Session Update
Just a progress update…Damian did his row again today…his last numbers are posted first and then today’s numbers afterwards.

200m – 34.1 > 33.8
400m – 1:15.7 > 1:12.3
600m – 2:01.8 > 1:58.2
800m – 2:47.7> 2:42.1
1000m – 3:36.7 > 3:29.0
200m – 36.2 > 35.1
400m – 1:21.5 > 1:18.5
600m – 2:06.3 > 2:01.5
800m – 2:54.4 > 2:46.7
1000m – 3:44.1 > 3:35.8
800m – 2:52.3 > 2:47.2
600m – 2:07.0 > 2:01.5
400m – 1:18.7 > 1:17.0
200m – 33.0 > 32.9
So 26 minutes 51 seconds which shaves a minute or so of his previous best.

I was never great with maths (or spelling, or reading…or just about anything else even remotely academic come to think of it) but I think all those times were faster again this week…I’m not sure what to make of that…but I’m pretty sure going faster is a good thing.


He was so pleased with his session that he immediately went foetal in celebration. At least I think it was celebration…it may have been some sort of religious event because I’m not sure but from where I was in the gym it sounded like he was mentioning God over and over again.

Darren also did his first rowing session and did really well…he posted the following times.

200m – 38.6
400m – 1:20.7
600m – 2:08.4
800m – 3:02
1000m – 3:49.3
200m – 40.9
400m – 1:27.7
600m – 2:17.3
800m – 3:03.4
1000m – 3:58
800m – 3:05.6
600m – 2:18.5
400m – 1:25.7
200m – 36.6

Total time of 29 minutes 52 seconds…very nice first effort.

Homework Tasks
I also did my homework. Below you’ll find the video regarding the progressions for body weight exercises If people aren’t happy with this video description let me know and I will re do it and make it clearer. I’m happy to keep doing it to get it right so everyone knows exactly what is what. Being unhappy with it does not include commenting on or complaining about the fact that I’m unkempt, unwashed and overweight…it is definitely a take it or leave it situation where those factors are concerned.


Body weight progressions.

Athletes Blog
This is a note to all the athletes that have been mentioned or featured in the blog…or who wish to in the future…go to Johnny’s profile and copy and paste the format into an email or a word document and put your testing results and profile details along with the program you did on your current training cycle and email it to me…I’m not going to type everyone’s out but I can definitely manage to cut and paste what you send me into the athletes blog…I’ll also do this for anyone else who is reading the blog who wants to do the same…fill out your details using Johnny’s template and email it to me and I’ll put it up along with what you did on this training cycle.

Testing Explanation
I also went through the tests that we do and gave a bit of a definition…sorry it is a bit dark in places…I figured not being able to see me was probably a good thing.


I’m always being kept in the dark.

Damian’s Week 3
This weeks training will be brought to you by the number 12.

Session 1
Warm Up + Mobility Work
Long Jumps – 10 sets of 5 reps
Natural Glute Ham Raise – 4 sets of 12 reps
Weighted Bridging – 3 sets of 60 seconds
Bench Press – 2 w/u sets of 12 then 4 sets of 12 reps
Chin Ups – 3 sets to failure
Seated Rows – 3 sets of 12 reps
Tricep Pressdowns – 3 sets of 12 reps
Take a breather and then do 10 rows of 400m with 1 minute recovery between each.

Session 2
3 sets of 10 rows of maximal 250’s with 60 seconds of easy rowing between intervals and 5 minutes total recovery between each of the the 3 sets.

Session 3
Warm Up + Mobility Work
1A Pull Ups – 10 sets of 5 reps
1B Elevated Push Ups- 10 sets of 15 reps
Unsupported DB Rows – 4 sets of 12 reps
Plate Shifting – 5 sets
Elevated Single Leg Split Squats – 5 sets of 12 reps
Seated or Lying Leg Curls – 3 sets of 12 reps
45 degree Back Extensions (weighted) – 3 sets of 12 reps
Take a breather and then do 10 rows of 500m with 1 minute recovery between each.

Session 4
Row 150, 300, 500, 200, 400, 600 with 30 seconds recovery between sets take 2 mins rest and complete 3 sets in total.

Session 5
Warm Up + Mobility Work
Box Squats – 8 sets 5 reps
Single Leg Knee Drops – 4 sets of 12 reps
Torgue Press – 4 sets of 12 reps
1A Elevated Push Ups – 6 sets of 12 reps
1B Inverted Rows – 5 sets of 12 reps
Natural Reverse Hypers – 3 sets of 12 reps
DB Bicep Curls – 3 sets of 12 reps
Take a breather and then do 10 rows of 500m with 1 minute recovery between each.

Session 6
200, 400, 600, 800, 1000, 200, 400, 600, 800, 1000, 800, 600, 400, 200m with 45 seconds recovery between intervals.

My Own Project
What I’ve decided to do is to have a go at Lyle’s Rapid Fat Loss protocol myself. I’m going to read the entire handbook again tomorrow…I figure that this being the third time I might actually understand some of it this time…I plan to take notes…do my calculations and get it started on Monday evening at 5.30pm after I weigh in.

I figured that this is what most people would do…they don’t actually have someone that they can get to do all the work and thinking for them like I can with Lyle…so they have to either work it out for themselves or if they are smart enough they actually get Lyle’s handbook. So I figured rather than Lyle just laying it all out on a plate for me that I’d actually have a go at working it out for myself….after all…I’m supposedly an arrogant know it all…so I figured I surely must be smarter than a stupid American. I was actually discussing this subject with the with the lads and ladettes in the gym the other day…not the fact that I’m smarter than American’s…after all…that’s a given…what we were discussing is that the way I basically approached this sort of the thing in the past was basically to tell athletes to lower their carb intake and be sure of their protein intake (I actually did it in a little more detail than this…but you get the idea) then train the beejesus out of them…this works. Less calories and more training equals fat loss…trust me on that…but the thing is I don’t think this is the ‘best’ way to do it.

What I’m actually going to do is to do ‘my version’ of the Rapid Fat Loss protocol for 2 weeks. I’m going to get Lyle to chime in as I go and tell me what an idiot I am and to point out what I’m doing wrong and then after 2 weeks reassess where I am and either push on with the same protocol or go onto a more modified diet. The thing is I want to be able to train hard while I’m dieting and when I did the Rapid Fat Loss protocol the last time I could barely muster up the energy to continue living let alone training…this I’ll point out was mainly my fault as I don’t think I did it as well as I should have. I basically just ate eggs, tuna, chicken and cheese…and didn’t do much with regard to actually making those ingredients into actual meals…I’m going to do better this time. I want to make sure my diet supports my training while maximising my fat loss.

We are running a pool in the gym regarding how much I’ll lose in my first week with the person who gets closest taking the pot. If you want to take a guess yourself do so in the comments section…you won’t be entitled to any winnings but you can always claim moral victory.

The diet will start at 5.30pm tomorrow when I weigh in and document my fatness by way of video. I’m going to weigh in and video my progress or lack thereof every Monday at 5.30pm so you’ll be able to keep track of how I’m doing and or how much I suck at my job. I’ll keep a food log and training diary in the athlete’s blog so you’ll be able to keep track day to day of how I’m going. As always…I’ve more to say…and plenty more to rant about but I’m going to try and keep the ranting down to once a week and be positive and productive the rest of the time.

If I missed anything let me know?

13 thoughts on “

  1. Yes, what I’m going to do this afternoon is to weigh in and going to get someone to take head to toe video footage of myself…I was told by a female reader of the blog that she thought I should jump up and down to see exactly how the fat is distributed. I will get a body fat reading of the tanita scales for what that’s worth…they aren’t particularly accurate but I think they are reasonably reliable in that I think when you get fatter the reading goes up and as you get leaner the reading goes down…that’s if your hydration levels are the same. Since I am going to weigh in every Monday at the same time I think I’ll be reasonably consistent.
    I am actually reading the handbook and working out my diet right now.
    So it’ll all kick off tonight and we’ll see where that gets us.

  2. What sort of numbers are you considering good for the new 3RM test?

    Is the bodyweight / 100kg squat for reps done off a box as well?

    Thanks for putting all this stuff up.

    Zaf

  3. Well

    Post it up. I can give you some ideas food wise that might make it easier. Better than eating blocks of cheese and raw meat. You can actually cook these into things called meals.

    You gonna test for ketosis too ?
    P

  4. What sort of numbers are you considering good for the new 3RM test?
    Good question…I don’t know. When I get a pile of data on it I’ll let you know what’s what.

    Is the bodyweight / 100kg squat for reps done off a box as well?
    Yes.

    Thanks for putting all this stuff up.
    No worries…I’ll answer absolutely any question you have on training or what we do…so the quality of this blog will largely be dependent on the standard of the questions that are asked….so ask away.

  5. Post it up. I can give you some ideas food wise that might make it easier. Better than eating blocks of cheese and raw meat. You can actually cook these into things called meals.
    I know…I didn’t do that last time. I’m going to put up baiscally the parameters of the diet and maybe people will offer some meal suggestions.

    You gonna test for ketosis too ?
    No…but it will pretty much be assumed I think.

  6. Thats an assumption that I wouldnt make. Its very easy to raise the glycgen level without even realising thus taking you out of ketosis and back to storing fat. Buy some ketostix int eh chemist (aout €7) and test from the third day onwards.

  7. I know what you’re saying…but I know from the last time I did this I was very much burning ketones from the exhaust fumes coming out of my mouth…that breath smell is unmistakable.

  8. Will, thanks for posting the video of the testing you do.
    I’m going to try and get the tests done as soon as possible. However, I train alone at a commercial gym, so getting someone to video/time me is difficult, let alone get a proper lift off for the bench. I’ll try to contact a friend at another gym to see if I can come into his place and do my tests.

    More importantly, you were out of breath the entire time you were speaking during that video. Please get on with this “transformation”. That was appauling.

  9. Will, thanks for posting the video of the testing you do.
    No worries…it was poorly done but I figure I’m better off keeping everyone’s expectations low.

    I’m going to try and get the tests done as soon as possible. However, I train alone at a commercial gym, so getting someone to video/time me is difficult, let alone get a proper lift off for the bench. I’ll try to contact a friend at another gym to see if I can come into his place and do my tests.
    Good idea…I wouldn’t be keen on doing them on my own either.

    More importantly, you were out of breath the entire time you were speaking during that video. Please get on with this “transformation”. That was appauling.
    I know…I think that is actually anxiety…I seem to get it when I’m presenting as well…I don’t tend to ‘gas out’ like that when I am just talking/coaching. But we’ll see if it improves with my fat loss program.

  10. Ketosis isn’t necessary, so there’s no need to test for that. Just follow the diet and you’ll be golden, Will.

  11. Would like non dieters to post what they’ve been eating just rub your face in it? I’d be happy to oblige – consider it character development?

  12. Yeah I’m with Matt. Considering I havent started dieting yet, I could post some nice pics of meals, such as the steak, feta cheese, and tomato pizza I just ate.

Leave a Reply

