Testing Today

Good day today…Johnno had his testing and got pretty much exactly what I predicted. I also know that he knows he has more in him. His next training cycle will very much focus on improving his technique as he falls behind his bench line far to easily and often…we’ll fix that. He doubled his pull ups and improved his push ups and inverted rows…he’s also put on some weight and lost some fat.

His fatness is an issue I’m not bothered with or concerned about at all at the moment…it’ll be at least one more training cycle before I will make a concerted push to get him leaner….you can expect to see a big jump in his pull ups, push ups and inverted rows then.

Johnny after testing pulling 280kgs or 617+lbs just for a laugh…EASY.

Damian did his row today and posted the following numbers:
200m – 34.1
400m – 1:15.7
600m – 2:01.8
800m – 2:47.7
1000m – 3:36.7
200m – 36.2
400m – 1:21.5
600m – 2:06.3
800m – 2:54.4
1000m – 3:44.1
800m – 2:52.3
600m – 2:07.0
400m – 1:18.7
200m – 33.0

It’ll take some beating…27mins48ses averaging 1:44/500 for the duration.

I’ve also just had some in person feedback on the blog…apparently I rant too much…I thought I was being pretty good on holding back on the ranting?

So….are you in favour of more or less ranting?

HH has made a mess of his shoulder playing. We were messing around this morning with single arm barbell snatching which I’ve never done before….and when I say messing around I mean HH was ‘schooling’ me…I sucked…as you can see below. The video contains language that should not be heard by children…or sensitive and easily offeneded adults…YOU WERE WARNED.

Single Arm Barbell Snatch…which I missed repeatedly…I’m such a baby.

I see in all those crossfit video’s that they like coaching the ‘stamp’…when doing oly lifting variations…I just prefer to do it after….consider it complex training….a beyond maximal lift followed immediately by plyometric work….don’t knock it till you try it.

34 thoughts on “Testing Today

  1. Will,

    As you know, I’m hankering after a Concept 2 rower…wifey’s resistance to letting me have one is wilting…and I wanted to ask how the split times are being recorded for Damian.

    I don’t imagine you’d be observing the rowing with stopwatch in hand…so does the rower itself have a way of recording the split times? I just wondered how you went about this.

  2. The CII gives you all the splits and a bucket load more data when you finish the row mate…they are a great piece of kit…I have a little project that I am working on at the moment that I think is really going to show off just how great the CII is for fat loss and conditioning.
    Like I said…I hate rowing…but it was amongst the first pieces of kit I ordered for the facility.

  3. I would say a little bit less ranting and maybe a little bit less talking about talking.

    Question:

    If an athlete is training the bench press as a means to get stronger and not for an impressive bench weight improvements made from improved form would not carry over… So how important is it to really hammer in perfect form if injury is not an issue?

  4. Sully,
    This was my thinking…also what I thought was wierd is that this individual knows what I am like…as in they should know that the letting me know that I was annoying them was only going to have me find joy in doing it more often.

    Alex,
    Thanks for the feedback…I hope enjoy all the ranting and talking about talking that you have ensured will take place in the future.

    I don’t really follow the question? I do push form pretty hard…even if I do let people slide a little during testing.

    Paul,
    I don’t use any single limb tests but we do a lot of single leg and arm work in training.

  5. To further the question posed a bit: Why will you work further on Johnny’s bench form, ie. use the bands to force him to keep the bar above the chest rather than the shoulders? At this stage, what benefit is he going to get from a better technique and higher bench score on the pitch? He is first and foremost a rugby player. I guess the question is this: Is the marginal benefit at this stage worth all the effort when it could be spent on other things?

  6. To further the question posed a bit: Why will you work further on Johnny’s bench form, ie. use the bands to force him to keep the bar above the chest rather than the shoulders?
    Absolutely. His next training cycle will very much be focused on his technique on his bench and bring up his pull up and chin strength along with improving his trunk and lower back strength.

    At this stage, what benefit is he going to get from a better technique and higher bench score on the pitch?
    Very little…and I really don’t look at it this way. As I was saying to him today…we are not going to get into ‘chasing’ his bench…it will be incidental. There are plenty of factors that come into play here…1. We are a good way up the curve of diminishing returns. 2. His risk of injury is going to grow significantly from here. 3. The difference I think on the pitch between him benching 100kg and 150kg is significantly larger than between him benching 150kg and 200kg. You also have to realise that the reason we completed this training cycle was due to the fact that his knee injury means that we are unable to do the lower work that otherwise would and means that we can’t do the conditioning I would like either.
    He is first and foremost a rugby player. I guess the question is this: Is the marginal benefit at this stage worth all the effort when it could be spent on other things?
    What other things could he be doing that would have a significantly greater carry over at the moment with his injury? I know what you are saying though…the plan I have in my head is the training cycle and focus I have outlined above followed by a very much ‘muscular endurance and strength repeatability’ dominant cycle before a completely ‘de fatting’ program where we’ll drop the excess kegs he’s carrying while maintaining his strength and endurance before a very conditioning or fitness dominated cycle….now that is not to say that we won’t be incorporating all these things in his current program…they just aren’t the focus…the will be when they need to be…if Johnny hurries up and gets his knee fixed and continues to apply himself to his training as he has I’ll be willing to wager a few euros with anyone who wants to bet against the fact that he’ll be one of the best athletes if his age and position in the country…it is someone else’s job to improve his as a player…I’m confident I can do my job and deliver him to the pitch fit for purpose.

  7. Cool beans. I’m pretty much happy with that. I’m not gonna get into player attributes or style of play here but I’ll chat to you about him and would like to do the same with other players. I’d say it could make your job a bit easier and the athlete I’d get back will be better rounded and equipped for their functional role, rather than just being a better athlete. Does that make sense? I’m pretty tired now..

  8. fuck that 280 was easy… whats wrong with Johnnys knee? its obviously not holding him back much on the dead or is it?

  9. Torn cartilage. He needs a scope op to tidy it up. It’s not holding him back execution-wise but he can’t train for the dead or squat or any lower limb activity really. His knee isn’t ruined at all but it’s a safety issue so that he won’t do further damage to it. I’m sure you’ll see some impressive dead scores from him in August once he’s had the op and trained for them (if he’s not too tired to stand up from all the speed and power repeatability work he’ll be doing!!). All his conditioning/cardio is done on the bike at the moment so as to minimise the stress levels and likelihood of further damage to his knee.

  10. Will made a comment today “johnny will go on to set irish records in gym for irish rugby” just wondering if anyone knows what these sort of scores are?

    also HH you are sayin all the speed work johnny will be doint he doesnt need speed work just fitness. when he gets fit i wud put money on he will be fastest front 5 in club maybe richies faster than him but he is fast as i saw him skin a back in trainin early in yr and i wudnt give him outside in tipper!!!!!

  11. Fanj,

    I know Johnny’s quick. Problem is his endurance. I said speed repeatability in my earlier post (actually I said speed and power repeatability) meaning the ability to be quick (or powerful) for volume. He could beat you in a race now but if you had 5 races in quick succession, you’d win at least 3 of them. Get it?

  12. oh right flew over me head at first but now i get ya!! and he wud lose 5 i think u had a typo there!!
    do you no what any the rugby records are are what roughly wud be? wonder how far johnny wud be off it and what u get in chins in testin cause i reckon its you and me sloggin out for 100kg+ record over the summer!!

  13. I think what you’ll find I said…amongst other things is that the standards with regard to pure strength in Irish Rugby are poor and that I think Johnny will easily eclipse the scores of even the pro players…or something along those lines.

  14. Fanj,

    I know Johnny’s quick. Problem is his endurance. I said speed repeatability in my earlier post (actually I said speed and power repeatability) meaning the ability to be quick (or powerful) for volume. He could beat you in a race now but if you had 5 races in quick succession, you’d win at least 3 of them. Get it?

    To a large extent Johnny’s perceived lack of fitness is a factor of his fatness rather than a real lack of ‘fitness’. I think one of the problems is that people use the term ‘fitness’ and argue about ‘fitness’ when quite often they are talking about completely different attributes… I’m going to say this straight out and I know it will annoy a lot of coaches and players and it is not aimed at HH but I think a lot of coaches don’t have a clue what they are talking about and it is almost impossible to even talk to them about ‘fitness’ because they don’t actually even have an iota of understanding of what they are even talking about or seeing on the field with regard to the subject and this is reflected in the language and their approach to the whole area. I’m going to go into this subject further because I think it is an extremely important one…so expect to get more of an earful in the future.

    oh right flew over me head at first but now i get ya!! and he wud lose 5 i think u had a typo there!!
    do you no what any the rugby records are are what roughly wud be? wonder how far johnny wud be off it and what u get in chins in testin cause i reckon its you and me sloggin out for 100kg+ record over the summer!!

    This is another perfect example…because I’m going to kick both your arses at it…and that is disgraceful…because I’m an old washed up never been and yet I’ll still beat you…not because I’m a better athlete but because until you guys give up trying to out think me in the field that I’ve chosen to earn my profession you will never be the athletes you have the potential to be…and I will prove that to you by kicking your arse’s everywhere but on the pitch.

  15. I’m not too sure on what a lot of them would be. I’ll ask thou.
    As far as the chins go, I’m in trouble for a while. Shoulder is goosed. Last time I tested max chins, I got 16 but that was wearing the 7/8kg vest that’s in the gym. I was working up to a max test to be done 5 days after I got injured. I would have expected 20 or 21 that day. I’m gonna fall right down on that now thou as I can’t practice them.
    I’ll get fit eventually thou and then I’ll beat you, no matter what it takes! I’m planning on beating Joe’s score so I’m not too worried about your 16 at BW!!!

  16. I dont no what your on about you are defo an athlete you train every day if not twice a day so you are obv goin to beat me in SOME of the records! also you hav been weight trainin for years and i am only at proper weight trainin a couple of years so you hav the old man strenght on me!!

  17. im not to worried at my 16 either at end of season i did a session where i did 4 sets of good ones cause DK was there tryin to give me shit 17-16-16-15 so if i had of done testin at that stage i wud hav got over 20 and richies chins were under arm grip to so makes it easier!!

  18. Fanj & Hugh,
    Shall we set a date? How long do you think you need H? 3 months? I say we set a date and we film it. No kipping, dead hang at the bottom, chin over the bar with a pull up grip. Then when you guys obviously kick my arse being the young superior athletes that you are…you can shut me up for good?
    How does Monday the 1st of September suit you both…say around 6pm in the gym?

  19. i think im busy ill have to check my diary why no kipping? just shud be chin over bar no matter how u get there but yes around the 1st sounds splended!! but you will prob play with my progams so i do worse ill have to keep my eyes open at all times in the gym!!
    also Will did Moro get onto you get him a good progam wud be good to get him back next yr in good shape!

  20. I dont no what your on about you are defo an athlete you train every day if not twice a day so you are obv goin to beat me in SOME of the records! also you hav been weight trainin for years and i am only at proper weight trainin a couple of years so you hav the old man strenght on me!!
    Let me stop you there Fanj…I’m lucky if I actually do 2 or 3 sessions a week…it is usually more like 1 with plenty of tooling around in the gym doing a few bit and pieces here and there.

    I’ve also not had a period of more than 4 or 6 weeks of uninterrupted training in the last decade as a result of the problems associated with my previous injury where where I went head to head with mother earth at high speed and came off second best.

    im not to worried at my 16 either at end of season i did a session where i did 4 sets of good ones cause DK was there tryin to give me shit 17-16-16-15 so if i had of done testin at that stage i wud hav got over 20 and richies chins were under arm grip to so makes it easier!!
    I will only say this once…talk is cheap…I want to see them…this week I’ve heard about 42inch single leg box jumps and Richie’s awesome chinning performance and I say BULLSHIT…I want to see it…not hear about it.
    I know people who can do 40 kipping pull ups that couldn’t do 15 reps the way we test…so what.

  21. ok first of all potsey said the 42inch thing i didnt believe it either!! richie did that in testin with leinster ask Dan to check if u want!! ok so no kipping im grand with that! and hogan just proved me right i hav always said he shud be a pro gambler he is so good at picking a winner!!

  22. i think im busy ill have to check my diary why no kipping?
    No, because we have always tested the way we currently do…if you want to make it a kipping competition…fine…I’m happy to kick your arse like that as well.
    just shud be chin over bar no matter how u get there but yes around the 1st sounds splended!!
    It’s a date then.
    but you will prob play with my progams so i do worse ill have to keep my eyes open at all times in the gym!!
    I always strive to make my athletes better than me….problem is so few have the dedication or desire to actually be better than me…pity that.
    also Will did Moro get onto you get him a good progam wud be good to get him back next yr in good shape!
    He’s already got his program.

  23. I wrote a comment to this chat that I’ve just deleted. I’m not geting involved in this egotistical bullshit. Will, shut the fuck up. Fanj, wise up.

  24. Looks like its just u and me willy boy!! hugh cudnt handle the heat!! jaysus this site is good to kill some study time!! its the new bebo new date will 16th of july my birthday cause im away from the 17 till end of aug so will be missin trainin now that hugh is out no excuses and no gear!!!

  25. HH,
    We’re only talking about this in the first place in response to questions relating to carry over from gym to pitch etc and statements regarding what players need…what makes me shake my head is that I’ve been involved with rugby my entire life…from when I first started school till today…I’ve worked in rugby in some way shape or form for just about my entire working life…when was the last time that you heard me offer opinion on any technical facet of the game…I’ll tell you when…NEVER…not EVER…and do you know why that is….because it is not my area of expertise…do you know how often I have to listen to coaches in all the sports I work tell me how to do my job…EVERYDAY…that is EVERY single day. Do you know what athletes I’ve had most success with in my career…the discards…the guys that get cut from squads…dropped from teams…that missed out on selection for major championships…and the reason for it has been because those people let me actually do my job.
    So in short no…I won’t shut up…quite the contrary…people should start actually opening their ears and listening.
    Fanj you go for it mate because I like people who put themselves out there…that lay down their markers no matter how ridiculous they are…because like in all areas in life there are plenty more people who want to sit on the sidelines and snipe than actually get out there and get the job done.

  26. We can go head to head before you leave Fanj…a show down for control of the record board in the over 100kg class.

    Pity Hugh doesn’t do the ‘egotistical’ thing…I never realised that he did all the training and put his body through all that pain just because he likes to ‘participate’? Here I was thinking that he did it because he wanted to be the best he could be…because he wanted to beat his opposite man any time he stepped onto the pitch…all this time…he didn’t care about winning or losing…it was just about taking part.

  27. Pity Hugh doesn’t do the ‘egotistical’ thing…I never realised that he did all the training and put his body through all that pain just because he likes to ‘participate’? Here I was thinking that he did it because he wanted to be the best he could be…because he wanted to beat his opposite man any time he stepped onto the pitch…all this time…he didn’t care about winning or losing…it was just about taking part.
    Nice.

  28. I just think it is a bit rich accusing Fanj and I of indulging in ‘egotistical bullshit’…that is a given…why do people get involved in sport? Why do we train so hard? Why do we make so many other sacrifices with regard to work, family and friends to pursue sport the way that we do if not for our own ego. I still push myself because I’ve always competed and have always been egotistical. I never trained twice a day every day for years when I was racing for the love of training…I did all that because I loved competing…the training was just the ‘cost’ of my desire to race…it is what I had to do so I could to what I really loved….and that was testing myself against others. I am not going to make any apologies about that. I suppose it is the same with coaching…I am willing to take the ‘Pepsi Challenge’ with any coach at any level any where in the world when it comes to the preparation of athletes…and I’m not going to apologise about that either.
    If you disagree with me about what I’ve said here then tell me…here or in person at training…if you think I’m wrong tell me why…not just tell me that I’m an ‘egotist’ engaging in ‘bullshit’ because everyone knows that…that isn’t developing the discussion in the slightest.

Leave a Reply

