I love getting them fresh off the production line

I had a new project walk in today…James plays a bit of tennis and he is going to be seeing a lot of me over the next couple of months.

Today was our first meeting and we got straight to work. I want to post these up because I know already that he’s one of those athletes who is going to really get stuck into whatever I give him.

We will be testing tomorrow morning…in 5hrs actually and I’ll write his program for the next couple of months after we see where we are at. This morning we basically just had a bit of a look at him so I could see what I had to work with.

I’m not going to say what I think…you have a look at him and let me know what you think he needs?

We did some hurdle steps.


Going left to right.


Going right to left.

So what do you see so far?

We did a lot of ankle mobility work…it wasn’t great either…but we’ll sort that out as well.

Here he is doing some single leg knee drops…I can’t keep my big mouth shut…this was his third set and I’d coached him through the previous two sets but some of his issues are still apparent here?

Single leg knee drops.

Then we did some blast strap push ups and inverted rows. I’m not going to pack the blog with videos but I thought I’d throw this in as James has a pretty common condition in athletes in single side dominant sports like tennis and golf.

Blast strap push ups.

I know this is cruel…but I just can’t help myself.

James doing some plate shifting for the first time.


Some clapped out broken down old man doing some plate shifting.


Do you think this guy was in a hurry to get his last set over and done with?

12 thoughts on “I love getting them fresh off the production line

  1. Looks like instability ín the hip and tightness especially on the right. Seems like he also have weak hip flexors and poor rotation. He is overcompensating and using his calves and leaning to the right using his core and quadratus lumborum to get the hip up. Seems like he’s having poor core stability and some anterior tilting as well.

    In the blast strap pushup he is having stability issue in his scapulas, he is having hard time controling his scapulas and especially his right scapula. I would guess he is a right hand server.

  2. what’s the point of the plate shifting?

    how much of it is a ‘skill’ component? some guys seem fast and smooth at it…are they improved, or just ‘better’ at plate shifting?

  3. “have a look at him and let me know what you think he needs?”

    FOOD…

    and an Inzer double-ply.
    Maybe I should talk to Chad Waterbury and see if he agrees with me that to succeed as a pro tennis player you should be able to do a 3 times body weight deadlift and double body weight bench? I better check to see if that is raw or equipped while I’m at it.

  4. Anonymous said…
    what’s the point of the plate shifting?
    Are you serious? Let me ask you this…what is the point of bridging? What is the point of woodchoppers? What would be the point of doing an exercise that combines bridging with the ‘resisted rotation’ work of woodchoppers as well as adding a dynamic stability element? I will give you a hint…the answers lay partly in the questions!

    how much of it is a ‘skill’ component?
    The skill component is in being able to maintain a dynamic bridge while resisting rotation…the skill component is the whole object of the exercise.

    some guys seem fast and smooth at it…are they improved, or just ‘better’ at plate shifting?
    Take your pick…I’m happy with either choice.

  5. Joel Hallström said…
    Im missing your updates Will!!!
    I have to work so I can support my blog habit and so you and Ian have something to read about.

  6. Vinny said…
    Coach,
    What do you use for ankle mobility? And what exactly is it for? Improve stability/strength, ROM?
    I will put this on my homework list for today and post up a routine for you.

Leave a Reply

