Parental Guidance Required

I’m going to update today’s post over the next couple of hours. Currently downloading the vids from the phone to the laptop the have to upload them to YouTube.

The reason for the post title is that I got some great stuff tonight…most of which is completely unusable…in the words of The Penguin…I’m surround by athletes with ‘filthy mouths and bad attitudes’…well that isn’t really what she said but you get the idea. I know my grandparents are reading my blog so good taste and my desire to still get my Christmas card and money this year means I just can’t post it. Any way…if anyone picks up a word here or there that they think they understand and that sounds like a filthy curse word rest assured it is just one of them practising their Gaelic…well that is my story and I’m sticking to it.

I think I actually need to put a disclaimer on my blog…seriously…not just for the foul language that may or may be heard(like I said…pretend it’s Gaelic)but because I’ve caught a little heat in the last day or two…no need to go into it but I just want to make it clear….THIS IS MY BLOG…these are my opinions they do not reflect the opinions or ideas of any of the sporting organisations or individuals who employ me…I hope that clears things up? If there are any lawyers out there reading the blog then maybe you can email me a proper disclaimer in words to that effect?

So tonight…I’ll upload a little homework and I also want to start putting down my thoughts regarding the squat/deadlift strength cycle that I discussed in my post earlier today.

I’m going to layout the stuff that came out of our meeting/discussions today and then I’m going to talk through my thought processes and then we’ll see how the plan comes together.

Someone asked about Natural Reverse Hyper’s…I know a lot of you are all over this exercise like a rash but some people haven’t seen it. I want to make sure that I get everyone up to speed…at this stage in training…there really isn’t anything ‘new’…sure there are different ways to old things but really most supposed training ‘breakthroughs’ are rehashes of stuff that someone was doing 50 years ago or more. I don’t want people for a second to think that I’m going to be unveiling any ‘secrets’…I don’t have any…I wish I did…I could write a book and retire…and I don’t see that happening any time soon.

I often make the point….I honestly have not encountered a single thing in the last 10 years of my career that I’ve not seen before….and believe me…I’ve been looking…actually that’s a lie…I read an article or was at a presentation by Joe DeFranco when the importance of grip training was brought up…the new bit I hadn’t thought about was that grip strength is often the limiting factor in say max effort deadlifts and chins….I hadn’t really thought about that before…the only thing other than that I’ve changed really comes down to tweaking and modifying as a result of experience and feedback.

So…below we have one of my female athletes (I think…hard to tell…some of them are a little Manotaur’ish) doing natural reverse hypers…now you should get a few things out of this…1. That I can’t count. 2. That they are really quite straight forward and easy to incorporate into your program.

Natural Reverse Hypers.

So…then we have Project ‘250kg Trap Bar Deadlift’ the athlete in question has a current tested max of 200kg on the trap bar deadlift.

He recently did some serious damage to his shoulder so can’t horizontal press or vertical push or pull…he can however do horizontal pulling. He can’t back squat either because of the shoulder. He’s about 6ft tall and 220lbs…I will actually weight him in and do his body fat etc when he comes in for his first session and will give you the details then.

What else do you guys need to know in relation to background? He plays rugby at a high level…is a serious and consistent trainer…his last train cycle prior to his recent injury was very back dominant as he was working on improving his pull up repetition score.

So…this is what I’m thinking…I’m going to sketch it out so you can see the process I go through…this will be a little ‘train of thought’ style thing.

Like I said…I don’t want to present you with a finished polished program…I want you to actually see how a program develops….so if you think this is stupid…stop reading now.

What I’m going to do is to plan a 6 week block to end with a 1RM at what will hopefully be 250kgs+…so basically add 50kg to this guys deadlift…now the first thing I want to explain is this…I think this guy has it in him…that if he dedicates himself to the program as I think he will we should make it or get damned close.

What I’m thinking at the moment looks like this:
Week 1 – Ramp up to what will hopefully be a 6RM this week.
Week 2 – Repetition…a volume week. With some really low volume high intensity explosive work as well.
Week 3 – Ramp up to what will hopefully be a 4RM this week.
Week 4 – Repetition…a volume week.With some really low volume high intensity explosive work as well.
Week 5 – Ramp up to what will hopefully be a 2RM this week.
Week 6 – This week the last session we do will be a 1RM trap bar deadlift. This will be an easy week…unloading and technical week where we’ll do some speed work and some technical work along with a lot of regeneration work…exercises and set and reps ranges that we haven’t worked in over the past 6 weeks…it will be all very sub maximal.

Note: I only have 3 different rep ranges…either you do what I call a ‘few’ reps….this is 1-3ish…or you do ‘some’ reps…which is 4-8 I suppose or you do ‘lots’ of reps.

The other thing is…I think what I am going to do is to write it as 3 sessions a week with a swing session or optional session….depending on feel and how I think he is handling the training we’ll either do the extra work…or I will give him the rest.

Then I start thinking about what I want from each of the sessions:
Week 1
Session 1
Leg Press – Volume.
Session 2
Front Squats – Rest-Pause Speed out of the whole.
Session 3
Trap Bar Deadlift – 8 sets of 6 reps with 3 warm up sets and 5 work sets with the last 3 sets shooting at 6RM failure.

Week 2
Session 1
RDL’s – Volume
Session 2
Lunges – Volume
Session 3
Rack Pulls – Volume

Week 3
Session 1
Leg Press – Volume.
Session 2
Front Squats – Rest-Pause Speed out of the whole.
Session 3
Trap Bar Deadlift – 8 sets of 6 reps with 3 warm up sets and 5 work sets with the last 3 sets shooting at 4RM failure.

Week 4
Session 1
RDL’s – Volume
Session 2
Lunges – Volume
Session 3
Rack Pulls – Volume

Week 5
Session 1
Leg Press – Volume.
Session 2
Front Squats – Rest-Pause Speed out of the whole.
Session 3
Trap Bar Deadlift – 8 sets of 6 reps with 3 warm up sets and 5 work sets with the last 3 sets shooting at 2RM failure.

Week 6
I won’t plan these session till we are about a week or two out and see where we are.
Session 3
Trap Bar Dealfift – Set new 1RM….who cares what we do after that.

I’m going to leave it at that for now…as I’ve other programs to write for tomorrow and I don’t need this done till Monday…but I’ll come back to it and actually start writing sessions as I get the chance.

This is going to change over and over again…as I will write the first session and look and watch and see how he performs and see where he’s strong and where he’s weak…the template I use is only a framework…I want to layout to you the difference between what I think and plan and what actually happens. I’m also going to try to explain why I made these changes.

As an aside…it’s my blog and I’ll write about whatever I like…I was talking with Adam last night at dinner and he was asking me what I’d do to get him jakt now he’s a few years retired…I was explaining my thoughts on programs and coaching. I always make the comparison between being a coach and being a chef…mainly because I struggle to boil water let alone cook anything…a program is like a list of ingredients in most cases. Most programs I see in articles or books are like this…Bench Press – 5 sets of 5 reps….what the hell does that tell you? Like I said it is like a list of ingredients. Sometimes you are lucky enough to get a recipe in that the program is actually descriptive…Bench Press – 5 sets of 5 reps with 2 warm ups sets prior to your 5 work sets. Take 3 mins plus between work sets and aim to go to failure on your last 2 sets…it might even have some sort of tempo prescription….like I said…it tells you basically how to combine the ingredients. Now getting a chef is like getting a coach…some chefs like coaches are better than others….you could give me the highest quality ingredients and a detailed recipe…I guarantee you that nothing I produced would be edible…I just can’t cook. Some coaches and trainers are like that…you can hand them a list of exercises and even detailed prescriptions but they are just hopeless coaches and can’t combine them. This is why I don’t care about giving people my programs….they are just a list of ingredients….I don’t even mind telling you how I do things…I will give you the recipe…because I don’t think many people out there that I’ve seen can coach any better than I can cook.

Anyway…I’ve ingredients to list and recipes to write because some athletes are going to well and truely get cooked tomorrow.

8 thoughts on “Parental Guidance Required

  1. Can’t wait.

    I like the structure so far. Wouldn’t be the biggest fan of leg pressing though it has to be said but you know I’ll do it.

    P.S. It’s a little unclear that this post is referring to the same person as the “Irish Colleges rugby player”

  2. HH,
    I’m sort of with you on the leg press thing…still tossing it around in my head. Little worried about your dodgy shoulder…need to think about…I want to get some serious heavy volume into you glutes and hams and am thinking along the lines of a very high wide foot position on the leg press to target this.

    As I said…I want to write it out as I think it…I’m not actually happy with any of it at all at the moment…we’ll see where we end up.

  3. Deep Bulgarian split squats will fairly rip my glutes and hammers. Much more disgusting to do than leg press but I’m a purist….

    Shoulder is wrecking my head. I’m not used to being this patient. Last physio session he was very happy with the improvement and I heal quick but it’s not fast enough for my patience. I actually grew an affinity for chins on my last cycle and now miss them!!

    I messed about with the one-armed snatch there about 5-6 weeks ago and was enjoying it so I’d be happy to do some of that (left arm only) either as a speed component or for reps. I’m gonna wanna look at Olympic lifts once my shoulder’s good anyway.

  4. Deep Bulgarian split squats will fairly rip my glutes and hammers. Much more disgusting to do than leg press but I’m a purist…
    See…now you know I have a lot of love for the split squat…they just aren’t going to give me the stress I want…I just can’t load them how I want.
    Shoulder is wrecking my head. I’m not used to being this patient. Last physio session he was very happy with the improvement and I heal quick but it’s not fast enough for my patience. I actually grew an affinity for chins on my last cycle and now miss them!!
    You guys all wreck my head as well but you don’t here me crying like a baby about it….oh wait….yes you do.
    I messed about with the one-armed snatch there about 5-6 weeks ago and was enjoying it so I’d be happy to do some of that (left arm only) either as a speed component or for reps. I’m gonna wanna look at Olympic lifts once my shoulder’s good anyway.
    Mate…that stuff is a bloody warm up.

  5. Mate…that stuff is a bloody warm up.
    Ok. I didn’t say I was gonna set any records and I know its not gonna be a strength component but you mentioned me doing box jumps for explosiveness and speed. All I thought was that it could be a nice little complex or something. If your so miffed at it, I’ll not mention it again.

    Will said a few days ago that he considered that I was a bastard (I’ve taken this for what he meant it as) so you all didn’t really think I was gonna be such a pussy!!

    Shut up Will, theres no need to poke fun at the poor injured guy. I’ll make a rash statement and say the following: I will walk into the gym tomorrow (gotta be morning) and out one armed snatch you (left side only, unless I’m winning and then I’ll give you a shot with your right). Sure you can use it as your warm up!!

  6. HH,
    I’m not down on the kettlebell snatches…like I said…that’s a warm up…not training…those kettlebell queers give me the hump.

    Let’s get our snatch on…I’ll be there to train at 11am…to train and kick some fatties as it is fat camp on Sat morning then testing into the arvo.

    Be there and we’ll see who snatch is the prettiest.

  7. Cool. I’m now not insulted anymore. I agree with you but I was actually talking about BB one armed snatch the whole time, which I hope you can acknowledge is both difficult and not a pussy warm up exercise if you load it up.

    I should have said before really, sorry. I didn’t mean kettle bell, nor dumbbell but barbell snatches. We don’t have the dumbbells to cover the proposed competition anyways!!!

  8. You talk a good snatch…the new camera will be in action tomorrow…I hope you don’t end up falling on your snatch for the whole world to see.

Leave a Reply

