Just got this email…well not exactly this…but you get the idea.

I’ve ‘blogged’ Patrick before…he’s one of my washed up meatheads/former players. He’s really got stuck into his training and has done everything asked of him…sure he’s bitched and moaned a bit…as they all do…but did it all anyway.

Here are his results from his medical…I like this sort of news…because it is important me…I want my clients and athletes to live long and prosperous lives…mainly so I can retire in the manner I’ve become accustomed to.

Before Training Programme

April 2008
Blood pressure: 141 over 92
Resting Pulse: 72 beats per minute.

12 weeks of conditioning and weight training. He’s done his 3 days a week and hasn’t missed a training session.

June 2008
Blood Pressure: 120 over 70
Resting Heart: 55 beats per minute.

Here’s the program he started out with:
Session 1
Rower – 150m/30sec recovery 10 sets
Single Leg Knee Drops – 5 sets of 5 reps each side.
Rower – 150m/45sec recovery 10 sets
1A Inverted Rows – 8 sets of 5 reps supersetted with
1B Push Ups – 8 sets of 5 reps
Rower – 150m/60sec recovery 10 sets

Session 2
Rower – 600, 500, 400, 300, 200, 100 with 30sec recovery
Single Leg Box Squat (BW) – 5 sets of 5 reps each side
Rower – 600, 500, 400, 300, 200, 100 with 30sec recovery
1A Pulldowns – 5 sets of 8 reps supersetted with
1B DB Shoulder Press – 5 sets of 8 reps
Rower – 600, 500, 400, 300, 200, 100 with 30sec recovery

Session 3
Rower – 5 X 500 with 2min easy rowing between intervals
DB Reverse Lunges – 5 sets of 5 reps each side
Rower – 4 X 500 with 2min easy rowing between intervals
1A DB Chest Press – 8 sets of 5 reps supersetted with
1B DB Rows – 8 sets of 5 reps
Rower – 3 X 500 with 2min easy rowing between intervals

Here’s his current program:
Session 1
Rower – 250m/30sec recovery 10 sets
Leg Press (2 w/u) – 6 sets of 8 reps
Natural Reverse Hyper – 3 sets of 12)
Rower – 250m/30sec recovery 10 sets
1A DB Floor Press – 5 sets of 8 reps
1B Chest Supported Rows – 5 sets of 8 reps
Rower – 250m/30sec recovery 10 sets
Lying Tricep Extensions – 3 sets of 8 reps
Bicep Curls – 3 sets of 8 reps

Session 2
Rower – 1000m, 750m, 500m, 250m with 45sec recovery
Trap Bar Deadlift (2 w/u) – 6 sets of 8 reps
Seated Leg Curls – 3 sets of 12 reps
Rower – 1000m, 750m, 500m, 250m with 45sec recovery
1A Pulldowns – 5 sets of 8 reps
1B Push Ups – 5 sets of 8 reps
Rower – 1000m, 750m, 500m, 250m with 45sec recovery
Cable Bicep Curls – 3 sets of 8 reps
Cable Tricep Extensions – 3 sets of 8 reps

Session 3
Exercise Sets Reps Intensity (%1RM)
Rower – 8 X 500m with 2min easy rowing between intervals
Step Ups – 5 sets of 5 reps (each leg)
45 deg Back Extensions – 3 sets of 12 reps
Rower – 6 X 500m with 2min easy rowing between intervals
1A Swiss Ball DB Chest Press – 8 sets of 5 reps
1B DB Rows – 8 sets of 5 reps
Rower – 4 X 500m with 2min easy rowing between intervals
Bridging (secs) – 3 sets of 45 seconds

My Homework Assignment

This is a single leg knee drop.

I’m going to put together a ‘Scars of the Stars’ post over the next few weeks…I collected a few snaps tonight…here are some random samples of the material I have to work with.


This guy made a God awful mess of his leg…on the plus side…he tells girls that it’s a ‘shark bite’ which I’ve been told has worked well for him.


This guy had exploratory brain surgery…they found nothing…making him a perfect candidate for a career as a professional rugby player.


This guy ‘high fived’ a guy so hard after scoring a try he snapped his hand off.


This knee was had an arthroscope on it…obviously he actually must of had 3 or 4 I’d say…can’t be too careful.


This is one of several broken necks…I mean seriously…what are the chances of breaking your neck twice? So he is free to continue his rugby career in the knowledge that he can’t get injured worse than he previously has been.

14 thoughts on “Just got this email…well not exactly this…but you get the idea.

  1. I stand behind them sometimes and crack my verbal whip like a dog sled driver…I usually like them to be going hard enough that they can’t talk while doing it…no talking = no complaining.

  2. Someone asked a while ago about the single leg knee drop and you were going to video it and maybe something else that I don’t remember. Did you ever get around videoing it?

  3. Now you’re just trying to remind me that I’m hopeless and a liar.

    I’ll video these this afternoon/evening.

  4. Now you’re just trying to remind me that I’m hopeless and a liar.

    You need help for that?

    I’ll video these this afternoon/evening.

    Thanks.

  5. Now you’re just trying to remind me that I’m hopeless and a liar.

    You need help for that?
    Not from a mobile phone loving, pine tree hugging, lake swimming, Rudolph the red-nosed reindeer eating smart arse like yourself.

    I’ll video these this afternoon/evening.

    Thanks.
    No problem at all…if you ask them…I’ll answer them.

  6. Patrick Here: 40 Plus members should serously consider a programme. You feel awful the first week and then it’s all great. Do yourself a BIG favour and book the time. Other plus’s your trouser fit. The belly goes (slowly) and your brain works better. I’m going to push a little harder and tone up furter. P

  7. Hi Will

    This is completely unrelated to this post, but I was wondering where you picked up your 1′ foam roller as I’m having trouble finding the smaller one. Do you know is there anywhere in Dublin that stocks these?

  8. Hi Will

    This is completely unrelated to this post, but I was wondering where you picked up your 1′ foam roller as I’m having trouble finding the smaller one. Do you know is there anywhere in Dublin that stocks these?
    I get all my stuff like that from here http://www.physioneeds.ie/ they have a shop over in Ringsend.

  9. You need to take a better picture of Mark’s leg as this one doesn’t really show the extent or depth of what he did. Maybe take one of the other side too

  10. People may have eaten Hugh…I don’t want them throwing up on their computers…I want to put together a full collection.

  11. People may have eaten Hugh…I don’t want them throwing up on their computers…I want to put together a full collection.

    Fair point. It’d make an interesting experiment to see how many people could watch a video of Mark tensing and relaxing his leg, while eating their dinner, and not puke on the screen!!!

Leave a Reply

