Rest is big in our facility


See if you can find anyone in this photo actually training?

As usual…a tortuous dragged out update to follow.

I wanted to get this up as well. Rammer is an animal…but like most animals he has a very poor front squat technique. He and I are going to fix this though…he is very, very quad dominant and we are going to bring up his hamstring and glute strength and I’m going to post this same video angle to show you how much he improves once we tidy up his technique.

He did his testing tonight and I know he was disappointed with his scores…he has enormous potential and I think he has the ability to post some outstanding numbers in the gym to match his play on the pitch.

Everyone can breathe easy…I got a new sound system for the facility today…so no more crap radio…instead…everyone will be forced to enjoy my great taste in music.

I’m not going to update any more today…I’m going to actually do what I get paid for and write programs and try to think of ever more devious ways to inflict positive discomfort on those that annoy and aggravate me.

This weekend I plan to finish tidying up the blog and updating all the player profiles on the ‘athlete’s blog’ (that is what I’ve decided to call it) and I’m also going to start my own personal project on Monday so I want to get my own program written and hopefully I’ll have my diet in place…whether it is done professionally or is my attempt at dietary professionalism is yet to be seen but I will commence regardless. I’ve decided I’ll video and or take pictures of all the measurements and tests so we all know that no funny business is in play and post them all every time they take place.

7 thoughts on “Rest is big in our facility

  1. Yeah rest is a popular one alright but I couldn’t do it today. I went down at lunch time to do some rehab stuff on the shoulder and ended up having a moderate session. It wasn’t that hard and nothing was to failure but thought I should tell you so that you may consider it in the context of the overall program. I’m mainly thinking of tomorrow here, as I don’t know what I’ll be doing.

    I did:
    Hip mobility [same as yesterday]
    3×8

    Ass to grass front squats with 5 sec hold in the hole
    5×4@60kg

    (first experience of these and reckon they’ll be well useful when I can ramp up to a respectable weight)

    Chest supported rows
    1×8@45kg
    4×8@60kg

    Shoulder rehab work(the reason I was there), theraband etc.

    Cable bicep curls
    3×8@27kg

    All in all it wasn’t much. Squat holds were taxing and 4th +5th sets of rows were tough.

    So….what’s tomorrow?

  2. HH,
    I know you want to fire me already…I’m busy trying to dig myself out of a programme writing hole just now…don’t train till tomorrow evening so I can get your entire program done and structured tomorrow rather than doing it session by session.

  3. Deal… I’m actually, for the first time ever, excited about doing squats and deadlifts (yes, I’m very aware that you are gonna make me eat these words numerous times, starting tomorrow!).

    Not quite there on the firing you issue but a healthy “get on with” can’t hurt!! I know where you’re coming from though. I’ll not train ’til tomorrow evening.

  4. Deal… I’m actually, for the first time ever, excited about doing squats and deadlifts (yes, I’m very aware that you are gonna make me eat these words numerous times, starting tomorrow!).
    I think you will enjoy it. It is hard coaching yourself…it is a lot easier to turn up and do as you are told…plus…you can blame me completely if you don’t smash your PB to pieces by the end of the training cycle….and you will have the added bonus of being able to rubbish me about it endlessly here…it’s a win-win for you

    Not quite there on the firing you issue but a healthy “get on with” can’t hurt!! I know where you’re coming from though. I’ll not train ’til tomorrow evening.
    By tomorrow evening we’ll have a template laid out.

    One more thing. I’m interested in how your planning to increase my poor glute flexibility.
    There’s 2 ways we can do it…the hard way….and the excruciatingly painful way…which do you think I’ll choose?

  5. Are Rammers knees not going beyond his toes when he is front squatting putting excessive pressure on his knees! Is that due more to his technique or other problems?

  6. Are Rammers knees not going beyond his toes when he is front squatting putting excessive pressure on his knees! Is that due more to his technique or other problems?
    Absolutely. Some forward protrusion is fine…he has too much though…this is what we are going to address.

Leave a Reply

