The Secrets of Functional Mobility Assessment

For the never to be repeated price of just $79.95 you could be the proud owner of the manual and complete equipment package….real value…PRICELESS.

If you watch the video below then basically you are entering into a contract…you have to give me $79.95…or €8.65 or whatever the current equivalent is.

I was asked about how I assess mobility…well this is one of the ways…if you don’t want to pay me for the manual and equipment you could probably gather the equipment you need from you Grannies knitting basket and your nearest garbage can.

In short I think standard flexibility tests are on the whole pretty crap…any time someone tries to tell me their sit and reach score or convince me of its merits I just feel like punching them in the face.

This is a really easy test to do and administer…and gives you immediate objective and subjective feedback.

As you heard in the video DG scored as follows:
Forward – R = 86cm L = 76cm
Backward – R = 130cm L = 125cm
Behind and Out – R = 92cm L = 82cm

What does that say to you?

There’s some objective feedback. You also get to watch them do it…look to see what areas they have problems with and when….is it ankle, knee or hip mobility or stability? Or is it a combination of both?

I want to see how all the piece fit and work together.

As with most subjects….I could go on and on about this and it’s implications but I’m as interested in hearing the thoughts of all 7 of my loyal blog followers/readers.

What do you see when you look at that test….besides a fat old coach with a really weird accent poor dress sense and what I now realise is a humongous arse (why didn’t anyone tell me?)?

What do those scores tell you?

9 thoughts on “The Secrets of Functional Mobility Assessment

  1. the numbers suggest restriced rom of the R hip (even though they are recorded R/L in terms of what side of the platform he was on – i think?) – in 1leg squat/extension and im thinking the last move is for ext rotation?

    also coming onto toes both feet during the one leg squat, soleus/ankle issues?

    do teh bottle tops or checker pieces come as part of the 79.95 package?

  2. Naturally you get the ENTIRE package…3 milk bottle lids and a measuring tape…it wouldn’t be very good value without them now would it!

  3. Awesome mobility test and, again, i’ve never seen that done before. It’s easy and you cover most of the movements the athlete has to do on the pitch.

    i see alot of ankle mobility, hip flexor and ITband/TFL work(restricted leg), together with the opposite hip’s ER work.

    Am i close?

  4. I just want to add that i’m gonna steal some stuff from you.

    Honestly,i’m more and more convinced that this job isn’t that complicated(relative,of course) as some people make it seem.
    I’m gonna work with a soccer player(starting next week as the season ends) and after the recovery/transition period, you gave me some pretty good ideas

  5. Awesome mobility test and, again, i’ve never seen that done before.
    Easily worth $79.95…if you order today…I throw on the milk along with the lids.
    It’s easy and you cover most of the movements the athlete has to do on the pitch.
    Exactly and you get to see how their total flexibility works together and where they start to get into difficulty.
    i see alot of ankle mobility, hip flexor and ITband/TFL work(restricted leg), together with the opposite hip’s ER work.
    Well spotted.
    Am i close?
    I wouldn’t have a clue…I was hoping that if I posted the video some labcoat would come along here and tell me what was what!

    For €179.95 I will not only sell you the manual and equipment but give you the exclusive rights to call this test your own and say that you invented it anywhere within Portugal?

  6. I just want to add that i’m gonna steal some stuff from you.
    It’s only stealing if you get caught.
    Honestly,i’m more and more convinced that this job isn’t that complicated(relative,of course) as some people make it seem.
    If it was I certainly couldn’t do it.
    I’m gonna work with a soccer player(starting next week as the season ends) and after the recovery/transition period, you gave me some pretty good ideas.
    Great…let me know what they are so I use them next time?

  7. I’ll do my best to sort it all out in the next few weeks to see if yuo are right. Bring it all on… DG

  8. DG,
    15 reps on the squat, 115kg on the bench, 8 pull ups, 45 push ups and 30 inveretd rows and slightly more functionally balanced…that way I shouldn’t have to listen to DOK go on and on about he takes you to school on court.

  9. Are you really that suprised that DOK can take DG to court..oh its because DOK is a good shooter so DG says isnt that the whole point of the game to get the ball in the net?

Leave a Reply

