretzel like shapes.


When I do sometimes break them Fergus is always there to put them back together again.

I’m going to post all of Rammer’s work sets on his Trap Bar Deadlift. All the sets were done at 160kgs. Basically I use video a lot when coaching. I think it really helps athletes to be able to see what they are doing as well as seeing what other athletes like themselves are doing.

First Set.


Second Set.


Third Set.


Forth Set.


Fifth Set.

13 thoughts on “I promise I will make it up to you

  1. Sweet! Looking forward to that update tonight. I dont think you want to know just how many times i checked your blogg for updates yesterday…You could do the resemblance of a fat guy with cookie craving but the cookie jar was empty every single time! So i did the next best thing and ate the crumbs

  2. Anonymous said…
    Good to have you back! 😉 Why do you let your klients trapbar deadlift in running shoes?
    I’m not a fan of doing anything in the gym in running shoes. I own 4 pairs of Addidas Samba’s and they are the only shoes I lift in. Some of the guys listen and some don’t. A lot of my clients and athletes still think they are smarter than me…they’re not…and the ones that do as they are told realise this as well…it’s a lead a horse to water but not being able to make it drink situation. I don’ like it but that’s life.

  3. Joel Hallström said…
    Sweet! Looking forward to that update tonight. I dont think you want to know just how many times i checked your blogg for updates yesterday…You could do the resemblance of a fat guy with cookie craving but the cookie jar was empty every single time! So i did the next best thing and ate the crumbs.
    Been having a nightmare uploading video onto youtube.

  4. lylemcd said…
    How is Erasure hardcore training music?
    What could be more hardcore than me playing Erasure to a bunch of Irish headbangers who already want to kick my teeth in?

  5. Hi Will,

    Can you move all the posts and comments regarding James over to the ‘athletes’ blog so that they become easier to follow while we chart his progress?

    You’ve used the complex comparing of explosive med ball chest throw and either DB or BB bench press a couple of times now…for James and the rugby guys…two quite different sports…what is it that you like about using this particular pairing?

    Mind you…you’ve also got James doing another complex pairing of box squats and box jumps.

    Just curious about the inclusion of the overhead med ball squats.

  6. Hi Will,
    Can you move all the posts and comments regarding James over to the ‘athletes’ blog so that they become easier to follow while we chart his progress?
    I will do this. I actually need to quit my job, stop working with athletes completely and devote myself entirely to my blog. Actually just writing that I just realised that is exactly what most of the successful ‘internet trainers’ have done…Jay Ferrugia I think gave up a couple of years ago or so I’m told…I can’t believe that Jimmy Smith actually has any clients so I can only assume he gave up before he even started…I could go on….and as you well know…I probably will at some stage. I will try to make time to sort out all of the athletes blog this weekend and get all those profiles in order.

    You’ve used the complex comparing of explosive med ball chest throw and either DB or BB bench press a couple of times now…for James and the rugby guys…two quite different sports…what is it that you like about using this particular pairing?
    Sometimes I use it just as a warm up. With James what I want to see is focused power delivery. I hope that makes sense? You should try it yourself. When athletes first do it the ball goes everywhere…like it did with a lot of James throws…the experienced guy can put the ball throw the roof tiles in the ceiling….and often do. I basically want to see ‘channelled’ power delivery…straight up and the ball coming straight down. It is not that I think it is particularly sport specific or that it is some kind of advanced technique but I don’t think it is a coincidence that my best athletes can throw/press whatever you want to call it the furthest/highest and do it in the most consistent fashion. This is one of those areas that is huge and I could talk about a lot because it is something that I use in a lot of different ways with a lot of variation but I want to keep the blog to ‘what I do’ rather than a place to ‘publish’ so instead of writing an article on it I think it’s better to just keep showing you different things as they come up. I work most days at the moment from 7am till 9.30pm Monday to Friday and I work for a good few hours on Saturday and Sunday so what you actually see in the blog is a fraction of what goes on and usually it isn’t the most exciting stuff because I only really get to record stuff when it is quieter. I am going to try and get more variety of stuff to put up on the blog including the strength and conditioning work that is done outside the gym.

    Mind you…you’ve also got James doing another complex pairing of box squats and box jumps.
    Don’t forget the pull ups and med ball slams.

    Just curious about the inclusion of the overhead med ball squats.

  7. Just curious about the inclusion of the overhead med ball squats.
    I missed this bit…I’ve a feeling that I probably miss as many questions here as people do answers.

    Anyway…this is just a warm up/mobility drill. Holding the ball above the head and doing an arse to grass squat. Is that what you were after or did you have another question? Do keep asking questions…and if I don’t give you the answer you are looking for juts keep in mind that is only because I’m an idiot not because I don’t want to answer them…so…ask away.

  8. Ah, a Mike Boyle-Bill Hartman ankle mobility drill 🙂 Have you tryed it using a tennisball at the same time? I think it works even better.

  9. Joel Hallström said…
    Ah, a Mike Boyle-Bill Hartman ankle mobility drill 🙂 Have you tryed it using a tennisball at the same time? I think it works even better.
    This is one of those funny things about the internet…I had never seen that Boyle-Hartman video before…I actually got that drill of a massage therapist in Australia named Andrew Sutton in what most of been 1994-95 sometime…I wonder if Boyle and Hartman had ‘invented’ this mobility drill back then…I suppose it’s all about ‘first mover’ status or whatever you call it….being the first one to popularise a particular drill/exercise etc. It is the same reason I bust a gut laughing every time some one tells me about the functional movement screening that Gray Cook ‘invented’. I like Gray Cook’s work and I think of all the internet coaches that I’ve read about I think my work is probably most similar to Mike Boyle’s so I hope this doesn’t come off as disrespectful because it isn’t intended that way…BUT…I think I had seen that mobility drill a long time before Boyle invented it just as I think the results I have of my functional movement screen from 1987 pre dates Gray Cook even finishing college let alone ‘inventing’ the functional movement screen.

  10. hey will, for someone like james – a tennis player – do you test for any left vs right imbalances. assuming he is stronger on the dominant side, do you then try to rebalance the imbalance (is that even a term) or accept one side will always dominate and try to tackle any issues as they arise?

    also any difference in how you tackle energy system work for a tennis player? matches could last for hours, and possibly multiple matches in a day (esp if playing doubles as well as singles) and maybe every day for a week at a time for big tournaments

  11. Coach, I’ve been doing the ankle mobility drills as well as taking care of the soft tissue in the calf area. However, when doing that drill you have James doing, there’s a 3-4cm difference between my right and left ankles when it comes to how far I can place my foot from the wall.

    Is there anything else I can do to bring my left up to par?

Leave a Reply

