Training Methodologies…not mine…but others

Like I said previously…I’m not doing this in any deliberate or planned manner but just wanted to share stuff as it occurred to me for those looking to expand their training knowledge.

I want to get a few things out there first:
1. There is no best way to train…what works for some won’t work for others and nothing works perfectly forever. So don’t think for a second that I think someone’s way of training is the best because they are listed here.

2. You need to learn from everyone and filter it through your own sphere of experience…people are too willing to take things on wholesale without thinking it through. You need to find what works best for you or for the athletes that you coach. Sometimes it isn’t even a matter of what works ‘best’ because I think in most cases you are better off throttling back and looking towards long term progress rather than short term gains. It is simple risk vs reward. You are training to improve your play….people seem to forget that…everything you do needs to be geared towards that….and the thing that will improve your play more than anything else…is staying uninjured.

3. If you’re not assessing you’re guessing….I’m not sure who first said that to me but it is something that I have said to at least someone once a month since then. Unless you’re an idiot you are training for a reason…this being said your training should be geared to getting you closer and closer to that goal….if it isn’t then why are you doing this training in the first place. so have a goal and decide on a way to measure it and do so frequently i.e once a month if not more often depending on the goal.

With that out of the way…here a link to Joe DeFranco’s site. His articles are great and give a good overview of his basic training philosophy and the general template that he uses. The Ask Joe section is also excellent as it gives him a chance to expand on his training philosophy as well as a provides an opportunity to whinge and moan…this is the stuff I really enjoy.

Like I said…I think Joe’s stuff is good….not necessarily better than other people’s work I’ll highlight here but he gets results and I think generally he does a good job. There’s stuff that I don’t like as well….and believe me I’ll get around to that eventually as well.

A word of warning to all that read his stuff or any others coaches work. Programs and templates are like recipes….only sometimes they are worse….sometimes they are just like a list of the ingredients in recipes….lists of exercise with no guidelines as to how they are put together. The reason that I give you a warning is that no matter how good the ingredients and recipe is….some people just can’t cook.

Coaching like being a chef is a cross between science and art….you need to have an ‘understanding’ of the materials as well as the artistic flair to put them all together. I’ve treated and seen a lot of athletes here in Ireland that have followed Joe’s WSfSB’s and absolutely destroyed themselves…now this isn’t because Joe’s program is bad…it’s because the athletes trying to follow it didn’t have a clue what they were doing….do you want to take a guess how many athletes make it to the top without a coach? I’m guessing so few it wouldn’t even make up a fraction of 1%…and do you want to know why that is? Because most athletes don’t have a clue what they are doing.

Leave a Reply

