Operation De Blob

DG is going to do a 6 week block of training before he retests. Week 1 and 3 he will be away from home base which means hotel gyms and only God knows what kind of equipment….I’ll cross my fingers and hope for the best for his sake.

Week 1
Session 1

Warm Up + Mobility Work
Box Jumps/Long Jumps – 8 sets of 3 reps
Natural Glute Ham Raise – 3 sets of 8 reps
Weighted Bridging – 3 sets of 60 seconds
DB Floor Press – 2 w/u sets of 8 then 4 sets of 5-8 reps
Pull Ups – 2 sets to failure
DB Rows – 3 sets of 8 reps
Lying Tricep Extensions – 3 sets of 8 reps
Take a breather and then do 10 rows of 300m with 1 minute recovery between each.

Session 2
3 sets of 10 rows of maximal 150’s with 60 seconds of easy rowing between intervals and 5 minutes total recovery between each of the the 3 sets.

Session 3
Warm Up + Mobility Work
1A Chins – 10 sets of 5 reps
1B Elevated Push Ups- 10 sets of 15 reps
Single Arm Cable Row – 3 sets of 15 reps
Plate Shifting – 5 sets
Elevated Single Leg Split Squats – 5 sets of 8 reps
Seated or Lying Leg Curls – 3 sets of 12 reps
45 degree Back Extensions – 3 sets of 12 reps
Take a breather and then do 10 rows of 300m with 1 minute recovery between each.

Session 4
Row 150, 300, 500, 200, 400, 600 with 30 seconds recovery between sets take 2 mins rest and complete 3 sets in total.

Session 5
Warm Up + Mobility Work
Box Squats – 8 sets 3 reps
Single Leg Knee Drops – 3 sets of 8 reps
Torgue Press – 4 sets of 8 reps
1A Elevated Push Ups – 5 sets of 15 reps
1B Inverted Rows – 5 sets of 15 reps
Natural Reverse Hypers – 3 sets of 12 reps
Bicep Curls – 3 sets of 8 reps
Take a breather and then do 10 rows of 300m with 1 minute recovery between each.

Session 6
200, 400, 600, 800, 1000, 200, 400, 600, 800, 1000, 800, 600, 400, 200m with 30 seconds recovery between intervals.

So that will be week 1 of DG’s war on fatness. Week 2 he’ll do with me and week 3 he’ll do this same week again and then the last 3 weeks will be with me and we’ll ramp up his training before we unload and re test….we’ll see where we are then.

She was so impressed with DK’s results…she just collapsed.

15 thoughts on “Operation De Blob

  1. Hi Will,

    Following on from DG’s flexibility test, you’re waging war on fat, but what is hidden amongst the mobility work that will address the imbalances?

  2. Details, details, details…trust you Ian to get on my case to actually provide some really information.

    He’ll be doing a lot of foam rolling to loosen out his TFL and paying particular attention to working around his knee.

    He’ll be doing the ankle mobility work that I detailed in response to a question in an earlier post…I’ll put it on my ‘To Do List’ to video this with him when he is in next week…actually I don’t really have a ‘To Do List’ so I’ll have to just remember…or better still you can remind me if I haven’t lost your interest by then.

    I have a top secret list on the wall of the gym and the athletes get to pick from each category an exercise to do depending on whether they are doing a predominantly upper body or lower body session.

    In short…they do a stationary warm up, stationary mobility exercise, activation work then a gym based movement/mobility drill.

    I’m relying on the uni lateral work to iron out some of the strength imbalances…we’ll see how he is in 6 weeks.

  3. Will,

    Devil’s in the detail…you know that 🙂

    In a previous blog entry DG was down for 3 weights and 3 conditioning sesssions and a template that looked vaguely familiar as a West Side for Skinny B’stards, but the setup of DG’s upcoming sessions looks different.

    Have I got this completely wrong? 🙂

  4. Will,

    Devil’s in the detail…you know that 🙂

    Absolutely…that is why I obfuscate whenever possible.

    In a previous blog entry DG was down for 3 weights and 3 conditioning sesssions and a template that looked vaguely familiar as a West Side for Skinny B’stards, but the setup of DG’s upcoming sessions looks different.

    I can’t work out whether you are calling me an idiot or a liar…but whatever it is I don’t think I’m happy about it.

    1. He is doing 3 weights sessions and 3 conditioning sessions.

    2. Bloody Joe DeFranco…anyone would think that Joe invented training…Yes, I’ll admit…Joe D has influenced me with regard to wearing wife beaters I’ll give you that…but the DG’s program isn’t Westside for Jersey Bastards influenced.

    3. Joe D’s programs just look like mine…not the other way around.

    Have I got this completely wrong? 🙂

    Probably not…you are pretty much spot on.

  5. Will,

    You know…it would help if I read blog entries properly 🙂

    The block of training you have put together does reflect the goal previously outlined. Sorry.

  6. Ian,
    The internet is no place for apologies…stand your ground and argue till the other person gives up no matter how wrong you are….that’s what I always do.

  7. Hey Will,

    Just wondering how long you would have DG run this program with that level (frequency/intensity) of conditioning work? Until the fat is not longer an issue?

    Im just curious in general to how you structure in conditioning in the form of high intensity work in programs. is this fat loss and get in shape specific – basically how would a program shape up if bodyfat was not a concern and conditioning was satisfactory in terms of interval frequency.

    Sorry a bit disjointed and all over the place but i hope it made some sense.

  8. Hey Will,

    G’day Mate…I just threw that in because I know you foreigner’s love coaches with accents…although if your Australian…I’m screwed.

    Just wondering how long you would have DG run this program with that level (frequency/intensity) of conditioning work? Until the fat is not longer an issue?

    It will run through this entire cycle….the type of work he does will be tweaked within the context of the template…does that make sense….so I might change the distances or recoveries slightly or even the volume but it will be practically the same.

    So we’ll run it for 6 weeks and then retest and see where we are. Either it worked or it didn’t…I’m betting that it will.

    Im just curious in general to how you structure in conditioning in the form of high intensity work in programs. is this fat loss and get in shape specific – basically how would a program shape up if bodyfat was not a concern and conditioning was satisfactory in terms of interval frequency.

    With DG I want to do both…if you are reading this Damian (I’ll use his name as he’s already outed himself)when you get a chance post up your transition program here…so the nice people can see what you did before this.

    To answer the points you raised…I’m not exactly sure what you are asking re ‘the structure’ in the conditioning work? Do you mean how many days or why I use certain types of intervals…I’m happy to answer your question whatever it is…I’m just not sure what you are looking for?

    The second part of your question…do you mean if Damian wasn’t a fat bastard and if he was fitter would I still give him intervals? Basically I only ever look at the short term really….I’m not thinking….where will this athlete be in 3 years of or 3 months….I want each program to stand alone…right now do they need to be leaner, do they need to be fitter, do they need to be bigger and then design the program to meet that goal…do you follow me? So the program that Damian just finished was a transition one…he had finished a long season…niggly injuries etc….so he did what for him was a frustratingly easy 4 weeks…because what he needed 4 weeks ago was to ‘freshen up’ and now he’s chomping at the bit to cut loose on a program and he’ll eat this up. What he needs now is to get leaner and lighter (I think he’s a little to heavy sport performance wise) and losing some fat will achieve that and he needs to improve his relative strength…that is what this program is aimed at.

    Sorry a bit disjointed and all over the place but i hope it made some sense.

    Not a bother….ask away…I’m only semi literate myself so always assume that I’m just too dumb to understand the question…if you hadn’t of said this you would have gotten away with it.

  9. G’day Mate…I just threw that in because I know you foreigner’s love coaches with accents…although if your Australian…I’m screwed.

    yep, im an aussie but dont worry, it made it more ‘homely’

    It will run through this entire cycle….the type of work he does will be tweaked within the context of the template…does that make sense….so I might change the distances or recoveries slightly or even the volume but it will be practically the same.

    So we’ll run it for 6 weeks and then retest and see where we are. Either it worked or it didn’t…I’m betting that it will.

    Yep, makes sense. When you refer to it working or not, what is that based on specifically? Body fat, interval times, relative RPE? and will these be the factors that may influence adjustments before retesting?

    To answer the points you raised…I’m not exactly sure what you are asking re ‘the structure’ in the conditioning work? Do you mean how many days or why I use certain types of intervals…I’m happy to answer your question whatever it is…I’m just not sure what you are looking for?

    Yeah, i reread what i typed and it was a bit jumbled. I suppos ei was getting at conditioning work being done in a training phase focused more on strength or size. Is there a minimum you have athletes do to maintain work capacity/fitness. I knwo this will eb dependant on sport/specific position etc and how fit they need to be in season but a general recommendation to not have fitness taper off too much?

    You mention that you approach things with shorter term goals so this was likely not the right place to ask this due to DG’s current aims but was curious as to the level of conditioning work (either intervals or distance at varying speeds/durations) you;d have someone doing when they were lean, fit and looking for strength or hypertrophy.

    Thanks

  10. Matt,
    Now you’ve made me feel like a total a-hole for assuming you were a foreigner…well I suppose technically you are…apparently I’m Irish now….well that’s what it says on my passport.

    To your questions:

    Yep, makes sense. When you refer to it working or not, what is that based on specifically? Body fat, interval times, relative RPE? and will these be the factors that may influence adjustments before retesting?
    I want to see his bodyfat drop and his testing scores go up. Is that too much to ask?
    Yeah, i reread what i typed and it was a bit jumbled. I suppose i was getting at conditioning work being done in a training phase focused more on strength or size. Is there a minimum you have athletes do to maintain work capacity/fitness. I knwo this will eb dependant on sport/specific position etc and how fit they need to be in season but a general recommendation to not have fitness taper off too much?

    You mention that you approach things with shorter term goals so this was likely not the right place to ask this due to DG’s current aims but was curious as to the level of conditioning work (either intervals or distance at varying speeds/durations) you;d have someone doing when they were lean, fit and looking for strength or hypertrophy.
    First points first…minimum conditioning work…I’ll give you some examples rather than a lecture…JM’s bodyfat was around 30+%. I want him to be 20% so at the moment…even though he is coming to the end of a strength dominant training cycle and will be starting another he is still doing conditioning work before and after sessions. He does fairly easy steady state stuff on his heavy days…like 5km on the bike before and 10km after…then harder stuff on his more moderate repetition based strength days…like 5km before then 30 seconds easy pedalling at level 5 and then 30 seconds out of the saddle at level 15 and continue this for 10 minutes with an easy 5-10km cycle down after…his weight is currently going up…which is good…as he’s a prop and his bodyfat is going down…and he’s made no modifications at all to his diet…when he gets to 20% I won’t have him do much steady state work at all as we’ll be doing rugby based conditioning probably twice weekly by the time we get him there.

    The second part of your question I’ll let DG answer himself and you can have a look at what I have him doing and see if you can join the dots.

  11. Greetings all nice to see all the comments flying about in my absence. I’m not sure on what the question I have to answer is ? As for the transition programme here it is.

    Off Season (Weeks 1-4)

    Session 1
    Exercise Sets Reps Intensity
    Warm Up (10min cardio)
    Push Up Plus 3 8
    Single Leg Knee Drops (BW) 5 8
    1A Chin (Mixed Grips) 8 3
    1B Push Ups 8 10
    Chest Supported Rows 5 8
    DB Shrugs 3 12
    Kneeling Abdominal Pull Down 4 12
    2A Hammer Curls 3 8
    2B Lying Tricep Extensions 3
    Cool Down (10 min cardio)

    Session 2
    Exercise Sets Reps
    Warm Up (10min cardio)
    Scap Chin Ups 3 8
    Single Leg Box Squat (BW) 5 8
    Bench Variation 8 3
    1A Pulldowns 5 8
    1B Elevated Push Ups 5 8 79.0%
    45 deg Lower Trap Shrugs 3 12
    Torque Press 4 12
    2A Preacher Curls 3 8
    2B Overhead Tricep Extensions 3 8
    Cool Down (10 min cardio)

    Session 3
    Exercise Sets Reps Intensity
    Warm Up (10min cardio)
    Ankle (Knee to Wall)
    1A Leg Press 8 5
    1B Calf Raises 8 5
    Natural Glute Ham Raises 5 8
    2A DB Chest Press 5 8
    2B DB Rows 5 8
    Weighted Bridges 3 60secs
    Cool Down (10 min cardio)

    This was completed Mon Wed Fri with Tues and Thurs for cardio alternating between 3 sessions on rower

    1.
    10 x 150m Intervals 30 secs rest
    3mins
    10 x 150m Intervals 45 sec rest
    3mins
    10 x 150m Intervals 60 secs rest

    2.
    24 x 250m – 250m active 250 rest

    3.
    600m 500m 400m 300m 200m 100m

    2mins between each with increasing intensity as distance reduced

  12. Thanks Will and DG for that.

    The offseason program, in which im assuming we were targeting size gains primarily is what i was wondering about.

    Having the LI cardio on lifting days but still 2x interval sessions (tues/thurs) should certainly be enough to not let conditioning drop off too much but with that split, legs were worked 5days in a row (at varying intensities and volumes granted) and I was wondering if this didnt run the risk of hindering the lifitng sessions?

    If this were deemed to be occuring, would interval volume on the tues/thurs be reduced slightly?

    And weekends were full rest?

    Thanks for taking the time. Im just quite interested in setting up a strenght or size program for performance athletes that cant afford to let conditioning go to shit

  13. Thanks Will and DG for that.

    The offseason program, in which im assuming we were targeting size gains primarily is what i was wondering about.
    This was what I call a ‘Transition Program’ or ‘Bridging Program’…something to get an athlete from In Season to Off Season if that makes sense. I wasn’t targeting anything other than getting sloppy Mr Muffin Top fit to train.
    Having the LI cardio on lifting days but still 2x interval sessions (tues/thurs) should certainly be enough to not let conditioning drop off too much but with that split, legs were worked 5days in a row (at varying intensities and volumes granted) and I was wondering if this didn’t run the risk of hindering the lifitng sessions?
    Do you think doing legs 5 time a week is too little? I told Damian he was just being lazy. In all seriousness…no it didn’t hinder his lifting on consecutive days…I wanted to over train him a little…he needed it…had a few injuries and a disjointed season…he needed work…not rest.
    If this were deemed to be occuring, would interval volume on the tues/thurs be reduced slightly?
    No. I would tell him to stop moaning and get on with it…which didn’t stop him moaning but he always got his work done. The other thing to take into consideration is that I set the loads at the start of the cycle and kept them pretty much the same for the entirety so the further he progressed in weeks the easier it was as he improved.
    And weekends were full rest?
    He can answer that…I think so…I don’t know nor do I want to know what these guys get up to when I’m not watching.
    Thanks for taking the time. Im just quite interested in setting up a strenght or size program for performance athletes that cant afford to let conditioning go to shit.
    If you want a hand let me know…I’m always happy to rubbish other peoples programs?

  14. This was what I call a ‘Transition Program’ or ‘Bridging Program’…something to get an athlete from In Season to Off Season if that makes sense. I wasn’t targeting anything other than getting sloppy Mr Muffin Top fit to train.

    Ahh ok. So that split coupled with th efact the weight didnt change during th eprogram would make that a bit more maintenance rather specific goal targeted lifting and just builing the work capacity back up with the overreaching to have him in good stead to get some real work done in the next training phase.

    id love to hear your thoughts on what i was thinking (and what was driving my questions) but would you prefer an email or something so as to not clutter up this area?

  15. Ahh ok. So that split coupled with th efact the weight didnt change during th eprogram would make that a bit more maintenance rather specific goal targeted lifting and just builing the work capacity back up with the overreaching to have him in good stead to get some real work done in the next training phase.
    Exactly.
    id love to hear your thoughts on what i was thinking (and what was driving my questions) but would you prefer an email or something so as to not clutter up this area?
    I’m happy to chat via email if that really is your preference but there are some really good coaches and athletes reading this blog now…and having an open discussion here about training options and modalities I think would be a great idea. I don’t think coaches expose themselves enough…putting your stuff ‘out there’ I think really helps…I don’t put anything in a program unless I have a reason…I also have a group of people who I send my programs to before athletes get them…to get their opinions….often I ignore them…but sometimes I make changes because if you can’t justify or argue why something is there or why you are doing things a certain way then what the hell are you doing it for. I will make a post specifically for this and that way anyone who want to discuss training plans or options can stick there stuff there and I will pick it to pieces and you can call me an idiot and do it anyway? How does that sound?

    That way we can leave this section to specifically discussing Damian and his muffin tops.

Leave a Reply

